Customer Reviews for

The High Lord (Black Magician Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    excellent!

    great books and Trudi Canavan is a great writer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Anonymus

    I wish.Sonea had chosen Dorrien instead od Akkarin...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    I was totally engrossed in this story and stayed up many nights

    I was totally engrossed in this story and stayed up many nights to read this trilogy, I even bought 2 more of your books in anticipation of the great reads they were so far.. then I came to the end. I thought you did such a disservice to this trilogy to end it this way that I have lost any desire I have had to read more of your books. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Solid Read

    I enjoyed all three of these books in the black magician trilogy. Each time I'd guess as to where the story would go - I'd be wrong. Canavan will keep you guessing. Cute stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    excellent

    The whole series was just great, waiting for more to coming along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    One of my faves

    These books just keep getting better and better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Excellent finish

    Excellent finish to a great trilogy. Canavan's "Black Magician" trilogy has been a nice change from the run of the mill Tolkienist fantasy. Her books have enough plot twists to avoid being predictable and the character driven story lines are appealing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    MUST HAVE

    If you have been reading this story you already know, the Highlord is the final book of the Black Magician Trilogy it is the epic and climatic battle of good vs evil ... rich vs. poor. You'll see Enemies become allies and much much more as this story winds into its epic and exciting conclusion. I strongly recommend that you read this trilogy and i'm giving it 5 Stars. Just a little bit of a hint to some of you...You'll even get to see the epic battle that has been brewing over the course of all three books in which Sonea finally gets the chance to confront her biggest opponent, which i think is the best part of the entire book. enjoy the read guys and gals

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It was... okay

    I read the entire series, and over all, I enjoyed it. It sure took my mind off things, but I can't say it's the best thing I ever read. The characters were all nicely done, and how each of them changed was interesting. However, I would have liked to see more depth in them. When it came to the romance, yeah, I felt a little giddy and happy, but when it came to the sad or emotional parts, I realized I really wasn't invested in any of the characters. It was interesting, but nothing made me pity any of the characters, or make me want to cry. If it was exceptional writing, trust me, I would have cried in some parts.

    As for the actual story, nothing is ever completely original, but I think this series held its own. If there's something very similar to this I have yet to read it. I did have a problem with the fact that the protagonist had a different love interest for every book. I wouldn't find it a problem if it had more to do with the actual plot. For the first two romances, they seemed a bit out of place after I finished reading the last book.

    The rest has a spoiler, so don't read on if you're really interested.

    The one thing that really bothered me about this book, however, was Akkarin's death. I wasn't sad, not even little overwhelmed. The only thing that I felt was frustration. It just seemed like a meaningless death. The author even draws attention to the fact that he didn't HAVE to die if they had just sucked the power from the arena. I don't have a preference over sad or happy endings so long as I feel it had a purpose. This one lacked it. I think it would have proven a better point if he had lived and had to deal with the consequences of everything afterward. Her pregnancy at the very end was also very out of place.

    Although it isn't great writing, though, if you like fantasy, you won't mind this book. I still had fun reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The High Lord is the most exciting read in the Black Magician trilogy

    This last book in the trilogy is definitely my favourite. As the concluding chapter of the series, The High Lord gives us the answers we have been waiting for before jumping straight to the action. From the time that Sonea first fights beside Akkarin until the end, the tension never quites let up. Even having read the story before, I simply did not want to stop.

    But I do agree with the Thieves on one point. The Guild's magicians are fools. Although there was sufficient evidence to proof some of what Akkarin had said, they chose banishment instead of imprisonment until they could verify the truth. By doing so, they not only sent their strongest ally into the hands of his enemies but left Kyralia wide open for attack. And until the end, neither the Guild nor the Kyralian King seemed to learn from their mistakes. When Akkarin's words prove true after the Ichani attack, neither the King nor the Higher Magicians were willing to call him back. Instead they chose to sacrifice more of their magicians in a futile attempt at delaying the Sachakan magicians while attempting to learn Black Magic themselves.

    More telling was how the Guild let their prejudice cloud their judgement. Sonea is living proof that magical talent is not the sole preserve of the nobility. Yet the Guild chose only to evacute the Houses to prevent those with latent magical ability being harvested of their power, not bothering to even warn the other citizens of the impending danger.

    Ironically, it is the city's vagrants and criminals who choose to stay and fight. These second-class citizens of Imardin are the ones risking their lives to help in the fight. Even rescuing those who had ignored or ill-used them. I really love these kind of tales where normally ordinary people behave heroically. I only hope that what they did was appreciated. After being saved by those they seek to Purge, can the magicians and King go back to believing in their own superiority ? It will be interesting to see if and how Imardin has changed in the Traitor Spy trilogy.

