Customer Reviews for

Hidden in Dreams

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    Hidden in Dreams is pure Davis Bunn! A really likable character

    Hidden in Dreams is pure Davis Bunn! A really likable character with an interesting dilemma, some really disreputable villains, and the knight in white armor to save the day.

    Dr. Elena Burroughs has written a book on dream interpretation that is being attacked by other experts including one who demolished her during a debate. Her sister, Rachel, comes to her for help – a rare if ever occurrence, telling her of subjects in a clinical trial that are all having the same dream – she is skeptical at the least – patients who all have the same dream? And then she begins to have that dream – and the consequences could spell the end of economies around the globe. Elena, Rachel, her nemesis, Dr. Jacob Rawlings, and her boss, Reed Thompson begin a journey through doubt, danger, and double-cross. I couldn’t put it down!

    Davis takes current conditions and puts a conspiracy spin on them while enthralling and entangling us in his web of words. Hidden in Dreams is 4.5 stars out of five in my book and a must read if you like a fantastic mystery with lots of twists and turns and hairpin curves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    Hidden Dreams is a sequel to the book, ¿The Book of Dreams.¿ It

    Hidden Dreams is a sequel to the book, “The Book of Dreams.” It is
    totally unlike any other novel I have read, and although it’s a sequel,
    it’s a very enjoyable stand-alone novel as well. As usual with Davis
    Bunn, this story is full of action, adventure and drama with a good dose
    of romance thrown in. This drama could have been taken right out of the
    daily newspaper. The twists and turns kept me turning page after page,
    hoping to find out what was going to happen! I found it riveting!
    Even though this can be a stand-alone book, you will definitely want to
    read book 1 in the series, just because it’s so good. It was as hard to
    put down as this one. I’m very happy to recommend “Hidden in Dreams.”
    I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Howard
    Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I
    have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the
    Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    I have a dream, the same dream, which I have dreamed for many ye

    I have a dream, the same dream, which I have dreamed for many years. The setting may be different, but the terror is the same. I am in the dark, and I cannot turn on the light.

    Imagine my trepidation when I began reading Hidden in Dreams, by Davis Bunn. In this book, the same series of dreams is dreamt by several dreamers. They are dreams of financial ruin, personally and internationally. Hopefully, my dream is not prophetic, but these dreams seem to be, as events occur in the world. The question is the source. Are they from God? Is there a rational, scientific explanation? Must those who place their trust in science give credence to the fact that some things just cannot be explained without reference to spirituality and faith?

    This book is a sequel to The Book of Dreams. Though it can be read without reading The Book of Dreams first, you will want to read The Book of Dreams also. Elena Burroughs, the protagonist in both books, is a fascinating character with a strong Christian faith which she depends on for direction even when God is silent.

    Elena is only one of the rich characters in the book. She is drawn into the dreams mystery by Rachel Lamprey, the antagonistic sister of Elena’s dearest and oldest friend, Miriam, who figured in The Book of Dreams, giving the book of dreams to Elena before she died. Rachel repudiates everything Miriam stood for, but is really not so different from her after all. Jacob Rawlings, a behaviorist who has in the past brutally flayed Elena in a debate is drawn unwillingly into the dreams controversy when a patient of his shares the dreams. He wants a relationship with Elena, but there is one crucial thing missing. The president of Elena’s college, Reed Thompson, and his daughter, Stacy, are both stronger, more compassionate, and more faithful people because of the death of a wife and mother years ago. Even the chaotic weather in Florida during hurricane season becomes part of the cast of characters, lending its ominous beat to the march of events.

    The setting of impending worldwide financial collapse, torn from today’s headlines, coupled with a recent re-reading of Larry Burkett’s The Coming Economic Earthquake, made it difficult to read this book. However, Davis Bunn is one of my favorite authors and I have read most of what has come from his pen. And in true, Davis Bunn style, there is a totally-unexpected twist.

