Customer Reviews for

Hiding in Hip Hop: On the Down Low in the Entertainment Industry--From Music to Hollywood

Average Rating 3
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    WOW! This is a must-read, and real eye-opener

    I have always had my reservations about black downlow men in general, but this opened my eyes to those in the world of hip hop. You always watch these videos and wonder if it's really true (the gay/bisexual rumors that you hear about theses guys). It seems to be that the most downlow ones try to hide and mask behind these facades of dating many women and being over masculine. It just makes you wonder about all of these black men in general, but it gives you a good idea of what to look for when you may suspect that something's not quite right! Overall good read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    I was Intrigued to the max

    This book was a page turner if I have ever read one. I could not stop. The poigniant delivery of the untold story of so many men in so many circles all over the country and not just limited to celebrities and the entertainment industry, but men in business and sales and so forth. If you are addicted to tell all stories where you come one step closer to finding out some truth about an obvious family of gay celebrities, then this one is for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Exceptional Read. It was intriguing from the jump. What an immer

    Exceptional Read. It was intriguing from the jump. What an immersing style of journalism. I was inundated from the word, go. I have now seen what Fox news and NBC will never tell me forthright. The entertainment is greek fraternity culture for homo's; with all the hazing, favoritism, and debauchery to match. I needed this. I haven't listened to hip hop the same since I put this book down. I can now see through corrupt marriages and down low co workers. Thanks Terrance! I love you! And you're the first LGBT (and probably the last) of which  I'll express those words to. XO. And thanks barnes n noble; you guys played your part too. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Blah, no interested

    The cover and premise caught my eye. Read the sample and didnt care for it. Dont want to read a book about some dude who cheats on a girlfriend with other dudes and talks crap about other people. Laaaaame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Awwww Maaannn

    I had high hopes for this book.....but...it was boring for the most part.....or at least I got bired with it and couldn't finish...I read most if it though and although I believe this to be a book of fiction and fantasy I did learn one thing. TRUST NO ONE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Leaf

    Pads in and yawns he looks around

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Hiding Behind A Good Cover

    I read the sample chapters for this book and was surprisingly disappointed. Both the title and cover initially grabbed my attention but the words behind them failed to keep it. I know Terrance Dean wasn't a literature major, but the writing in this excerpt, and most likely throughout this book, was absolutely atrocious. I felt like I was reading something that my sister in the fourth grade wrote. Not only was the writing beyond juvenile, but I felt as if Mr. Dean just hopped in feet first, straight to point with no real build up or suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    ADD?

    I just read the sample of the first two chapters and couldn't take it. The author jumps into 4 Major plot points without tying them together in anyway. The premise seems good and the author eager but it needs editorial help for it to make any sense. Sorry 2 stars for an interesting cover and subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    missy

    this is a nice book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This book was good to me.

    I honestly have no interest in the gay/lesbian genre of books, I have nothing against them, I just never got around to reading some of their books. But after reading this book I thought it was very enlightening, I live in CA, particularly in the Bay Area were SF is, and it's very diverse here. Like everyone knows someone is gay, everyone has a friends, family member, who is gay. I was actually very sad when I read this book, because I never saw anything wrong with someone being gay, it was just really normal here, that's just how it is here I guess. I don't know how it is in the east coast or anything, I don't even know how it is in so-cal. It made me sad knowing that gay people still have to go through horrible things. I mean, they're people, this book made it legit. Can't people see that?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    HIDING IN HIP-HOP WAS A DISSAPOINTMENT!

    I expected this book to be alot better than it was. Like I just felt like he was exaggerating at times. I felt sorry for him 'cause of some of the things he had to go through with his family and stuff, but overall I didn't really like this book. However, I do feel that men of the gay, down-low, and/or bi-sexual community may relate to his story in some way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Thumbs down

    I so desperately wanted to like this book after all th hype but sorry folks: it's a waste of time and money. The author seems dellusional and out of touch with reality. I didn't for one second believe much of anything he written. Hardly anything he claims to have happended is backed up with hard facts or much research. In the end, this comes off a a low-budget knockoff of Karrine Stephens' Vixen tome of a few years back. Dean's book is poorly written and oftetimes you are never sure what the timeline is or which city he is in. Based on all the pre-release hype, I was surely expecting more......much more!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2