Customer Reviews for

The Hidden Reality: Parallel Universes and the Deep Laws of the Cosmos

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

great book, and answer about nook vs kindle price

For the love of all that is holy everyone understand this. its not barnes and noble that decides the price of the ebooks, its the publisher!!!! im not kidding. so, complain to the right sources. why the publisher would charge more for the nook is just bad business, i ...
For the love of all that is holy everyone understand this. its not barnes and noble that decides the price of the ebooks, its the publisher!!!! im not kidding. so, complain to the right sources. why the publisher would charge more for the nook is just bad business, i agree, but barnes and noble makes the hardware, not the ebook that it stores. WRITE THE PUBLISHER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! they are freaking out trying to make a buck because they dont want the market dominated by one source, like the music industry (itunes). so before you piss and moan, actually do what youre complaining about........and read.

posted by wk_music on January 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Poor philosophy presented as if science.

Mr. Greene may or may not be a competent physicist. However, he is a very poor philosopher. His inability, or refusal, to think clearly undermines the potential of his writing. His writing hastens the death or possible suicide of thought. I will mention only a few examp...
Mr. Greene may or may not be a competent physicist. However, he is a very poor philosopher. His inability, or refusal, to think clearly undermines the potential of his writing. His writing hastens the death or possible suicide of thought. I will mention only a few example glaring errors of thought I found before having to put the book down due to boredom.

Mr. Green's poor thinking is evident from the beginning. In the first sentence of the first paragraph of the preface of the book, he writes: "If there was any doubt at the turn of the twentieth century, by the turn of the twenty-first, it was a foregone conclusion: when it comes to revealing the true nature of reality, common experience is deceptive." What is a reader supposed to make of such a statement? The reader is presumably a human being. Common experience is experienced by human beings. Human beings exist in a world of touch, smell, sight, sound, etc .. Measured details of the atomic or subatomic structure of reality enter the minds of human beings only by way of instruments human senses can experience. Mr Greene appears to be oblivious to the reality that the individual atoms making up keyboard on which he types are as far away from his direct experiential knowledge as is Alpha Centauri.

In chapters 1, 2, and 3 he painstaking (painfully) elaborates on a theory that since there are an allegedly an infinite number of universes but only an allegedly finite number of atomic particles and energy states, there must be an infinite number of parallel universes. In other words, there are an infinite number of Mr. Greens. An infinite number of Mr. Greens wrote the book exactly as Mr. Green did in our universe. An infinite number of Mr Greens wrote the book using an "a" instead of an "an" on some random page of the book. An infinite number of Mr. Greens wrote the book placing figure 3 before figure 2. An infinite number of Mr Greens wrote the book without the first sentence in the first paragraph of the preface to the book. Etc ...

Mr Green seems to believe he knows definitively that infinite number of universes, combined with a finite number of particles and energy states in each universe, requires duplication of the contents of each universe. He makes no mention, for example, of the alleged orientation of the "orbits" of electrons in each atom in the universe. There is no evidence to suggest that orientation of orbits is quantized, and not infinite. Mr. Green simply asserts the lunacy that nothing more is needed than a finite number of particles and energy states to jump to the conclusion that the contents of the universe is duplicated an infinite number of times.

The book is loaded with useful ideas and explanations. However Mr. Greene seems to be focused on pretending that he can prove that science illustrates that what we know is false or worse, meaningless.

I am reminded of Galileo. Galileo ran afoul of authorities not for his science, but for his philosophy. Today, there is no risk Mr. Green will be imprisoned for his philosophy. I just wish Mr. Green would stick to science. Or better, he should learn some philosophy.

posted by An_Observer on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book, and answer about nook vs kindle price

    For the love of all that is holy everyone understand this. its not barnes and noble that decides the price of the ebooks, its the publisher!!!! im not kidding. so, complain to the right sources. why the publisher would charge more for the nook is just bad business, i agree, but barnes and noble makes the hardware, not the ebook that it stores. WRITE THE PUBLISHER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! they are freaking out trying to make a buck because they dont want the market dominated by one source, like the music industry (itunes). so before you piss and moan, actually do what youre complaining about........and read.

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Poor philosophy presented as if science.

    Mr. Greene may or may not be a competent physicist. However, he is a very poor philosopher. His inability, or refusal, to think clearly undermines the potential of his writing. His writing hastens the death or possible suicide of thought. I will mention only a few example glaring errors of thought I found before having to put the book down due to boredom.

