Customer Reviews for

Hidden Places: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Excellent read

    I love her books! Lynn Austin is a gifted writer and I wouldnt hesitate to recommend her books. I have read six of her books and plan to read them all. IMHO I think she is right up there with Karen Kingsbury.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my all-time favorites!!

    My senior English teacher gave me this book to read because she thought I would enjoy it. She was right. I read this book in one session of about three hours because I just couldn't put it down. This is probably my favorite book of all the books I own. I have re-read it over and over!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    A wonderful story of a family quite complicated.

    It reads from first page to last. The story is full of twist. You will find all the thruth of each person and their secrets. I loved it, could not put it down. I very real family with very real situations. Thr end is crying time, so sweet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2006

    Gripping Story - Characters that move you

    I love this book! It is right up there with Pride & Prejudice and The Thorn Birds for me. The story is intricate and woven. You fall in love with all the characters. And you can't get enough. I couldn't wait to put my kids to bed at night so I could lay in bed and read! A very moving tale of families, parenting, and the decisions we make for our future. Wonderful book! I went right out and purchased the Refiners Fire series by her. Just finished Candle in the Darkness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    Awesome Book!!

    I absolutely loved this book! This is a typical Lynn Austin book in that it is just terrific! This is one of my favorite books and I think anyone, particually females, will love it! It just really gets you into the story and touches you. Read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    This is the third of Lynn Austin's books I have read in the past

    This is the third of Lynn Austin's books I have read in the past three weeks! I've not seen the movie but if it's even half as good as the novel, it's a "must see." Never have I read Christian fiction with an author as gifted as she. I love the way she interweaves the stories of generations of women, providing helpful insight into other times and places. I am learning history in a fascinating way. All the characters are incredibly believable with all their faults and foibles. I most enjoy how well she presents the Gospel of Jesus Christ in a way that is wholly acceptable and honest. After nearly 70 years of reading, Lynn Austin has become my all-time favorite author. I hope she reads these reviews as it's my way of saying, "Thank you for your countless hours of labor. I consider your books as masterpieces."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Wonderful!

    I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Hidden places

    One of the most heart warming books i have ever rrsd

    One of the best books i have ever read may 2013




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Great book

    Loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Annonymous

    Loved this book. Lynn Austin has once again written a book that was difficult to put down. I highly recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Fantastic

    What a wonderful book. I did not want it to end. Love this author, what a talent!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Mistyfeather

    Lies down

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Mistyfeather

    The other one is a new rper for him i didnt want to rp him so im just letter the person no tht your pregnant nd tht you didnt have the kits yet

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Very Heartwarming read

    I had taken a break from reading b/c every book i read was a complete waste of time My sister hounded me to read this book and I am glad that i did Great read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    A great book to read

    I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. I finished it in two days! Lynn Austin did a great job keeping you interested in the storyline, plus great characters. I loved all of the characters; they seem so real! Would recommend to anyone! It was an awesome story. I kept reading parts of it over and over again!! I can't say enough about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2002

    My first Christian novel

    This was my very first Christain novel and I hope not my last. I doubt there is one that will top it. The charactors all seem so real and the story so moving. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2001

    I won't forget this one

    What an incredible book! I haven't been this moved by a work of fiction in a long time. I thought about the characters long after I finished the last page. (I want to meet Aunt Batty!) Thank you Ms. Austin. More than a couple of my friends will be finding this one under their tree this Christmas. It's too good not to share. Buy it! Read it! Enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2001

    A gifted writer, a marvelous book

    I have read two other books by Lynn Austin, and each one was wonderful. She creates vivid, memorable characters in a well plotted storyline. I love her use of flashbacks and point of view. I read Hidden Places in two days, immersed in a huge pile of college work. Read anything by Austin. She truly is a gifted Christian writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2001

    Read this one, you won't be sorry

    This book was wonderful. I was in the middle when I couldn't keep my eyes open any longer and fell asleep. I woke up at 5am to have time to read before the day began. I never give up sleep for anything. That's how terrific a book this was. I really cared about the people in this book, and worryed about them while I was asleep. It was easier to get up and read, then to wonder while I was asleep' what they were doing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2