Customer Reviews for

High Hopes and Heartbreaks

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    High Hopes and Heartbreak, from Brooke White, is excellent.

    High Hopes and Heartbreak is excellent. My favorite songs are "Out of the Ashes" (number two) and "smile" (number seven). Brooke White is a great fit for anyone who likes The Carpenters, Taylor Swift, and/or Kris Allen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    High Hopes and Heartbreaks

    I love this album. I know Brooke wrote all but one song, she's such a talented person. I find myself singing Radio Radio all the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    An album sure to leave a "Smile" on your face

    Once again Brooke White manages to put together another very solid album, this time on her own label with the backing of Idol's Randy Jackson. This was the first time Jackson put himself out for a former American Idol finalisst like this and that's telling in and of itself. Nearly all the songs on the album -- save for a solid cover of Use Somebody by Kings of Leon -- were written by White and the storytelling of professional and personal hopes and heartbreaks in these songs is at times achingly honest and always refreshing, but that's what makes Brooke White one of the most unique and enjoyable talents out there. You ride the gamut of emotions, wanting to dance around the house to Radio Radio, to flying along in your car singing along to Little Bird to getting teary over Be Careful. You also get a lovely tribute song to growing up in Phoenix that will make you think back to your friends and family and growing up, as well as a tribute to some of her favorites from the 70s in California Song. Whether you watched American Idol or not this is one you'll want, as one the songs goes, to ride along with in your car for a couple of million miles and sure to put a smile on your face.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Album

    I did not watch the season of AI that Brooke was on. I found this CD in my library and had read online that "little bird" was a good song so I checked it out. Wow! I was really surprised to find an amazing new artist. These songs are so simply and honestly written but just beautiful. There are ony 1 or 2 songs that I am not crazy about. The rest are just one classic after another. Reminds me very much of james taylor, carole king, carly simon..sort of in that vein. The writing and singing is exceptional. I am definitely looking forward to purchasing Brooke's next album and the girl has found a fan for life. I hope she has the opportunity to keep making records. Definitely an album worth checking out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Best record in a long time!

    Brooke White's latest cd, "High Hopes & Heartbreak" is a wonder! Great music that is perfect for a long summer drive. Beautifully orchestrated, this cd is one that you would risk wearing out for playing it over, and over, and over again.
    Not many cds in this day and age are as authentic and real as this one is. Brooke recorded each song all the way through for each track. No stops in the middle and cut & pastes along the way. She sat in the studio and recorded it right on the spot. Something that is quite unique nowadays.
    It brings a feel of the 70s while attaining something that is fresh and new, an unappreciated hit if you will.
    If there is one album to buy this year it's this one right here. I guarantee there is not a more soulful, true pop album out there reminiscent of the singer-songwriters of the old days with a splash of brilliance of Colbie Caillet, Kelly Clarkson, and Kate Vogele. This is some real music.
    Man does she pull it off like no one else could. Brooke White ushers in the new era of music. Independent and free from the big companies of olden days, Brooke started her own company for this record. A choice that made this album shine like it could no other.
    "High Hopes and Heartbreak" is the start of something really special for this young woman. If you don't buy any other cds, I would recommend this one right here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Easy Listening

    Brooke White is an American Idol. Great album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1