Customer Reviews for

Hidden Talents

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A review

This book is awesome! I read it very fast because it is so good. It is an awesome book for someone like me who likes fantasy/science fiction books, especially if they have to do with superpowers or something similar. It is a great book for someone who doesn't particular...
This book is awesome! I read it very fast because it is so good. It is an awesome book for someone like me who likes fantasy/science fiction books, especially if they have to do with superpowers or something similar. It is a great book for someone who doesn't particularly like fantasy/science fiction because it is funny and interesting. But if you don't like those sorts of books and you think they make stories boring, don't bother to read it. And I'm not going to tell what the story's about because if you want to know just look on this page.

posted by Anonymous on February 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Is there anything exciting going to happen?

I really disliked this book because it was extremely boring. It is about this kid named Martin, who gets dumped at this school for bad kids. I mean that is as exciting as it gets. There are other kids that are at the school that becomes his friends. Martin figures out t...
I really disliked this book because it was extremely boring. It is about this kid named Martin, who gets dumped at this school for bad kids. I mean that is as exciting as it gets. There are other kids that are at the school that becomes his friends. Martin figures out that they all have psychic powers. They didn't want to believe him. This is one of the most stupid parts. Eventually, you find out that inspectors are coming to see if the school is worth staying open. Martin and his friends try to help the school to stay open. Trust me this is one of the most horrible books I have ever read. You don't want to read this book.

posted by Anonymous on March 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    This book was great

    Ok I would recommend this book to almost everyone because it was great. This book is kind of Suspenseful and takes a while to get to the exciting parts, but it is really interesting in what goes on in the book. There are a lot of great parts throughout the book it is a pretty easy read through also. It is amazing how fast you actually get through this book it is like watching a movie that you really love. In this book there are five main characters and they all take part in certain objectives, each having a different talent, each talent amazingly used. Please read this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fine misadventures of youth

    When it comes to adult authority. junior high school student Martin Anderson cannot keep his mouth shut as he rejects the constant advice with smart answers and insults. He has been expelled from six schools, the boy scouts, and the little league. He rides the bus to his final destination the prison-like Edgeview Alternative School, an institution used to lock up the violent and other losers (where is Pink Floyd when you need them?) Martin realizes he must be on the cutting edge to survive the ready fists of bully Bloodbath and the shock therapy of Warden, (make that Principal) Davis. On the plus side Martin meets four fellow weirdoes with special psychic powers. Torchy lights fires without matches or lighters; Cheater copies test answers from anyone sitting anywhere; Lucky steals anything; and Trash trashes stuff. Martin believes his only power is what adults label acerbic while he would say satirical tongue. The five losers band together as Martin discovers his HIDDEN TALENTS and try to stop a plot to shut the school of last resort down. Though the climax seems out of character for the magnificent five, the Harry Potter crowd will enjoy their misadventures. The quintet is at their diabolical best when they interrelate with one another. Although much of the key secondary cast seems stereotypical, readers will enjoy sharing a pizza with Martin¿s beleaguered parents as they and the young audience will wonder what will he do or say next. Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Hidden Talents

    Hidden Talents Hidden Talents was a good book. It has a cool twist in the book. It¿s interesting to see the world from Martins eyes. I liked how they have letters and school assignments in the book. This is an original book. I like it when Martin has a really bad day and manages to tick off every single teacher. I didn¿t like it when Martin spent almost a whole day in the library. I would suggest that you read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Great book!

    This book was great! It had a great story line to it and even ended with a twist. It was very interesting at points but i could not put it down. The characters were my favorite part of the book. Once i learned about a new character, i immediately became attached to him. I would have to say that my favorite part of the book was the ending. It was very unpredictable. I would recomend this book to those with a great imagintation and who like to read fictional books. If this sounds like you, i would go out and buy this book right now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    WOW

    I really liked this book. The writer mase it fun and exciting. It may look hard, but it's awsome. I really how it relates to my life and makes me dream. I would recomend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Read This

    I thought the book was ok. It is about these kids with special powers. They are in a school to help kids with their problems. At first the kids don¿t know that they even have special powers. So they get in trouble for something they don¿t know they are doing. The worst part about the book was the ending. It ended too soon. If you like books with people having special powers then I recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    This book is awsome!

    This is a really awsome book! If you havn't read it before then you need to! This book is about a kid named Martin that has to go a new school called Edgeview alternative school, and while he is there he has to deal with many things and finds out talents that were hidden. Find out more by reading the book! I promise you will love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    MUST READ

    I think that this book is very interesting. I would certainly recommend this to a friend. I liked this book because it always left me thinking What will happen next? This book has many things but in small amounts. It has mystery, adventure, fantasy, and science fiction. This book would be great for a person that likes super hero comics but other genres too. This is a book that you can't put down after one or two chapters. It will leave you making predictions, wondering, and asking questions. I have read other books by David Lubar but one that I would really want to read is Dunk. I read a review and it sounds really good. I really like this author and I am sure that if somebody else reads this novel, they will also fall in love with this wonderful author's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2004

    Hidden Talents

    To me this book was a very good book.It is about a boy named Martin who is sent to a school, called Edgeview, for all kids that were not allowed to attend a regular public school.He is sent there because he has a smart mouth.While he was there he meets some friends,later on as he gets to know every one he discovers that all of his friends have a hidden talent.But all of his friends are saying they dont have any special talents such as telepathic powers.The school can also permit him to go to a public school if he behaves with in his first month there.He also finds out that the people that live in the neighborhood wants the school closed.But the school has to go through an expection day.Is Martin right about his friends telepathic powers and is Edgeview going to take a vacation forever. So to find out more about 'Hidden Talents' you can visit any local library in your area.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Hidden Talents Book Review

    Have you ever talked back to anyone? This book was written by David Lubar. It is about a kid named Martin Anderson experiences the consequences that result from talking back; he has gotten kicked out of several schools because he talked back to the teachers. Here is one of the things Martin said to his teacher when he was asked to talk about himself in front of the class: ¿Hi, My name¿s Martin Anderson, and I¿m not bald.¿ .He ended up at Edgeview alternative school, it is supposed to be the end of all schools but it could be a new beginning for Martin. The alternative school has guards by the front gate they are only there during the day, but when night comes they go home. The windows look like that dead look of glass filled with wire-the type of window they use in a gym or warehouse. The walls have graffiti on them and the lights are so dim. His roommate was Philip but the people around the school call him Torchie. He got the nickname because they always see him around when a fire starts. His other friend¿s names are Cheater, Lucky, and Flinch. I liked the book because it kept me interested and I just wanted to keep reading it. I like that the characters were realistic. The characters will all have there own experiences by the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2001

    It was good

    It was a pretty good book for adolescents. Martin Anderson, narrates the book as he gets accustomed to life at Edgeview Alternative School. Overall, I thought the book was good and pretty interesting. You could never guess what was going to happen in the end. But I thought it was a really good book and I'd recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1