Customer Reviews for

Hide and Seek (Inspector John Rebus Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Maybe the worst book Rankin's writtem

    Second in the Rebus series and Rankin must have been pressured into slapping this ridiculous turkey together. Pass this one by.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Entertaining Mystery written with an intriguing Scottish flair

    Years after watching the BBC produced "Rebus" programs on Masterpiece Mystery, I decided to read the books. The general gloomy overtone and wonderful use of the English language impart tales of the criminal side of life in a country that most people think of as tea-drinking, staid and proper. You encounter complicated mysteries as well as the complicated workings of a man trying to understand himself as a reflection of the heinous underground world of Edinburgh. Rankin is a master of the use of vernacular to set a tone and a "picture" of the people and landscape of the Fife area of Bonny Scotland. He's works are griping and difficult to put down. A must read in every mystery lover's library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    This is another great book by Ian Rankin. The book is set in Edi

    This is another great book by Ian Rankin. The book is set in Edinburgh, Scotland and has plenty of local detail. Rebus is a very well developed and very much three dimensional character. I am glad Ian Rankin has brought Rebus back in another book as he is too good a character to leave by the wayside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Highly recommended

    The Ian Rankin books, especially this one, are MUST READS! DI Rebus comes to life in the plots in which nothing is clear until the very end! It is difficult to believe that DI Rebus isn't a real cop!! I highly recommend you try this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Continuing the Inspector's Portfolio

    Another good yarn by this well-respected British writer. His Inspector John Rebus is an interesting character with a hard-bitten exterior, quick with his wits, words and at times his fists, all packaged up with a very human center. The locale is Edinburgh, Scotland as absorbing a geographical place as the more familiar Oxford town in England. Here the Inspector deals with a mysterious murder with hints of satanism but ends with something more horrific and more timely. The story presents our world as we might easily recognize it and that is the connection which makes this work fun to read. Try the series out and you will enjoy the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hide and Seek but Can't Put down

    Ian Rankin mixes the Scottish working class with an intense murder mystery novel in this teenage-occult novel. This book is extremely well done and I breezed thru it. I loved the references to the previous book "Knots and Crosses" as well as his subtle mix of humor. It's not overly violent or grusome. The chapters are a long and the book isn't broken up as easily as Knots and Crosses but the book is excellent. The second half of the book is especially good. I've become a big fan of Ian Rankin and his style of writing. I'm currently reading Tooth and Nail and I love how he continues to briefly mention the previous stories, which adds to character development. As the review reads on the back "You can't go wrong with Rankin"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    HIDE, If you can

    Having read most of the Inspector Rebus series, I chose to re-read the second installment of Ian Rankin's sensational creation. John Rebus early in his career is quite a treat, having just finished Exit Music, #17,the last in the Rebus canon. While investigating a suspicious death in an Edinburgh housing development, Rebus finds a junkie laying in an almost crucified position admist paraphernalia of Satanic worship. What looks like an apparant overdose to others only raises the suspicion of murder to Inspector Rebus. A killer runs and hides throught the city, of Edinburgh pursued by John Rebus who we see failing at much in his personal life. He toils with many things such as relationships, moral actions, and finding a new church but the reader quickly realizes that police work is John Rebus' soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It Ain't Always What It Appears

    Another good yarn by this well-respected British writer. His Inspector John Rebus is an interesting character with a hard-bitten exterior, quick with his wits, words and at times his fists, all packaged up with a very human center. The locale is Edinburgh, Scotland as absorbing a geographical place as the more familiar Oxford town in England. Here the Inspector deals with a mysterious murder with hints of satanism but ends with something more horrific and more timely. The story presents our world as we might easily recognize it and that is the connection which makes this work fun to read. Try the series out and you will enjoy the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1