BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

High Heat: A Jack Reacher Novella

Average Rating 4
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Another great book from Lee Child

I can't get enough of Lee Child. Why didn't he play Reacher...much better than "what's his name"...better looking too!

posted by grammyNH on August 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

It was a good story, but would have been better if Jack was olde

It was a good story, but would have been better if Jack was older than 16. I had a hard time envisioning a 16-year old doing/saying all the things at Jack did in this story. Short read, was still good, but not great.

posted by 8646032 on August 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Love Reacher but hated this book

    I waited with baited breather for this "teaser" to hold me over until the newest Reacher novel hit the stands. Alas, I was so disappointed. The story was so unbelievable. Even Reacher as a teenager could not have spouted off so much wisdom and knowhow. And Son of Sam - a bit farfetched. One pet peeve of mine - Mr. Child, you are too good of a writer to resort to cheap sex scenes to pull in readers. Not necessary. I have read every Reacher book and will continue to do so. It is the quality of writing that pulls me in and the fact that your books are so clean. That said, I can hardly wait for the new Reacher book as this did little to keep my attention.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Terrible

    Def NOT worth buying. Love Reacher books but this one i shld have skipped! 57 pages of driving around in NYC blackout. Dont waste your time or money. Very disappointing

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Extremely disappointed.

    I am a fan of Lee Child books, but this was a poorly written, super hero comic book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    disappointed

    I am a mature woman and have always enjoyed reading reacher books, until now. I never worried about reading anything vulgar before. This was a short violent , for it's own sake and padded with sex for it's sake. Only about 57 pages and you kill off the only one that deserved better. Even in all the other "grown up" reacher books you (Child) were never like this. Very diasppointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Pretty awful book

    The Jack Reacher novels generally stretch credulity with a one man army. But this particular one is just so totally unbelievable. A 17 year old in New York takes on the mob on the one night of blackout in the 70s and is a dominant partner with a totally unbelievable FBI agent and if that wasn't enough, apparently is also responsible for tracking down Son of Sam! Ridiculous. And to top it all, the story itself is so poorly written. Lee Child obviously phoned this one in. Avoid it if you are a fan of Jack Reacher. This one is simply bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Children

    Children please take your childish games elsewhere. This is a book review site for adults to talk about the book in question, not for you to to roleplay, text, sext, or play stupid cat games. Take it to a computer or a web site.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    There are better books out there.

    Flat. Some parts slow; some parts not clear. Weak story line. Not believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Other books but not this one.

    For starters the book was only 57 pages and was totally off the wall. probably 40 pages to many. No 16 year old could be so smart in all things and so in control of everything. the book was nothing but sex and violence. I have read an like some of Reacher's other books but this one was dud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    just ok, I do not like short story books

    I didn't realize when I bought the book on my nook that it was a short story. Not enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1