Customer Reviews for

Hidden Mickey: Sometimes Dead Men Do Tell Tales!

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Perfect for theme park fans

This book was a gift from a friend who knows that I'm obsessed with all things Disneyland. I don't do much reading any more and stashed the book away on my dresser. While sick at home a couple of weeks ago, I pulled the book out and read it from cover to cover in a day...
This book was a gift from a friend who knows that I'm obsessed with all things Disneyland. I don't do much reading any more and stashed the book away on my dresser. While sick at home a couple of weeks ago, I pulled the book out and read it from cover to cover in a day. I couldn't put it down. It reminded me a lot of the Da Vinci Code.

If you like puzzles or Disney, this book is probably just the thing to help you while away a lazy weekend. Also a great book for sharing with friends. I've already loaned my copy to a Disneyland cast member. If she doesn't give it back, I sure hope she passes it along to someone else who'll get a kick out of it.

posted by Dustysage on May 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A fun read

Although the characters are paper thin, this is an extremely fun read.
I must say though, that If I had to read one more time how good looking a certain character was I was going to lose it, every time writer started describing his looks or admirers, I had to skip a c...
Although the characters are paper thin, this is an extremely fun read.
I must say though, that If I had to read one more time how good looking a certain character was I was going to lose it, every time writer started describing his looks or admirers, I had to skip a chapter.
If you are a fan of the movie National Treasure you will probably enjoy this book. A little predictable at times but highly enjoyable to any Disney fan.

posted by Ed75 on January 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good book for Nondisney/Disney Lovers alike

    I was given this book and my first thought was not another park book.this is not a type of book I would read but OH MY GOD once I picked it up I could not put it down.I was so drawn into the world of Lance.It was a page turner I could not wait to see what he would do next and the ending was awesome it kept me wanting more.I cannot waut to see what happens to Lance and if that was really you know who in the tube and if it was how the heck did he get there.Again I must say this is now one of my favorite books.You have not read a good book until you read HIDDEN MICKEY

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect for theme park fans

    This book was a gift from a friend who knows that I'm obsessed with all things Disneyland. I don't do much reading any more and stashed the book away on my dresser. While sick at home a couple of weeks ago, I pulled the book out and read it from cover to cover in a day. I couldn't put it down. It reminded me a lot of the Da Vinci Code.

    If you like puzzles or Disney, this book is probably just the thing to help you while away a lazy weekend. Also a great book for sharing with friends. I've already loaned my copy to a Disneyland cast member. If she doesn't give it back, I sure hope she passes it along to someone else who'll get a kick out of it.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    A great book for all Disney lovers (and even non-Disney lovers)

    This is one amazing book! It's not a guide book, but if you love Disney, this book will satisfy a Disney need! It's fast-paced and keeps your attention! In fact, I had a hard time putting it down. It brings the reader to many of their favorite Disney places while teaching you about the legend of Walt Disney, the man. While running a spirited Mouse Adventure road rally through Disneyland, best friends Adam & Lance stumble across a long-lost diary of Walt Disney's. The diary hints of hidden treasure and leads them on a wild cross-country search filled with discoveries - about the famous man, his life, and about themselves. I loved reading this book, and I got so into it, I had a hard time putting it down! I highly recommend it to everyone!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    A must buy!

    I had so much fun reading Hidden Mickey. If you are a Disney fan, a Mystery fan, or both, this is a must read for you! The story is well written and I was riveted. When I had to put the book down, to cook dinner or clean up a bit, I couldn't wait to pick it back up! To think Walt could have left such a treasure of any kind is so fantastic! Even though the story is fiction, I found myself thinking, "Wow, that could actually be there!" I couldn't wait to see how the story ended! I am starting it again! Well done!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable Adventure!

    I had a great time reading this book I got to know all the characters and got caught up wondering where the clue would lead. I was worried the ending would be somewhat Hitchcock-like with the villain trapped and no one knowing about it--I was relieved when the ending was not what I saw in my mind's eye.

    It was quite entertaining. If you are not a Disney aficionado it is still a good read. It probably helps to be someone of a happy outlook in the first place as there are no self-absorbed emotional discoveries--just an absorbing treasure hunt. Nothing maudlin and dark in this novel, even the villain can't be that bad, just midirected emotionally!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    What a Wonderful Book

    What a Wonderful Book. As soon as the story gets going it is difficult NOT to keep reading. The research and attention to details of Disneyland made me want to go to the park and relive childhood memories and make new ones. And reminders of what the park was built for-a place for families to spend time together. The active search for clues kept me anxiously involved to see what would happen next and where it would lead them. The ending doesn't disapoint and neither does the book. Can't wait for the movie

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    A Great Read For A Disney Fan

    I read the book upon referral, and loved it all the way through. I have never been a fan of mysteries, but this one kept me interested and always thinking. As a Disney fan, I especially enjoyed that the plot revolved around Walt Disney and his often mysterious life. I look forward to referring this book to my friends and family, and encourage you to pick it up. It is a must-read for any Disney fan, and you won't regret it!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must For Disney and Mystery/Adventure Lovers

    I loved this book! It had me hooked from the first chapter! I couldn't put it down. I was going to take a break before reading the second book, but couldn't and bought it right away. Starting it tonight!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    I want to see the MOVIE?

