Customer Reviews for

High Heat: A Jack Reacher Novella

Average Rating 4
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Another great book from Lee Child

I can't get enough of Lee Child. Why didn't he play Reacher...much better than "what's his name"...better looking too!

posted by grammyNH on August 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

It was a good story, but would have been better if Jack was olde

It was a good story, but would have been better if Jack was older than 16. I had a hard time envisioning a 16-year old doing/saying all the things at Jack did in this story. Short read, was still good, but not great.

posted by 8646032 on August 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    It was a good story, but would have been better if Jack was olde

    It was a good story, but would have been better if Jack was older than 16. I had a hard time envisioning a 16-year old doing/saying all the things at Jack did in this story. Short read, was still good, but not great.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    Young Reacher is almost as good as Old Reacher.

    I have read all of Lee Childs books and this would not place high on my list of favorites. That said it was still a good read for a fan. Gives a bit of insight to the man Reacher becomes. Would I recommend it - not if it's your first Reacher book, start from the beginning and work your way up to this one.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Love Reacher but hated this book

    I waited with baited breather for this "teaser" to hold me over until the newest Reacher novel hit the stands. Alas, I was so disappointed. The story was so unbelievable. Even Reacher as a teenager could not have spouted off so much wisdom and knowhow. And Son of Sam - a bit farfetched. One pet peeve of mine - Mr. Child, you are too good of a writer to resort to cheap sex scenes to pull in readers. Not necessary. I have read every Reacher book and will continue to do so. It is the quality of writing that pulls me in and the fact that your books are so clean. That said, I can hardly wait for the new Reacher book as this did little to keep my attention.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Another great book from Lee Child

    I can't get enough of Lee Child. Why didn't he play Reacher...much better than "what's his name"...better looking too!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A short novella. Would have liked to have more to digest. Still

    A short novella. Would have liked to have more to digest. Still great though. It was a little tough believing that a 16 year old would have the presence of mind that Reacher does in this book. But still very good.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Terrible

    Def NOT worth buying. Love Reacher books but this one i shld have skipped! 57 pages of driving around in NYC blackout. Dont waste your time or money. Very disappointing

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Extremely disappointed.

    I am a fan of Lee Child books, but this was a poorly written, super hero comic book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    Not as worthy as the "adult" Reacher books

    Had this been the first Reacher book I read, I may not have read any more. The 16 year old Reacher character was not totally believable. I am glad that I started the Reacher books "out of order" (published date), as I fell in love with the adult Reacher's attitude, skills, and methods of handling things that came his way.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    Very typical of Lee Child, very typical Jack Reacher, but had so

    Very typical of Lee Child, very typical Jack Reacher, but had some trouble accepting he was a 16-year-old in this one. The rationalization that it was his military upbringing that made him the way he was didn't quite work. Blackout AND Son of Sam... a bit of a stretch. That being said, I don't begrudge the money spent buying the book. It felt 'good' to be immersed in Child's voice.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Another Reacher Winner

    I've enjoyed virtually all of the Reacher series and this short story is no different. Lee Child writes well and adopting Coleridge's suspension of disbelief idea, this one is a real kick. All I had to do is accept that as a 17 year old on his own Reacher was and is a Superman and can pull all sorts of physical and mental tricks out of his hat. If you an accept that then you will enjoy this as much as I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    disappointed

    I am a mature woman and have always enjoyed reading reacher books, until now. I never worried about reading anything vulgar before. This was a short violent , for it's own sake and padded with sex for it's sake. Only about 57 pages and you kill off the only one that deserved better. Even in all the other "grown up" reacher books you (Child) were never like this. Very diasppointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Very cool for such hot weather

    I had forgotten I ordered it when I pre-ordered the next book for 9/3, so it was a great and welcome surprise to get it. I started reading it, and it took me awhile to realize that it takes place the night of the blackout in the 70s -- the same day we moved into our apartment and were at a party across town, and the hostess gave us all Hannukah candles to get down the 32 flights of stairs when the party stopped and the lights went out. I love this story. I think it might be the best of the short Reacher stories so far. Keep 'em coming, Mr. Child!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Pretty awful book

    The Jack Reacher novels generally stretch credulity with a one man army. But this particular one is just so totally unbelievable. A 17 year old in New York takes on the mob on the one night of blackout in the 70s and is a dominant partner with a totally unbelievable FBI agent and if that wasn't enough, apparently is also responsible for tracking down Son of Sam! Ridiculous. And to top it all, the story itself is so poorly written. Lee Child obviously phoned this one in. Avoid it if you are a fan of Jack Reacher. This one is simply bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Highly Recommended! Deserves more than five stars!

    Fast pace and full of adventure! One of the best Jack Reacher novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Recommended - check it out

    however - it leaves you wanting more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Good Jack Reacher read.

    Leaves you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Just as good as the rest of the Jack Reacher books

    I had read one other Novella from the Jack Reacher series in the past and was a little disappointed with it. Just a little. But this one is just as good as any other book in the series. If I had to say anything bad about it, it would have to be that it was a novella. I can't get enough of Jack Reacher so more would have been better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Great!!! Just like all Child's books!!

    What Reacher fan wouldn't love hearing about Jack's late teen years??

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Children

    Children please take your childish games elsewhere. This is a book review site for adults to talk about the book in question, not for you to to roleplay, text, sext, or play stupid cat games. Take it to a computer or a web site.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Laurel

    Walks in and says hello then says let the girl go

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8