Customer Reviews for

The High King

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Classic children's fantasy

    In the fifth, and final, novel in the Chronicles of Prydain, the final battle with the Death Lord takes place-and all the old buddies from previous books come out to play war. In many ways, this book is darker than the earlier ones. Although it is still appropriate for any child who is capable of reading it (fourth or fifth grade), it may be scary for very young kids who are being read to. Despite this, The High King was the best of the Prydain books. It taught good moral values, was cute and sweet, and never crossed the level of violence that some more recent children's books achieve. Definitely a classic of children's fantasy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    This book is about a man named Taran. When Taran was a baby, Dal

    This book is about a man named Taran. When Taran was a baby, Dallben (a wizard) saved him from a war. The story takes place in the land named Prydain. After a huntsman from the land of the dead kills a king and takes the sword named Dyrnwyn Taran and his friends build an army to battle the death lord. The army travels through rough terrain and arrives at the land of the dead. Taran finds Dyrnwyn and kills the deathless cauldron born. After that he slays the Lord of Death and becomes High King of Prydain. Tarans friends from the house of don have to move back to their homeland. Princess Eilonwy stays with Taran though.
    I give this book four stars. It doesn’t tell you the background of the characters and how they met. Also the characters talk a lot so it’s mostly dialogue. I recommend you read the previous books in the series so you can know the characters better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Great finale to the series

    The final book in the Chronicles of Prydain brings together all of the characters we've grown to know and love over the entire series. Arawn is on the move and ready to take back the sword Dyrnwyn. Taran and his band must make sure this doesn't happen.

    This volume is much darker and sadder than the rest of the series, but I found it to be necessary. It is a truly a wonderful book on its own, encapsulating all that I loved about the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Great

    This book is great for the mysterious and adventurous person

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Great

    Definetely one of the best authors ever! He is timeless and ageless and anyone who does not like even one of his books (but you really should like all of them) should go and get their head examined! Llyod Alexander is..... THE HIGH KING OF FANTASY!!!!!!!
    See what I did there!!
    P.S. Do not get me wrong Tolkien is a HIGH KING to!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    i thought the book was an epic conclusion to the series. the boo

    i thought the book was an epic conclusion to the series.
    the books are, by the way for the younger reader,
    4-6 grade about.
    very good books
    excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Hah

    ( • ) ( • )

    {()}


    :——}D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    A good read

    Thumbs up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    good

    good to readnig skill and share to friends

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    Taran and the thrilling conclusion

    The Prydain series makes one fall in love with Wales and all its myths. I read this as a child and still loved it after rereading it with my kids (the 2006 publishing date is not when it was first published). That gold seal on the cover still means something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    a reviewer

    The High King is the best book I have ever read by the best author ever and in the best series ever. If you love a good book with lots of action, adventure, and a little bit of tragedy, read this book. I highly recommend The High King. Highly!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2006

    A Good Book

    This is a really good book,with a crumby ending.A book to remember.No wonder it won the Newberry Medal!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    Unexpected

    The High King is arguably one of the most fascinating end books in any fantasy series I have yet to read. After reading book after book, bibliophiles find that it is easy to predict the endings. And, after finishing the previous four books in the series, I admit, I thought I had it. Surprising, moving, and powerful, the ending is something that not every average person can appreciate. Some readers, especially children, will want the ending to turn out the way they want it to turn out, but this is not the book for them. The book is so powerful and unique for this very reason: it does not follow the typical path and does run the risk of disappointing certain readers, yet it is ultimately true to the story. The only disappointment I suffered at the end of this series was the fact that it was over and I had nothing more to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    Most astonishing ending!!!

    The High King by Lloyd Alexander is an amazing story about a teenager named Taran in medieval times. While Taran is an assistant-pig keeper, he is in love with a princess/ witch. Her name is Elonwy. Elonwy decides to become a princess though she does have the choice in the matter. In this book, Taran asks a prophetical white pig named Wig Fen what disaster is about to happen. When the magical sticks break, everyone present knows that the prophecy is such a horrible disaster that the sticks break. When an evil sorcerer comes back, Taran uses a sword to break an evil spell. While, that is happening, the Evil Sorcerer captures Elonwy. I liked this book a lot. I do recommend it to people who like to read about damsels in distress and the hero is a mere person of no importance. What I liked about this book is that it goes right to the point but it skips around to one person to another when the chapter is over. When you finally are done, you will want to know what happens when they get to their final destination. Read this book to find out all of the details that are giving a tug at your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    Perfect ending

    This book is a very good ending to the adventures of Taran and the companions. However, it's sad at parts, but that only adds to the adventure. Prepare yourself, anything can (and does) happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    Proof that there is reading for young adults beyond Harry Potter

    I read this series several years ago and loved it. A wonderful story, excellent characters (even though pronouncing their names can be tricky) and a satisfying ending. The Pydrain books are great for young people just getting into fantasy, and is readable for adults to, so you can connect with your kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    Amazing

    This book rocked! It was the perfact companion to the other books in the series. I dont know what your reading Keven because this book was simply remarkable. If you ever see it on the shelf buy it and buy the other books in the series. It is symply a masterpiece that will be treasured for ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    I *STILL* enjoy reading this... and I'm OLD. :)

    I first learned of Taran and his wonderful adventures in Prydain when I was in 3rd or 4th grade, about 22 years ago. Now, at the ripe 'old' age of 30, I continue to pick up the five volumes of the Prydain Chronicles at least once a year, to remind myself of what it means to grow, learn, and succeed, even when times seem darkest. I recommend this book... but read the other four first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2004

    Don't ever, ever read this book!

    I strongly suggest that you never read this book because it was absolutly boring and the characters are confusing, like Gwydion. So if you ever see this book on the shelf don't pick it up.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2004

    Remake of Lord of the Rings for young readers

    I am a teacher of young children. I have become interested in the Newbery Award books and have read from 'A Wrinkle In Time' up to 'The High King'. I found this book to be virtually identical to 'The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King'. If you enjoy that type of genre, you will enjoy this book. For me, it was 'Been there, done that'.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4