    The High Lord is a keeper. An enjoyable and exciting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    leaves you wanting to know what happens

    Most of the other reviewers agree that this series is good, and I agree. I do not agree that this was a bad way to end this book, as she has tied upsome loose strings. I am wondering if she left it this ways so she could continue on in this series later, it would make a lot of sence. I am definiatly going to reread these books again. It was a unexpectly good series and has left me wondering where are friends are going from here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    Amazing book but was very sad

    I loved this book and i dont think anything was left unsaid. All plots seemed tied up. You were left with ideas for possible next books (the sachakan king cryne the child, though i here there is a second set of books for that in 2008)I loved the connection between Akkarin and Sonea though it made me cry (truly cry) at the loss of Akkarin. I see why it ended that way as it would be hard to make the story fit with allowing them both back into the guild but it still was saddaning as they had only been togeather a short time and i felt it was written so well it made me feel for there love. I have read this book a few times as i feel it was the best of the set and had so much in it. Though i wish she had done somthing in regards to Akkarin wear the ring (just to show his love for her) or it would have been nice if Akkarin had known she was pregnant! Though i thought that was coming when it said she found that little extra power inside (hoped it was from a child) Though i know it would have been hard to finish it i would have loved to see Akkarin and Sonea togeather for longer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2007

    love the book but...

    as the previous reviewer stated, the ending was terrible! i wish i had never read the last few pages! Trudi wrote an amazing series (finished all three in one weekend! yeah, im that much of a loser! lol) and i truly thought that she would write a satisfying ending to sum it up but she didnt! i still gave it 4 stars because this was one of the the most intruiging 'sp?' trilogies i've read in a long time! worth reading until the last pages of this last book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    Such a poor finish

    The first two books in this series were compelling. Not the kind of life-changing 'Dear god, how did I live before I read this' type, but the 'This is interesting. I bet this is going to happen next' type. In fact, down to the last few chapters, this one was even better. And then those last twenty pages. I'm sorry, but I was furious with Canavan for resorting to such a bad-soap-opera plot twist. And it ruined the series for me. I would recommend these books--hesitantly. In fact, if you don't read the last twenty pages and invent your own ending, this could be a really great series. If you read hers, you'll end up snarling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2006

    There is a spoiler in my review....

    I loved this series! But the ending made me cry. I've read the other reviews and don't know what was left so unclear or untied at the end so I can't say that I agree with them but I think there is room for a continuation or a new series which I would definitely pick up. Even though I was very upset with the ending, it was still a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2006

    wow

    I read all three books in this trilogy and I couldn't put them done. AMAZING story and it counld not have been better written I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fantasy with some romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2006

    Amazing Trilogy

    I loved this book, I actually bought all three and the kings dragon because it was a buy three get one free deal and I basically couldnt put the Black magician trilogy down. I stayed up till three in the morning and read through out the day. Sad emding tough, messed up how the high lord died.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2005

    An amazing climax for an amazing trilogy!

    Trudi Canavan did a commendable job in writing this volume of trickery, intrigue, and romance. Sonea has developed into a strong and confident young woman and has grown into her abundant powers with a flair in the challenge. Non-stop excitment was mixed with Sonea's humorous little quips. This is definitly a book that I will enjoy reading over and over again. The ending was sad, but was laced with hope and a little happiness. Well done Trudi!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    A Good Read

    Kudos to Trudi Canavan. I enjoyed all the books in the Black Magician Trilogy. I couldn't put these books down. It has been a long time since a writer has made me peek at the end, because I have no idea whats going to happen. If you like unpredictable books than this is a good one. I was a little disappointed at the ending between Akarrin and Sonea, but then I realized it wouldn't have seemed as real if Canavan didnt write it that way. It would have probrably been a little awkward too. I am a person who hates when things don't turn out right, but in the end it was one trade off for another. I really recommend this book. It doesnt have the classic fairy tale ending, but its still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    good beginning and middle...

    I absolutely love this trilogy, and the whole plot up till the ending...the part in the middle made me ecstatically happy and it was incredibly well-written, but the end was a complete disappointment because too many things weren't connected, and a lot of the leading up Canovan did lead to nowhere. it didn't seem like something she could write more about as a continuation. so, great series, bad ending, but i still reccomend you read it because in the middle there is still much explaining and connecting. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6