Customer Reviews for

Hidden Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    As I've said before, another safisfying read

    As I've mostly said before, this is yet another satisfying J.S. read. The basic story was more than a little improbable -- esp the character of Nadya & the lack of background for all the KGB historical detail. Grandpa's murder/suicide near the end was so clearly predictable ... but you could easily overlook all these things & just enjoy the ride thru the action & the typical Lucas antics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Good book

    Ineresting story. Kept my interest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Same old, same old

    This book is plain boring. There is nothing that makes you want to keep reading. A high school hitman is on the loose, wow! This book could have been done much better had Sandford been able to write a story with some twist, fact is.......he cant. Its all just to easy to read, to simple to figure out. He has written some good books but this certainly was not one of them. Unless you collect his novels you should skip it. Its a waste of time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    A good book

    I must admit the first time I read this book I didn't like it. I was so used to John Sandford's unusual plot twists, murderers terroizing small towns, missing people and what not, I just didn't get Hidden Prey. I picked up a copy on CD and listened to it while commuting 80 miles to work each day and changed my mind. Eric Conger does such a wonderful job narrating the Prey books, you can actually see Lucas racing his Porche down the Minnesota freeways in his GQ wardrobe. I found the book to be much more suspenseful and enjoyable the second time around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    Not so good

    I've read all the Prey books. Most are good, this one wasn't. It was just too hard to get into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    Disappointed in Sandford

    I splurged and bought Hidden Prey when it first came out.I was disappointed that John decided to inject some of his Political views into this story. This was not the place to do so. Also, it is getting to the point that all the Lucas stories are too predictable and much the same. I have purchased my last one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2004

    Very good book I applause you!

    I thought the book was good, it had a good plot to it, and the ending was really good. Keep writing John your doing great. My most favorite Prey Novel was Mind Prey. One of the best. Again great job Mr. Sandford keep up the good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    Very disappointing

    I am a huge John Sanford fan, but was very disappointed in this book. I finished it, but only because I am a big fan. Didn't enjoy the story line, or any of the characters, and couldn't wait for it to end. This book will not be passed on to my friends, I put it in the trash this morning.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    An Avid John Sandford Fan!!

    I found Hidden Prey disappointing compared to the other Prey books. I have read every book in this series and at the end of each book was looking for the next to come out. This one just did not have the suspense. It did not hold my interest to the point that I could not put it down. I kept picking it back up hoping something real exciting would happen, but nothing did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    SANDFORD IS TOPS

    John Sandford's Prey series has been called riveting, compulsively readable, and splendid. It is all of these. Then, just when you think this author couldn't possibly pen a story any more dynamite reading than the last he does. 'Hidden Prey' is Sandford in top form - it's surprising, exciting with action aplenty. There's no rest for popular protagonist Lucas Davenport in this one. With the discovery of a dead Russian on the shores of Lake Superior Davenport feels like it's deja vu the Cold War in today's Minnesota. Before long the FBI discovers that the murdered man had KGB connections. Was he a Russian intelligence agent? Everyone has both questions and theories - Davenport arrives on the scene, a Russian policeman jets in from Moscow, law enforcement officers investigate, and reporters of every ilk converge. A barrage of violent events cloud the original crime: a homeless woman is garroted, a bar owner is attacked, and a police officer is shot. Despite the confusion Davenport finds out a few things he didn't want to know - this part of his home state once sheltered a bunch of Communist sympathizers, and there's every indication that this cell is alive and well once again. There's much for Davenport to retrace - another place, another time - all of which puts him in peril. Yet, this must be done before he can begin to unravel this many layered mystery. If you liked 'Naked Prey' you'll be delighted with 'Hidden Prey.' Or, if you haven't read any of the Prey series - treat yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2004

    Sandford never disappoints

    Another incredible entry in the Prey series. There hasn't been a bad book yet. If you've never read a Sandford, you're missing out. Try one, you'll be hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2004

    Just Another One

    WOW! John Sandford really can keep the character Lucus Davenport fresh! He is a bit more boring since he got married and had a kid, Sam, but still the book was great. A brutal murder of a Russian and the city of Duluth is the making of another five star novel from one of the nation's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2004