    WOW! OMG! Mr Toads Wild ride was nothing when compared to this Book! I want to see the MOVIE? what fun it was to learn all about Walt Disney's Past. and some cool Secrets of the Disneyland park at the same time. Who knew the Pirate ride had real treasure in it!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Great book, loved it to the very last page!

    It was hard to put it down, especially when they were getting really close to a new clue or puzzle. I never knew half the stuff I learned about Walts life, and it was pictured so well in this book. But it's not just for Disney buffs, because i've only been to Disneyland one time. The clue seekers travels and adventures are half the fun. The whole book had a witty sense of humor that kept me laughing. All in all, it's been a fun read, the ending caught me by surprise, if you havent read it yet . . . you'll see. Good setup for book number 2, which I am getting ready to read very soon. :)

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Disney Must Read

    I love all things Disney, so this book was a perfect fit. I think every Disney Fan would enjoy this book as much as I did.
    Thank You

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Disney Adventure

    I ran across your book by accident back a few weeks ago after returning from my first ever trip to Disneyland in CA. I was intrigued by the synopsis straight away and downloaded it from Amazon with my next pay-packet (I own a Kindle, so bought the ebook edition). I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed the adventures of Adam, Lance and Beth and what fun it was trying to solve the clues with the characters along the way. There were many clues that I sussed out for myself along the way, and others that had me completely stumped until the book revealed the answers. It was such an enjoyable read and having just visited Disneyland for the first time myself, I was able to picture everything you described in the parks and at times, I felt like I was along for the ride. I can't wait to read the sequel and I'm also excited to read that a third book in the series is also nearly finished. Great job!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    This book was great... hard to put it down.

    This book was great. It was hard to put it down. I was really surprised at the way it ended. I truly wasn't ready for this ending. If you like to read or even if you don't you will enjoy this book. It brought back memories from Disneyland when I was a child. Some of the rides that were mentioned I had forgotten about. Great job Nancy I'm ready for the next one.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    I throughly enjoyed the Hidden Mickey book,Sometimes Dead Me Do Tell Tales

    I throughly enjoyed the Hidden Mickey book,Sometimes Dead Me Do Tell Tales.I learned a lot about Disneyland that I didn't know. It also made me want to make a trip to Marceline to see Walts boyhood home.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Loved all three books!

    As a major Disney fan, I've been a member of the Disneyana Fan Club for years, I was particularly impressed with the attention to detail in all the books. The plot twists made it impossible to put the books down. I'm looking forward to the next in your series!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast, fun, exciting with a few surprises.

    Fast, fun, exciting with a few surprises. E-ticket ride....loved it. Looking forward to your next novel. There is a next novel? Right?

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    A fun read

    Although the characters are paper thin, this is an extremely fun read.
    I must say though, that If I had to read one more time how good looking a certain character was I was going to lose it, every time writer started describing his looks or admirers, I had to skip a chapter.
    If you are a fan of the movie National Treasure you will probably enjoy this book. A little predictable at times but highly enjoyable to any Disney fan.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    What a great E-Ticket ride!!!

    What a great story! If it were only true! I was wrapped up from the first page. I cried, my heart raced, my mind was working overtime trying to figure out the clues as the characters were trying to figure out everything. I learned a few new things about Mr. Disney and Disneyland that I never knew! One of the best books I have ever read! I lost myself completely in the story. I could envision every part of the park and what the characters might look like. I even dreamed about the story. LOVE THIS BOOK SERIES! Thank you, Nancy. It was an honor meeting you at the Tucson Festival of Books.....Mulan_1998

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    This book is a very fun read. Loved it!

    This book is a very fun read. Loved it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    As an avid Disney lover, my initial reaction to this book was &

    As an avid Disney lover, my initial reaction to this book was "wonderful". It was very well written and the dialogue did not seem forced or fake at any point. The characters were fleshed out nicely and I think it would do well in a sequel.

    This book has a lot of action and thrills with a little supsense thrown in for good measure. I'm sure Walt himself would have been proud of the effort put into this book not to mention the sheer fun in reading it.

    My teenager can't wait to read it next, and keeps asking how it ends, which I refuse to divulge.

    Congrats and nice job to the authors.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3