Customer Reviews for

The Hidden Messages in Water

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Profound!

This is a wonderful book. I feel that every citizen of this planet would benefit from reading this. I use the water crystal cards all the time.

posted by Lobelia_Peppergrass on February 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice pictures...but...

This book has nice pictures but the problem is that is purports to be science, when it is in fact nothing of the sort. He jumps to conclusions that he considers to be scientific when he is not even using scientific methods in his evaluation of water crystals. If you re...
This book has nice pictures but the problem is that is purports to be science, when it is in fact nothing of the sort. He jumps to conclusions that he considers to be scientific when he is not even using scientific methods in his evaluation of water crystals. If you read this book, you just need to keep it in perspective and remember that what is being said lacks justification.

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    Profound!

    This is a wonderful book. I feel that every citizen of this planet would benefit from reading this. I use the water crystal cards all the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    wow

    Never have I came across a book, so easy to read and understand, yet has the ability to alter the way you perceive the world around you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    excellent !!!!

    I really enjoyed this book. It may not be as scientific as some people might like. However it has great insight as to how our words can effect the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    Nice pictures...but...

    This book has nice pictures but the problem is that is purports to be science, when it is in fact nothing of the sort. He jumps to conclusions that he considers to be scientific when he is not even using scientific methods in his evaluation of water crystals. If you read this book, you just need to keep it in perspective and remember that what is being said lacks justification.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    A life changing book. Not to be missed!!

    This book should be required reading in every school in the world.
    What a contribution made by all those involved. Most especially by Massaru Emoto. Thank you, with gratitude and love I thank you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Amazing!

    Discovered this book while training in alternative therapy. The research is exciting....just proves what I always intuitively knew was true.....our thoughts alter who we are. So much more...love the book. Easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    I have always believed that words have power and they like magic

    I have always believed that words have power and they like magic in our lives. The books starts off of how Masaru Emoto came across the idea of photographing water that has been exposed to different elements. He acquires ans assistant and the exploring begins. They test with words (in multiple languages), music and even television programs. Masaru and his assistant even test different types of waters from different locations.  Publishers were not interested in this book of photographs initially. Masaru also goes on to explain how this relates to our bodies. How are bodies start off as 99% water as a fetus, then when we are born our body is 70% water with a steady slow decrease as we age.




    The message is beautiful and supports my belief of words can change your life. If we treat ourselves with love and gratitude, we flourish and bloom. I loved the theory. The most beautiful crystal to me is the one which was exposed to the words red dragonfly (from a Japanese nursery rhyme) as the shapes even look like little dragonflies. Yes it is a pseudo science but life is so much more than facts. This a beautiful book filled with a beautiful message and beautiful pictures. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It

    I really enjoy Dr. Emoto's books!

    (When teaching my class) - when we discuss how words/sounds affects us, I pull out Dr. Emoto's books - his books pretty much tell the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    Good reading

    It gave me much to think about.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful!

    Something completely new and different -- useful and helpful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2006

    a reviewer

    I have read many books in this genre. There are few that stand out. This is one of them. (Victoria Tunnermann's Islands of the Soul: A Guide to Personal Truth and Happiness, is another.) It spoke to me at a deep level, and reminded me of the important, often neglected parts of myself. I would recommend both of these books to anyone. The answers are right in front of us!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    The Water God

    This book is inspirational and provides one piece of the puzzle of the mystery of life. I read it just after finishing 'The Divine Code' by Kazuo Murakami. Both books conclude that the secret to a more healthy and happy life is positive thinking and gratitude. There are thousands of more complex spiritual books available, but if you are limited in time, I recommend this book to give your life more meaning. A concept presented by Emoto with which I disagree is that our soul is contained in water. I just finished a book with a much more compelling concept of the soul called 'This Side of the Gate' by John P. Johnston. I read it along with Murakami's and Emoto's books. Johnston's book is by far the most intriguing and thought-provoking. Just what is the soul? Without going 'Ken Wilbur' on us, Johnston presents insights into the soul, karma, and reincarnation which complements the other two books. I recommend reading all three books concurrently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2005

    WOW!

    So very fascinating, the photos alone are incredible, the text, compelling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2005

    Great Mystery of Nature

    This book really captured my imagination with its photos and enigmatic phenomena. I see that we are very far from understanding this world but we keep on trying. Highly recommended incredible book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2005

    magical H2O

    If you haven¿t seen the film (it¿s out on DVD right now), then you¿ll be amazed to see Emoto¿s new book, The Hidden Messages in Water. Back in the `90s, Emoto -scientific researcher, doctor of alternative medicine and lecturer - discovered that water exposed to words, photographs and music were enormously affected on it as evidenced by the crystals that formed when the water was frozen. When the water was exposed to loving positive words and music, the crystals formed vibrantly-coloured complex and complete snowflake patterns. Under negative exposure the patterns were dull in colour and incomplete, often chaotic. In 1999, unable to get his fascinating results published, Emoto resorted to simply printing out his now famous high-speed photographs, selling them and giving them away in an effort to deliver his beautiful message. Having self-published three books now ( The Message of Water I, II and III), Emoto finally saw his dicovery published last year as The Hidden Messages in Water. Although this book has only a small portion of the actual photographs, the cover alone caused shivers to go right up into my scalp. Truth has that effect. If we, like ,the planet are made up of 70% water, then Emoto strongly suggests that we should therefore be able to heal ourselves and the planet by conscious loving. If water is, as has been defined, the interface between the dimensions in which we live and the dimensions of our soul, then we cannot ignore this clear vision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2005

    Captivating

    I found this book captivting in the most positive way. It is simply incredible, easy to read, and fasinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dramatic Photos of Effects of Thoughts on Water

    THE HIDDEN MESSAGES IN WATER is packed with photographs of water droplets which have been frozen for two hours and magnified 200 to 500 times. These large, glossy photos look something like snowflakes, where no two images are identical -- yet certain patterns become immediately apparent. Japanese researcher Masaru Emoto describes in this book how his original quest to depict the natural beauty of water led him to discover that clean, pure water from natural unpolluted sources looks much more brilliant in color and more symmetrical in shape than chemically treated or polluted water. This assertion is made abundantly clear when one views the various images in this book and sees for oneself how chemically treated water crystals appear dark and misshapen while clean water appears bright and jewel- like. Emoto could have stopped his research there and still had an amazing book, but he continued his ground-breaking research to experiment with treating water with a variety of phrases, music, and prayer -- showing how our words, thoughts, and feelings have a visceral effect on water. This extraordinary book is a must for anyone who wishes to see for themselves what effect pollution and stressful thoughts and feelings are having on Earth's water -- and how we can change these effects with meditation, prayer, healing words, and music. Since most of our bodies and most of the surface of the Earth is made of water, THE HIDDEN MESSAGES IN WATER has tremendous significance for us all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    Great ideas and pictures and implications

    A fun book that helps me believe in the power of words and thoughts and objects and things to affect the world and others. This makes a good coffee table book as well as a very interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    A must read for everyone.

    This is a profound book that is a must-read for anyone interested in the universe and how it works. Emoto writes in an easy-to-read style that is amazingly captivating, considering the depth of the topics he delves into. Frankly, I couldn't put it down until I finished it, which was in two days. My 18 year old daughter has since run away with it. A profound and deeply touching book! I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    This will blow your mind and change the way you view everything.

    Simply amazing. Check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2