Customer Reviews for

High Fidelity

Average Rating 4.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Great Character Study

Nick Hornby's "High Fidelity" gives incredible insight into the psyche of a worn out, wounded man. The protagonist, Rob, carries the reader through the novel with a mostly stream of consciousness style that allows for a raw, personal look into his character. This man ...
Nick Hornby's "High Fidelity" gives incredible insight into the psyche of a worn out, wounded man. The protagonist, Rob, carries the reader through the novel with a mostly stream of consciousness style that allows for a raw, personal look into his character. This man is middle-aged, but still childish in some respects, as so many adults are. And this is what makes his character so believable, so real. The reader witnesses Rob responding to and recovering from his his girlfriend, Laura's departure. And although the tone reveals a deeply hurt man, Rob's cynical sense of humor and initial, almost immature reaction towards Laura adds a humorous dimension to the book. As his break up forces him to recall his "Top 5" most painful past failed relationships, his insecurities come into light, rooted as far back as age twelve. But his recollections of these flings and obsessions are meant as a jab at Laura, a last-ditch, desperate and immature comeback. This weak and childish attempt is at once slighlty pathetic and largely amusing. But this is what makes this book so fantastic. This is a real person we're dealing with.

On top of his break up, Rob also struggles with where his life has brought him. With his run down record store as his only claim for a career, he's easily pinned as a loser by society. But his honest and vulnerable state makes him certainly more affable (I wouldn't go so far as to say pitiable) to the reader. Through the course of the book, the reader will most likely come to establish a relation to Rob, some parallel fom his life to their own. Or perhaps, from the opposite end, a somewhat better understanding of the male psychology, thanks to superb and realistic character development.

posted by avistrat126 on May 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

good book

I saw the movie years ago and it's pretty similar to the book. The book was a little slow and the main character is whiny and gets sort of annoying. I finished this all the way through but was a little depressed after. Not a page turner or something I'd recommend to man...
I saw the movie years ago and it's pretty similar to the book. The book was a little slow and the main character is whiny and gets sort of annoying. I finished this all the way through but was a little depressed after. Not a page turner or something I'd recommend to many people.

posted by 3593078 on October 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    A Great Character Study

    Nick Hornby's "High Fidelity" gives incredible insight into the psyche of a worn out, wounded man. The protagonist, Rob, carries the reader through the novel with a mostly stream of consciousness style that allows for a raw, personal look into his character. This man is middle-aged, but still childish in some respects, as so many adults are. And this is what makes his character so believable, so real. The reader witnesses Rob responding to and recovering from his his girlfriend, Laura's departure. And although the tone reveals a deeply hurt man, Rob's cynical sense of humor and initial, almost immature reaction towards Laura adds a humorous dimension to the book. As his break up forces him to recall his "Top 5" most painful past failed relationships, his insecurities come into light, rooted as far back as age twelve. But his recollections of these flings and obsessions are meant as a jab at Laura, a last-ditch, desperate and immature comeback. This weak and childish attempt is at once slighlty pathetic and largely amusing. But this is what makes this book so fantastic. This is a real person we're dealing with.

    On top of his break up, Rob also struggles with where his life has brought him. With his run down record store as his only claim for a career, he's easily pinned as a loser by society. But his honest and vulnerable state makes him certainly more affable (I wouldn't go so far as to say pitiable) to the reader. Through the course of the book, the reader will most likely come to establish a relation to Rob, some parallel fom his life to their own. Or perhaps, from the opposite end, a somewhat better understanding of the male psychology, thanks to superb and realistic character development.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Mediocre all the way through...

    This book was kind of hard to get into. There were points that were funny, but mostly I just kept waiting for the good part.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A Modern Day Jane Austen for Guys

    I had been a fan of the movie adaptation of the same name for quite a while (and I would highly recommend the film along with the book), so when I found a free copy of the novel I was intrigued enough to give it a try. I found that the novel is just as humorous and appealing as the movie, and is filled with witty and insightful observations about relationships from the male perspective.Hornby is clearly a highly gifted writer, but the real strength of "High Fidelity" lies in what he is saying, not how he is saying it. The book takes a unique approach to storytelling, basically arranging the narrative with the use of a list of the main character's five most hurtful breakups. Though this would be a little repetitive and dry if the entire book were organized like that, thankfully Hornby moves away from that device before it goes stale. Another reason that this book was a joy to read was that the characters felt real. The main character was not all that nice, and in fact could be downright spiteful at times, but instead of hating him, I found myself drawn more into the story because of his flaws. Readers looking for some kind of adventure or meaningful story should probably find something else to read, but the plot is highly entertaining regardless.This book manages to excel in a genre mostly dominated by female authors/characters, and will provide readers with plenty of laughs.Highly recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    good book

    I saw the movie years ago and it's pretty similar to the book. The book was a little slow and the main character is whiny and gets sort of annoying. I finished this all the way through but was a little depressed after. Not a page turner or something I'd recommend to many people.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book, musical references made it better

    This book has so many musical references, they bring the book to life. It was enjoyable, a little predictable but good none the less. The British english was sometimes difficult to understand but it didn't pose any major problems.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    Remorsefully funny