    The prophetic dreams shared by fifteen people who live all over the world, some with great financial or political influence, powerful financial organizations and business corporations, murders, conspiracies, and the threat of global financial collapse, not to mention romance, all make Hidden in Dreams a compelling and exciting read.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Howard Books, a division of Simon & Schuster. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Reading Hidden in Dreams took something of an adjustment, as I w

    Reading Hidden in Dreams took something of an adjustment, as I was expecting something more in line with Book of Dreams. Though it is a sequel, Hidden in Dreams is entirely different. Charming Antonio is out of the picture. The setting is Florida, not Europe. The ancient prayer book does not play a significant role. And most importantly, the dreamscape is a very different kind of force. Only Elena remains.

    But once I understood that I’d landed in a different story world, it was a great read. As with every Bunn book I’ve read, the suspense is page-turning. The mystery is complex and keeps the reader guessing, and, of course, reflects real world events. I gulped down the last 100 pages in one sitting.

    I have to say I preferred the spiritual thread in Book of Dreams – the bond between Christians over the centuries and the power of meditative prayer, but that’s probably just my personal bent. Hidden in Dreams had a solid spiritual thread too, and I was touched by watching Elena’s wisdom increase as she united her prayers with those of her new friends.

    In the end, Hidden in Dreams is a less mystical story than its predecessor, but is thoroughly enjoyable. As with most of Bunn’s stories, you can expect solid writing, a global mystery, a touch of romance, and a profound spiritual theme. Recommended.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Howard Books, a division of Simon & Schuster. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Dr. Elena Burroughs, well-known for her controversial dream anal

    Dr. Elena Burroughs, well-known for her controversial dream analysis work, finds herself in the lime-light of the highly pumped media, a position she abhors. They are hounding her about the almost identical, repetitive dreams coming from several individuals world-wide (aka “dreamers”), predicting cataclysmic financial upheavals. Her old enemies become new comrades to make sense of the dreams and whether they relate to side effects of a new drug, SuenaMed, used to treat ADHD.

    The dreams, however, don’t really seem like actual dreams as much they appear as attacks or visions, repetitively overriding the dreamers’ thought patterns, causing a sense of urgency to tell the world.

    Despite the tense episodes, a tentative romance develops between two gentlemen vying for Elena’s attention, making for an interesting dilemma for her. Her choice seems obvious up front, but circumstances change that make you wonder if she will change her mind. It calms down the chaos to help you get a breather from the hectic circumstances.

    Foretelling through dreams is not a concept that I am familiar with, but it’s an interesting, creative concept for presenting cataclysmic overtones. Since we are currently living in a volatile financial world today, these dreams could easily send the public into a frantic frenzy. It seemed real enough to make me wonder for a time what would happen to my own finances should something like this happen. Davis has done a great job in upping the anxiety as the dreams unfold. The twists in the scenarios took me by surprise, making this another great read by Davis Bunn.

    The qualities and peculiarities of each character seemed to be realistic and very tense at times due to the traumatic responses to the dreams. The tempo of the media, the rush to action to curb distress, the last-minute meetings, and the frenzy of the people were well described.

    I did enjoy the aspect that some of her co-workers were fellow believers, and they were open to praying over situations, with Dr. Elena sensing protection because of their prayers.

    Check out Davis Bunn’s book, Hidden in Dreams, for a new perspective on the possibilities of our world’s economics, as well as a great suspense. And don’t forget Book of Dreams by the same author, the prequel to this book.

    My Rating:

    I would rate the book at a 4.5. Davis did an excellent job at creatively presenting the chaotic scenarios with the public’s frantic frenzy of a ‘rush’ at the banks and the media race for first dibs on the dreams. The media can be like pariahs and people do panic! The book distinctly pulls on the emotions of the volatile financial market of today’s world.

    I was confused over the issue of foretelling and prophecy, as there is a fine line between the two terms. I found this aspect disconcerting and a little off-kilter for me, feeding into the New Age ‘spiritual’ messages. I will agree it was handled quite well by Dr. Elena, though.

    The fact that there are several books out on cataclysmic chaos in the financial world, this just seemed like just another one in some aspects. But Davis’ creativity puts it in a completely different realm.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Howard Books, a division of Simon & Schuster. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Another Davis Bunn Winner!

    Dr. Elena Burroughs, world-renowned dream expert, is now teaching at a Florida college, a welcome respite from her past year of overwhelming difficulties. Then a late friend Miriam’s sister Rachel arrives with a plea for Elena to help a man having dreadful dreams that may impact the launch of Rachel's project, a new medicine for ADHD.

