Customer Reviews for

The High King's Tomb (Green Rider Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

An Enticing Tale

Okay, I can't say I don't agree with all those other disappointed reviewers/readers. The plot did seem like it kept dragging on, and I often found myself frustrated with the characters (particularly Alton), but we readers must endure the less favorable parts of the stor...
Okay, I can't say I don't agree with all those other disappointed reviewers/readers. The plot did seem like it kept dragging on, and I often found myself frustrated with the characters (particularly Alton), but we readers must endure the less favorable parts of the story to get to the good stuff. I, personally, really enjoyed it. Even if it isn't the most significant parts in the advancement of the series' storyline. There is still a lot of really important stuff going on here. It's mostly about sorting out details, giving clues, and advancing the characters and plot more than that type of action-packed 'let's kill the bad guy' part of the story that so many readers think you need to make make a good book. I did a little confused near the very end, with the whole High King's Tomb scene. It was hard to understand what was really going on, but I think I mostly got what was happening. Overall, I truly adored this book. It has something unique that I haven't seen in any other book (and I read a lot).

posted by Anonymous on February 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Curious and Bored

I like others enjoyed the first two books to the Green Rider series especially since they're written by a womans perspective of a female protagonist in an action/adventure type epic. I find reading things that I'm less familiar with to be more interesting. That bein...
I like others enjoyed the first two books to the Green Rider series especially since they're written by a womans perspective of a female protagonist in an action/adventure type epic. I find reading things that I'm less familiar with to be more interesting. That being said my curiosity was bored stiff and the freshness I felt from the first two books was rarely duplicated in the third. I admit I am extremely critical of books and movies' plot lines so take my opinion with a grain of salt. The High King's Tomb introduces the antagonist early on and I have to say the idea alone of this person made me roll my eyes. For some reason waving a wand and saying 'hocus pocus' I can envision as being possible in some alternate reality. Maybe I'm conditioned through growing up with Witches & Wizards being common place fantasy characters. The antagonist in this book however is so unapealling to me that I had a hard time reading any chapter with her in it. This read like a writing excersize. As I read the chapters their wasn't a fluidity to the book and I think for the most part the author wrote with herself and her enjoyment in mind more than what the audience would like to read about. I haven't even finished the book yet. I'm having a rough go at this one. George R.R. Martin transfers between characters with much more grace than Britain has achieved in this book. It's not an easy thing to do and he makes it look easier than it likely is. My last word is that 'The High King's Tomb' lacks the feeling of gravity, significance, or realism in the actions of the characters. A couple of the new characters I enjoyed immensely like Karrigan's trainee. Others not so much.

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Curious and Bored

    I like others enjoyed the first two books to the Green Rider series especially since they're written by a womans perspective of a female protagonist in an action/adventure type epic. I find reading things that I'm less familiar with to be more interesting. That being said my curiosity was bored stiff and the freshness I felt from the first two books was rarely duplicated in the third. I admit I am extremely critical of books and movies' plot lines so take my opinion with a grain of salt. The High King's Tomb introduces the antagonist early on and I have to say the idea alone of this person made me roll my eyes. For some reason waving a wand and saying 'hocus pocus' I can envision as being possible in some alternate reality. Maybe I'm conditioned through growing up with Witches & Wizards being common place fantasy characters. The antagonist in this book however is so unapealling to me that I had a hard time reading any chapter with her in it. This read like a writing excersize. As I read the chapters their wasn't a fluidity to the book and I think for the most part the author wrote with herself and her enjoyment in mind more than what the audience would like to read about. I haven't even finished the book yet. I'm having a rough go at this one. George R.R. Martin transfers between characters with much more grace than Britain has achieved in this book. It's not an easy thing to do and he makes it look easier than it likely is. My last word is that 'The High King's Tomb' lacks the feeling of gravity, significance, or realism in the actions of the characters. A couple of the new characters I enjoyed immensely like Karrigan's trainee. Others not so much.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2008

    An Enticing Tale

    Okay, I can't say I don't agree with all those other disappointed reviewers/readers. The plot did seem like it kept dragging on, and I often found myself frustrated with the characters (particularly Alton), but we readers must endure the less favorable parts of the story to get to the good stuff. I, personally, really enjoyed it. Even if it isn't the most significant parts in the advancement of the series' storyline. There is still a lot of really important stuff going on here. It's mostly about sorting out details, giving clues, and advancing the characters and plot more than that type of action-packed 'let's kill the bad guy' part of the story that so many readers think you need to make make a good book. I did a little confused near the very end, with the whole High King's Tomb scene. It was hard to understand what was really going on, but I think I mostly got what was happening. Overall, I truly adored this book. It has something unique that I haven't seen in any other book (and I read a lot).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Fantastic

    The plot did drag and there were parts that were kinda frustrating, but all in all... Great Book! I can't wait for the next book, and this is still an awesome series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Enjoyable, but a bit disappointing