    Mr. Green's poor thinking is evident from the beginning. In the first sentence of the first paragraph of the preface of the book, he writes: "If there was any doubt at the turn of the twentieth century, by the turn of the twenty-first, it was a foregone conclusion: when it comes to revealing the true nature of reality, common experience is deceptive." What is a reader supposed to make of such a statement? The reader is presumably a human being. Common experience is experienced by human beings. Human beings exist in a world of touch, smell, sight, sound, etc .. Measured details of the atomic or subatomic structure of reality enter the minds of human beings only by way of instruments human senses can experience. Mr Greene appears to be oblivious to the reality that the individual atoms making up keyboard on which he types are as far away from his direct experiential knowledge as is Alpha Centauri.

    In chapters 1, 2, and 3 he painstaking (painfully) elaborates on a theory that since there are an allegedly an infinite number of universes but only an allegedly finite number of atomic particles and energy states, there must be an infinite number of parallel universes. In other words, there are an infinite number of Mr. Greens. An infinite number of Mr. Greens wrote the book exactly as Mr. Green did in our universe. An infinite number of Mr Greens wrote the book using an "a" instead of an "an" on some random page of the book. An infinite number of Mr. Greens wrote the book placing figure 3 before figure 2. An infinite number of Mr Greens wrote the book without the first sentence in the first paragraph of the preface to the book. Etc ...

    Mr Green seems to believe he knows definitively that infinite number of universes, combined with a finite number of particles and energy states in each universe, requires duplication of the contents of each universe. He makes no mention, for example, of the alleged orientation of the "orbits" of electrons in each atom in the universe. There is no evidence to suggest that orientation of orbits is quantized, and not infinite. Mr. Green simply asserts the lunacy that nothing more is needed than a finite number of particles and energy states to jump to the conclusion that the contents of the universe is duplicated an infinite number of times.

    The book is loaded with useful ideas and explanations. However Mr. Greene seems to be focused on pretending that he can prove that science illustrates that what we know is false or worse, meaningless.

    I am reminded of Galileo. Galileo ran afoul of authorities not for his science, but for his philosophy. Today, there is no risk Mr. Green will be imprisoned for his philosophy. I just wish Mr. Green would stick to science. Or better, he should learn some philosophy.

    4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    Amazing book, but previous reviews don't seem to understand

    I have been reading theoretical physics since i was 10 years old, and believe that I have the authority to say that this book is accurate, and a great read. However, the concepts outlined take a bit of getting used to. It is very abstract, and if you are new to the field, i suggest reading the elegant universe before this one, as it is a great introduction to theoretical physics.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Questions asked

    RE: universe9015's review; I have read Michio Kaku's books and Brian Greene's books - positive comments = fascinating; semi-negative or perhaps less than fully positive = reinforces fundamental questions of how did life start? and why are we here? and where did the "world" begin? and . . . despite the questions asked I will purchase and read Greene's newest pub.

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    I liked the book, but it was a little advanced for me.  Greene d

    I liked the book, but it was a little advanced for me.  Greene did a good job of *trying* to explain in a way that can be understood by anyone, but  it was still over my head.  I'll try it again some other time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    price is lower

    the price is 9.99 why are people complaining that its more? must be old reviews

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    The book I have not read

    The book that I have not read is the one to READ! We have been exploring our universe as we know it today. We have found out that our universe is expanding and is speeding up in that expansion.

    There are definitely different levels, and dimensions of existence. Multi dementions that can be proven scientifically.

    In ancient writings, they were given to us as a myth. People are trying to explain the visitation of intelligent life from a place or source which they could not understand.

    I will tell you this from personal experience, this is not the only universe. There are an eternity of universes that exist.

    This will include, parallel universes. There is a difference between multi universes, and parallel universes.

    It is a difference between universes and a different dimension of existence.

    As we explore scientifically, spiritually, has soulfully, our place in the scheme of total existence, you will find you must address all of the above.

    I did not read the book. I already know what's in it.

    Im in this universe. This universe is me. I am this universe.

    With the unbreakable connection to this universe, the knowledge of this Universe comes with me and it's in me.

    Read this book. You will find yourself understanding "The Hidden Reality"

    1 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    good book

    Good book good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Z,

    N,s,wo

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    In any superuniverse there exist 1000 universes

    And there exist many superuniverses, approx. 7 +-0. We have not come close to the edges of our own universe. Oh yes, many other inhabited planets exist in our own universe and the beings of these others have differing brain types. Some older & wiser, some new and beginning. We are not alone! Run fast and take it to the bank. citti 1/0

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    So good I bought it anyway

    I complained about price and still do but Nook is so much better than Kindle I caved. After reading sample I just had to have this one. A great companion to 'From Eternity To Here'. I strongly recommend both.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5