    Soon news arrives from around the world of unrelated people with a similar dream. And then Elena herself experiences the frightening nightmare. The dream warns of world financial catastrophe and Elena is engaged by Rachel's company to help people survive. Complications cascade into hers and other lives.

    At the point where readers may feel convinced the entire world is doomed, Elena discovers something. I’m so excited about that part of the book I’m tempted to reveal this fascinating event. But that would spoil the story for readers.

    However, know this book will keep you immersed in the suspense, the unusual events and a dangerous but satisfying ending, including some romance.

    I was given this book free by Howard Books, with no restrictions on or requirements about what I wrote.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book, and Book of Dreams. Davis Bunn is consistentl

    I loved this book, and Book of Dreams. Davis Bunn is consistently my favorite author. His writing styles can vary so much from series to series, and all of them are so good. It amazes me that God can use these books to speak confirmation of things He has been showing me elsewhere in my life.
    I recommend all of Davis Bunn's books if you haven't read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Hidden In Dreams - A Psychological Thriller With An End-Times Slant

    Dr. Elena Burroughs, professor of psychology and author of a controversial book on dream analysis, is trying to get her chaotic life back in order. The last thing she needs are nightmares – dreams of imminent world-wide financial anarchy. Visions so disturbing that upon waking she has the overwhelming desire to warn anyone who will listen. But what is even more disquieting is that she is not the only one having these same visions. Several other people around the globe are waking up in terror, driven by the insatiable need to warn the world.
    Indeed the dreams are proving prophetic. As banks close and economic upheaval ensues, Elena finds herself the spokesperson for the dreamers. But as a believer in Christ and a believer in dreams that can be prophetic, the question foremost in her mind is - are these dreams divine in origin or from a more carnal source, a source with eyes on a global power grab?
    Davis Bunn’s latest offering Hidden In Dreams is a psychological thriller with an end-times slant. The plot places itself in diverse arenas such as the pharmaceutical industries, economic institutes, and the field of psychology. Although the pacing is tense throughout, it is not action driven by car chases or gunplay. It is cerebral in nature – a cat and mouse (or dreamer and deceiver) game played out on an international stage.
    The heroine and her love interest are both devoted Christians, and through them, Bunn brings to the fore the necessity of trusting scripture over signs and wonders. A valid point well executed.
    Hidden In Dreams is an intriguing novel that doesn’t seem too far removed from today’s headlines. It is an intellectually gripping yarn that will not leave you yawning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This fast-paced book is designed to be read in one sitting.

    In Davis Bunn's sequel to The Book of Dreams, Dr. Elena Burroughs has taken a teaching position with the Atlantic Christian University in Melbourne, Florida. Rachel, the sister of Elena's best friend Miriam who had died the previous summer asks for Elena's help. Rachel's company, SuenaMed in Orlando, is about to release a new ADHD medication for children and adults, and they are experiencing problems related to dreams. A number of those testing the medication are having the same dream about a disastrous worldwide economic downturn.

    Elena talks to Reed Thompson, the president of the Atlantic Christian University, a former economic expert with connections in federal government. She also talks to Jacob Rawlings, an ardent critic of her dream theories, who has a patient who is having the dream, and who now believes Elena is correct about what she has said about foretelling dreams.

    Elena has the dream. The same one the others had. Included is a strong urge to warn everyone about the pending economic downfall. Since the urge to warn people is so strong, they wonder if telling the public may stop the dreams. At the insistence of Rachel, and the support of Reed and Jacob, Elena becomes the spokesperson for the dreamers. Soon there are more dreams in which the situation worsens. Some banks begin to fail. There is a debate over whether or not the dreams could be messages from God, since, it is argued, only God can see into the future.

    You will need to read the book to find out whether or not the dreams are spiritual. Luckily, that won't take you long. This fast-paced book is designed to be read in one sitting.

    Though this is a sequel with references to The Book of Dreams, it stands alone and is quite enjoyable without knowledge of the information in the first book.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Howard Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255. The book was then donated to a church library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1