BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The High King (Chronicles of Prydain Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Great finale to the series

    The final book in the Chronicles of Prydain brings together all of the characters we've grown to know and love over the entire series. Arawn is on the move and ready to take back the sword Dyrnwyn. Taran and his band must make sure this doesn't happen.

    This volume is much darker and sadder than the rest of the series, but I found it to be necessary. It is a truly a wonderful book on its own, encapsulating all that I loved about the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Great

    Definetely one of the best authors ever! He is timeless and ageless and anyone who does not like even one of his books (but you really should like all of them) should go and get their head examined! Llyod Alexander is..... THE HIGH KING OF FANTASY!!!!!!!
    See what I did there!!
    P.S. Do not get me wrong Tolkien is a HIGH KING to!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Hah

    ( • ) ( • )

    {()}


    :——}D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    good

    good to readnig skill and share to friends

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    Taran and the thrilling conclusion

    The Prydain series makes one fall in love with Wales and all its myths. I read this as a child and still loved it after rereading it with my kids (the 2006 publishing date is not when it was first published). That gold seal on the cover still means something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    a reviewer

    The High King is the best book I have ever read by the best author ever and in the best series ever. If you love a good book with lots of action, adventure, and a little bit of tragedy, read this book. I highly recommend The High King. Highly!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2006

    A Good Book

    This is a really good book,with a crumby ending.A book to remember.No wonder it won the Newberry Medal!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    Unexpected

    The High King is arguably one of the most fascinating end books in any fantasy series I have yet to read. After reading book after book, bibliophiles find that it is easy to predict the endings. And, after finishing the previous four books in the series, I admit, I thought I had it. Surprising, moving, and powerful, the ending is something that not every average person can appreciate. Some readers, especially children, will want the ending to turn out the way they want it to turn out, but this is not the book for them. The book is so powerful and unique for this very reason: it does not follow the typical path and does run the risk of disappointing certain readers, yet it is ultimately true to the story. The only disappointment I suffered at the end of this series was the fact that it was over and I had nothing more to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    Perfect ending

    This book is a very good ending to the adventures of Taran and the companions. However, it's sad at parts, but that only adds to the adventure. Prepare yourself, anything can (and does) happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    Proof that there is reading for young adults beyond Harry Potter

    I read this series several years ago and loved it. A wonderful story, excellent characters (even though pronouncing their names can be tricky) and a satisfying ending. The Pydrain books are great for young people just getting into fantasy, and is readable for adults to, so you can connect with your kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    Amazing

    This book rocked! It was the perfact companion to the other books in the series. I dont know what your reading Keven because this book was simply remarkable. If you ever see it on the shelf buy it and buy the other books in the series. It is symply a masterpiece that will be treasured for ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    I *STILL* enjoy reading this... and I'm OLD. :)

    I first learned of Taran and his wonderful adventures in Prydain when I was in 3rd or 4th grade, about 22 years ago. Now, at the ripe 'old' age of 30, I continue to pick up the five volumes of the Prydain Chronicles at least once a year, to remind myself of what it means to grow, learn, and succeed, even when times seem darkest. I recommend this book... but read the other four first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2004

    GREAT

    The Best one out of all the prydain series, one of the best books i have ever read. Truly enspiring, and leaves you with a sense of peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    The best of the best!

    A extroadinary book. A perfect way to end the series. All the characters are back together for the best adventure where all secrets are told!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    A great book

    This book proves how deep Lloyd Alexander's wisdom really goes. His views on life are ones I reccomend everyone to live by. This book really keeps you reading, with all it's amazing battle scenes, return of old friends, and shocks and surprises that will leave you breathless. I've been totally obsorbed in the Prydain Chronicles, journeying with Taran and his companions, and the experience is unexplainable. I reccomend this book, as well as all the books in this series to everyone, young or old, for Lloyd Alexander is not a children's writer, but an inspirational ray of hope for people of all ages, proving that maybe there really is good in the world. Taran is truely a man, because what he does in the end of the story is something that takes greater courage than it does to do battle. Courage that can only come from an honorable Assitant Pig-Keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    Some of the Greatest Books I've Read

    I am going on 25 years old. As many books that I've read over the years, the Prydain Chronicles are the books that have stuck with me over the years. I've read and reread all of them and recommend reading the whole series. These are great for any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2002

    Great Book

    Even though it was my least favorite in the tales of Prydain, it still is the fifth greatest book I've ever read. I really loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2002

    wow!

    This book is great! you really have to read the other books in the prydain cronicles to grasp it completely though. this and the black cauldron are the best in the series. i now find it hard to get books that i like because none can really compare. To think at first the only reason iread it was because of the shiney cover. if you have any coments email me title itthe high king!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2002

    Really good book

    this book made you imagine everything. You kinda have to read the ones before it so you should start with the book of three. THe biginnings a little slow but give it a little time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3