    Will Read More of Sandford's Books

    This was the first book of John Sandford's that I've ever read. I enjoyed it greatly. I found it to be fast paced with numerous twists and turns. I carried the book everywhere I went until I finished it. I will most certainly be reading more of Sandford's books. I hope they're as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    John Sandford Scores with another 'Prey'

    Another great read from Mr. Sandford. I find it fascinating that this author is so in tune with his main character, Lucas, and respects him so much that he has let him still have the basic elements that drove him the first time we met him and yet he has the courage to tone him done and push him in a more mature direction. Can't wait for the next 'Prey' book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2004

    Not up to Par

    I buy Mr. Sandford's books the minute they hit the bookstores. I can usually read them in two nights. This book disappointed me , I found it hard to read and not very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    Much promise, but...

    For long-time Sandford fans, Hidden Prey is a refreshing change of pace. No single crazoid killer here...but rather what appears to be a hidden nest of spies. Ooooo, cloak and dagger. Unfortunately, while the story is a REAL page-turner (I finished it in 2 days), the logic that fuels the entire thing is so muddy as to be unbelievable, and the ending is EXTREMELY unsatisfying. As for character treatment, the usual cast of characters is almost nonexistent (Davenport's new 12 year-old ward, for example, only merits 2 passing mentions), and Sandford spends a remarkable amount of time building a character, Trey, who he hardly mentions after the initial set-up is done. He may as well have put her on a bus and had her disappear to Alaska for all the good she did as the story unfolded. All in all, a C-plus to B rating. A good read, but one that will leave the reader feeling vaguely unsatisfied by what ends up feeling like a tempest in a teapot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2004

    Top Notch Work by Sanford

    I've read all of the Sanford PREY books - and this ranks up in the top with the best of them. Thoroughly enjoyable! The book kept my interest such that I finished it in 2 days. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2004

    Disappointing if You're a Prey Fan!

    If you have followed Davenport and the Prey cast of characters, you will be disappointed in Sandford's latest. The storyline is trite and disappointing as well as the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    RIVETING, SPLENDID READINGS

    John Sandford's Prey series has been called riveting, compulsively readable, and splendid. It is all of these, and the readers on the audio versions are also riveting and splendid. Eric Conger, voice performer on the abridged edition, is an accomplished actor and narrator who has the patois down pat with his sixth Prey recording. He's the recipient of a Golden Earphone Award, deservedly so. Broadway and television performer Richard Ferrone ably delivers a suspenseful reading to the Unabridged edition. This is his 12th Prey recording, and he's in top form. With 15 books in the Prey series under his belt author John Sandford just keeps getting better and better. There's no rest for popular protagonist Lucas Davenport in this one as with the discovery of a dead Russian on the shores of Lake Superior Davenport feels like it's deja vu the Cold War in today's Minnesota. As it turns out the FBI discovers that the murdered man had KGB connections. Was he a Russian intelligence agent? Everyone has both questions and theories - Davenport arrives on the scene, a Russian policeman jets in from Moscow, law enforcement officers investigate, and reporters of every ilk converge. A barrage of violent events cloud the original crime: a homeless woman is garroted, a bar owner is attacked, and a police officer is shot. Despite the confusion Davenport finds out a few things he didn't want to know - this part of his home state once sheltered a bunch of Communist sympathizers, and there's every indication that this cell is alive and well once again. Both readers take listeners on a dizzying series of twisted trails and head-ons. Don't miss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    Joh Sandford is the King of Suspense

    You'll never meet a nicer man than John Sandford (Camp). That might be one of the reasons why 'I' purchase his books every time May rolls around and a new one hits the shelves. But it's obvious that just being nice doesn't make you a great author, it just helps attract readers looking for an author they can believe in. This man may only write suspense novels, but there is no one else who is as good (and as funny) as John Sandford when it comes to full character development. I find the humor rather important. At times, it's almost as if he should be writing comedy, with that sly sense of humor of his. But when he gets down to business he can scare the you-know-what out of you by presenting the one thing that's hardest not be scared of ... The evil that exists in real life. John Sandford easily makes my list of the top 10 best authors of all time and Lucas Davenport is without a doubt my number 1 character of all time ... read the Prey novels and I'm sure you'll agree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4