    I'm a fan of the Green Rider series, and I've enjoyed reading all of the books. High King's Tomb is an enjoyable read, yet I was disappointed. In about 700 pages, the plot has not moved forward. The status quo is the same as the end of the second book. Mornhaven is still undfeated, Karigan hasn't even faced him. In the meantime, a new enemy has appeared. Karigan has not defeated her either, merely delayed her. Instead of focusing on Karigan, the book places too much emphasis on minor characters and side-plots. Though these are fun reads, I am afraid that the Green Rider series will become like the Wheel of Time series, over-long, drawn out, and filled with unnecessary information. Let's hope that the next book will provide some plot movement.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    Excellent!

    Excellent! It was worth waiting for. I can't wait for the fourth book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    Another great follow up in the series. As others have mentioned

    Another great follow up in the series. As others have mentioned there are parts that seemed to kind of drag on a bit, but as has also been mentioned this book was more about developing hte characters more as well as establishing clues, details, and some history into the Green Riders and the history of the world in which they live. I haven't read Book 4 yet but can't wait to delve into it to see what Karigan, the Green Riders and their friends face next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Good book...cliff hanger ending.

    Loving this series. Looking forward to the next book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Good story, love the series....

    I actually read Blackveil before this one! my SO lent me book four and i hadn't even realized that I has missed book three (book four has enough information you can pick up on it all right) - I still enjoyed this one though. The frequent chapter breaks can make it feel a bit disjointed especially when it jumps from one plotline to another - I liked the Karigan&Fergal thread best while the Alton@Dale one may have been the weakest but I'm really getting to like Medrigen&co. fabulously eccentric lot. There's even a wicked witch character - well one who does horrible dark gruesome spells with her knitting-yarn. The Second Empire believe the end justifies *any* means, and worship a deity that reminds me a bit of the Old Testament Yahweh (this comes out more in the next book) ..fanatics who will sacrifice most anyone to their cause are horribly dangerous.

    BTW horses lovers alert - is that horse on the (US) cover a Fresian? go look at any horse-breed book or website! They are all black, have feathery legs and long silky manes! whether that's a flattering use of it or not...well i want to avoid spoilers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Great Read

    I liked this better than the second book. It is easier to follow.The story is engaging with plenty of excitement. I could hardly put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    Borrow from the library or used book stor

    I enjoyed the first two books, but the third book feels like a filler book. At the end of the book, I was disappointed because the original series was suppose to be a trilogy and not a quartet. There was little action in the book and too much plot with minor characters. The action was sparse and picking up the third book after 3+ years from reading the second book is problematic because you forget major scenes from previous books. I loved the series but I was looking for a grand finale and only found a sizzle of a filler book for the series. The book was also too long and needed to be edited down to be more concise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Highly recommended

    I've owned all of her books from first publication. Great stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Amazing!

    This is my favorite book in the series. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Creative

    I like the Bunch family

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    Love the Green Rider Series

    The third book was very much like the first two. I could not put the book down. Waiting for Feb 2011 when the 4th book is out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awwesome! Even the most experience readers will love it.

    This is the 3rd book in Kristen Britain's "Green Rider" series, and I can't wait for the next one to come out. This series (and this book) grips you and pulls you in. I'm a bit of an obsessive reader, and it's gotten so that it's hard for any plotline to surprise me, to seem fresh and new and keep me from trying to guess what's ahead. It totally pulled me outside of myself. Instead of feeling like I was reading a book, I felt like I was actually there! Also another plus for these books--they're all around 600+ pages long. If you tend to finish books quickly and are always thirsting for more, these are the perfect length for you.

    The plot is well-written and the reader becomes deeply invested in the characters. Everything is well fleshed out, from the characters to the society and cultural nuances (e.g. their burial and religious traditions) to the physical setting. Love these books. I highly recommend you check out the first one, "Green Rider", if you haven't already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    Love the Series

    I am a Huge fan of these Books and Love the Main character and her twists and Loves and everything else she gets thrown into during the series. I am such a fan that I am Waiting for the Fourth Book to be published, and trying everything I can Legally to find out when it will be out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I want more!

    The third installment of the Green Rider series did not disappoint! Karigan was back in full force, complete with evil villains, dastardly plans, and charming companions. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great series.

    I came across this series by total chance. I was on an end to a few series i was reading and didn't know where to go. I took a chance and was not disappointed. I can't wait til the next in the series. I love the adventure and the surprising twists, even the parts I can guess at are enjoyable. I hope to get many question answered in the next book and have just as much fun reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good book in the series

    Extra characters have been added in this book, but it is still an enjoyable series to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great series

    She stared off hard and fast... and is just catching her stride. I can't wait until the next book. I thoroughly recommend this series to any fantasy lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10