BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hideaway

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great I just needed more!

I loved the storyline, and I felt the pace of the book was great. It had me interested throughout the whole book. I guess I was so interested I wanted more. I wanted more depth in the Doctors character and background (will not get into further detail). I felt as if ...
I loved the storyline, and I felt the pace of the book was great. It had me interested throughout the whole book. I guess I was so interested I wanted more. I wanted more depth in the Doctors character and background (will not get into further detail). I felt as if the story did end rather abruptly but it was not a disappointing ending. I recommend this book it was an interesting story, and in the end it really gets you thinking.

posted by bebopcim on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jazzy

Hey lets play spin the bottle and whoever it lands on that person decides what to do and the other person has to do what ever they say no matter what

posted by 17177708 on July 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    Great I just needed more!

    I loved the storyline, and I felt the pace of the book was great. It had me interested throughout the whole book. I guess I was so interested I wanted more. I wanted more depth in the Doctors character and background (will not get into further detail). I felt as if the story did end rather abruptly but it was not a disappointing ending. I recommend this book it was an interesting story, and in the end it really gets you thinking.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2001

    A MUST READ FOR KOONTZ FANS

    I Have been a Dean Koontz fan for several years now, ever since reading Dark Rivers Of The Heart. I feel that Hideaway is one of his best ever. It has one of the most memorable villains in all his books, and two genuine and heroic main characters. The way Koontz describes the underground setting of Vassago's home is brilliant. He paints vivid and haunting images throughout the entire story. If you've never read a Koontz novel, you will love Hideaway. If you have read Koontz, you will love it even more. I could barely put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Wonderful book

    Enjoyed as always

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    another masterpiece

    Having thought I'de read everything by Koontz, I stumbled across one I had'nt...This book was amazing! Thank you Dean!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Hideaway by Dean Koontz

    I loved the story and the aftereward more. I will be reading more. House of Thunder. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awsome read

    This is the first books by Dean Koontz that I just could not stop reading. It was great!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    A fast paced scare that will keep you up until you turn the last page.

    From the beginning you feel as if you are transported into a dark mystery that has no escape. Soon your reading in a frenzy to find out how these two people can overcome the odds and survive the most thrilling pages you¿ll ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 1999

    Wonderfully crafted novel with spine tingling characters

    This book has an amazing storyline and plot that just becmes more and more interesting as you read it. Koontz' has a gift for creating characters that become unbelieveably real. I felt that the book was overall well worth the read. The only part that I have a bone to pick with is the ending. I feel that the suspense was built up to nothing and that it ended very quickly. Other than that the book is awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    MJM

    Love, love, love Dean Koontz. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    30 year fan

    From day one I have been a Koontz fan, and Hidaway did not let me down. I have read his books from the moment of publicatopn and re read them years later because I enjoy good story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2014

    I've been reading Dean Koontz since 2011 with Hideaway being the

    I've been reading Dean Koontz since 2011 with Hideaway being the 7th book and I knew it wouldn't disappoint. I can always count on Koontz to spin a thrilling tale. This book was great, especially if you like serial killer storylines. I really liked how the characters - Hatch & Lindsey Harrison, Dr. Jonas, Regina and of course Vassago - start to all tie in with each other. I felt the ending, the confrontation, was over too quickly. Maybe because I wanted more action; wanted more of Uriel the Angel, who appear out of nowhere. And I LUV the Regina character - the 10 year old girl the Harrisons adopted. She was a riot, so colorful. I'm now tempted to check out the Hideaway DVD with Jeff Goldblum and Alicia Silverstone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Dean Koontz Fan

    This book was the first I had ever read from Koontz and I have been a fan ever since. There isn't a book he has written that I won't read. Amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Fantastic read

    A great and exciting book, but it could be better

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    I have read other Dean Koontz books and been captivated by them.

    I have read other Dean Koontz books and been captivated by them. This one was a HUGE disappointment. The book was largely about the background information and the ending was HUGELY DISAPPOINTING. It's  like he ran out of time and phoned it in. Completely ridiculous. If you're going to read a Dean Koontz book, this is NOT the one. Pass!  

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Too Nasty for Me

    I could not get through all of this. For starters, it was pretty predictable what the villain was ultimately going to get up to. And talk about a villain you love to hate: this creepy guy was so repulsive and sadistic I just didn't want to go on with the story. So I didn't.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Interesting, but not my favorite

    This book was okay. There really wasn't much action going on, and I wish Dean didn't include so many pages from the villain's point of view. This book was supposed to be mostly about Hatch, and it seemed that Vassago(the villain) was the central character instead of him. I also wish that Dean had included more chapters about Regina, the 9-year-old Hatch and his wife adopt. She was an awesome character, and I thought she deserved more development within the story. Overall, I wouldn't say this book wasn't good, but if you never have read Koontz before, I'd suggest a more action packed book like One Door Away From Heaven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    Genius Writer.

    Dean Koontz is a genius when it comes to inscribing fictionals and I think that we all can agree that he has some pretty nifty ideas. This book is definitely outright suspenseful and descriptive. The only dissapointment was the denouement. It did feel a bit hasty written. But this book is entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2005

    Not his best

    Although I must admit it was a page-turner I was a little let down by the ending. As a huge Koontz fan, I have noticed this trend in 3 or 4 of the 12 books I've read. Not a complete dissapointment, but I'm usually turned on more by his novels take pack a good handful oftwists at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    very scary and filled with suspense

    this book is one of the best dean koontz has written. This book will keep you up late reading, way into the night

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4