    In, High Fidelity, we the readers get to live the life of Rob, a record store owner who lives in shame and denial over the many failed relationships of his past. Right from the first page he begins to list his 5 most memorable failed relationships, beginning from when he was eleven years old. A great part about the novel is that anyone can connect with his story since we all have had some troubles in the past. Also, he may be a middle-age man, but he can act like a child at times. He has a child-like obsession with music, and does not seem to business-like in owning his store. Throughout the novel it is easy for the reader to establish a relationship or feel sympathy for Rob. The ending of the novel is appropriate and leaves the reader feeling fulfilled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    This is your life

    This book is perfection. Male or female it's as if someone has been following you since that first kiss on the playground recording every excruciating detail of your love life. Easily identifiable so you can't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    Must Read if young man, very funny

    Nick Hornby is an amazing author, we'll I think so after reading only one of his books. High Fidelity is filled with witty humor along with promiscuity that goes along with being a young male adult. I was able to very much relate to this story and the writing let's you live life through main character, Robs, eyes. Literally. The writing outside you there, as if you were rob living in the book. While confusing at times all you need to do is slow down and read carefully. I highly recommend this book to anyone with a good humor and can take foul language. Especially young men as it is very easy to relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2012

    Very relateable romantic comedy

    This book starts off at a medium level pace - not too boring but not the sudden drawing of attention. This book includes a variety of expereinces dealing with relationships that every one can take something away from. There are lots of parts that will have you 'LOLing' at. If you have seen the movie please do not compare it to this, the book is way better since it allows you to create your own kind of setting since it is somewhat ambiguous. If you are afraid of this being outside your comfort zone, dont be afraid to try something new! It took one person to build the arc but a group of people to build the Titanic. Dont be afraid to venture off on your own sometimes. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Above Average Intersting Read.

    High Fidelity is a fairly easy read. If you like books that just come out and say things rather than beat around the bush, this is a book for you. The book overall is based around relationships and gives a Man's point of view on a lot of issues. The main character Rob goes through life showing the reader how his past relatiohsips have affected his life. His current relationship in the main part of the book is a disaster. He is trying to put his relationship and life back in order. The author Nick Hornby uses much humor during the book while Rob ponders women, sex, and his diminishing life. Can he turn it around and settle down to a satisfying life before its too late? Read this humurous real world book to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    Nick Hornby masterfully tells a story about how a man comes to adapt with himself about his own shallowness. A must read for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    liked it from the start

    An engaging story that tells a lot about love, life, perceptions, and relationships. The book also is very good... but as is usually the case, the book packs a more powerful wallop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    Loved It!!!

    I found myself laughing out loud in public while reading this book. It's so much better than the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    #3 On My Top Five Desert Island Books

    High Fidelity is a story about Rob Gordon: a thirty something, failing record store owner who¿s girlfriend of three years has just left him. Rob is then forced to re-examine his life after Laura¿s departure and figure out why he can¿t be happy with any ¿normal¿ relationship. I found out High Fidelity to be a pretty good page-turner and the humor was relatable. There were times when the book became dull but overall, it was good. Hornby has a way with words and some of his quotes are quite memorable. I would read this book again just for the wit, the music references, and the top five lists that seem like an added bonus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    Mind opening

    The book High Fidelity by Nick Hornby was one of the best ive read. I have not read many! But, somehow i could relate to this protagonist, a quickly-approaching-Thirty-something record store owner. The only difference was the pain that he went through. The discription that hornby set for this guy was almost heart breaking. The guy would torcher himself by listening to slow romantic music all the time by himself, thinking about his past relationships. Yet he never learns from the past. For one of the few books i read i liked High Fidelity and would read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    Everyman in Heartbreak ... by Chronological Order

    Another flawed character with whom I relate excruciatingly well. Hornby describes every failed love affair, every nuance of heartbreak, every comfort of being in your late twenties & realizing that your dreams have fallen into your memory as these faint love affairs of the past. & he does it all while slamming in amazing music references, encouraging us all to draw upon our own Soundtrack of Our Lives. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    Got music?

    This book rocks. If ever I could relae to a book, this is it. Have YOU ever wanted to sit at home, alone with your record collecton? I know I have. I almost feel as if Nick Hornby discoverd all of my emotions and put them down on paper. The movie was also excellent. John Cusak ad Jack Black were fantastic in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Greatest Book Ever

    The funniest, most cynical, in-depth story of an overly average male ever written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    British Wit at Its Best

    Rob is you. Rob is me. His words didn't leave me after I read them. I hunkered over this book, so engrossed and engaged, I forgot about my destination, walking across campus, and sat down on a bench and read instead. How can you resist - "Charlie was too witty, too smart, too pretty, too much...I always felt (with her) that I was standing on the edge of a very narrow ledge... I was always afraid she was going to go off with one of the guys in her art class." "She went off with one of them." Dialogue like that makes you think that when you turn the page, you're going to have to put it down for a while. It's just too much -then you're trapped again in the next graceful sentence, and you feel more whole than any other time you can recall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    Accurate and True

    I don't really read books, but i enjoyed this one. I sacificed hanging out and having 'fun' to sit down and read this novel. It amazes me, on how accurate Nick Hornby can be about the subjects like relationships, jobs, middle age, sex etc. If you are a person who just got out of a bad relationship and want to get over it in a 'academic' way, reading this book will do so. I know at least one of YOUR ex's will seem like one of the characters in this book. Even if you don't want them to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7