Customer Reviews for

High Maintenance

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

LIGHT READ WITH GREAT HUMOR

For those of you who live in New York, you'll definitely appreciate this book; however, you don't have to be a New Yorker to enjoy it. Jennifer Belle takes a somewhat senstive issue of divorce and re-entering into the world of career and dating and makes it hysterical....
For those of you who live in New York, you'll definitely appreciate this book; however, you don't have to be a New Yorker to enjoy it. Jennifer Belle takes a somewhat senstive issue of divorce and re-entering into the world of career and dating and makes it hysterical. There are so many details in this book that we could all relate to even if you don't live in the big city - the thoughts that go through our minds - she has it down. I'm looking forward to reading her first book, Going Down.

posted by Anonymous on November 25, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

a waste of time

This book is very awfully written with a main character without a shred of self- respect. Like many reviewers have pointed out, the relationship between Liv and Andrew is totally unrealistic, which made it very hard to get into the story. Andrew was a thorou...
This book is very awfully written with a main character without a shred of self- respect. Like many reviewers have pointed out, the relationship between Liv and Andrew is totally unrealistic, which made it very hard to get into the story. Andrew was a thoroughly irritating character who has no redeeming feature, and having to read their equally irritating interactions made this book a horrendous read. Aviod this at all cost.

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    a waste of time

    This book is very awfully written with a main character without a shred of self- respect. Like many reviewers have pointed out, the relationship between Liv and Andrew is totally unrealistic, which made it very hard to get into the story. Andrew was a thoroughly irritating character who has no redeeming feature, and having to read their equally irritating interactions made this book a horrendous read. Aviod this at all cost.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    Laughing out Loud

    As someone who was separated from a cheating husband, I can relate to Liv. She behaved like a 'real' person with all her quirky ways. No one is perfect or always makes the right decisions. Her choices in life were emotionally driven. I laughed out loud many times because the thoughts that run through her head are amusing. Anyone who has gone through or is going through a divorce should read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2003

    Fantastic!!

    I'm still in shock at how I finally found a book that appeals to my sense of humor. I thought Liv was a perfect spoiled girl-woman. I laughed out loud throughout the book, and when I was finished, the smile on my face was glowing. Belle writes what I am constantly thinking in the back of my sometimes very strange mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    Fantastic

    Fantastic book. Read it once, put it aside and then reread. It will make your laugh all over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2003

    Fabulous Read

    This book was a great read and I could not put it down! If you live in Manhattan, you will really get a kick out of this. Great book for the independent woman!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    You've GOTTA read this!

    Initially 'High Maintenance' caught my eye because of the title; I thought, 'Hey! That's me!' haha Once I began reading, I couldn't put it down. I found myself laughing out loud, despite my whereabouts. Liv is a character that, while on the surface I didn't relate to, the basis of her soul, the needing to find herself and where she belongs, is something I think everyone can relate to. Her adventures as a newly single woman in the workforce had me laughing to tears, especially her randevouz with Dale, the um, she-he real estate agent. Her romantic escapade with the sex psycho, Andrew also had me on the edge of my seat. When I was unable to read this page turner of a novel, my thoughts were always reverting back to the words I was about to read, wondering always what was going to happen to her next. It's definitely a must read...pick it up today!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    LIGHT READ WITH GREAT HUMOR

    For those of you who live in New York, you'll definitely appreciate this book; however, you don't have to be a New Yorker to enjoy it. Jennifer Belle takes a somewhat senstive issue of divorce and re-entering into the world of career and dating and makes it hysterical. There are so many details in this book that we could all relate to even if you don't live in the big city - the thoughts that go through our minds - she has it down. I'm looking forward to reading her first book, Going Down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    A charm!

    This book was passed onto me by a friend which by the end of the book I had a line of friends waiting to read it. It was close to reality for many of situations that women in New York go through, as well as being laugh out loud funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    I Laughed my A** off!

    This book is so hysterical that I had found myself laughing out loud in public. It's a fun read and even though the characters are extreme I surprisingly can relate them to several people I know. Which made this book even more enjoyable. The main character, Liv, is sarcastic, humorous & has the attitude which will let no one stand in her way. Her experiences are fun and if you live in NY, as I do, you will find that you can have a connection to her many embellished encounters. I also loved the rhythm of the writing. In NY you can see & experience almost everything non-imaginable, 'High Maintenance' directs those elements with a witty technique. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    This book was kinda neat

    This book was kinda neat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    High Maintenance

    This is the first book I have read by this author. Believe me I won't buy anything else by her. I only read 81 pages and realized that this book wasn't going to get any better. What a waste of time! I liked the cover and that was it!!!! Don't bother with this one - the writer's ability to communicate and keep you interested is just not there. Too many good authors to waste time on one like this.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    So funny... great read

    My sister gave it to me read, but I never intended on reading it. I loved this book. Parts made me laugh out loud. Jennifer Belle has a great way of developing characters that appeal to the craziness inside all of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    One of the best I've read

    I am an avid reader of lots of different genres. This book is a real page-turner that will keep you laughing. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    It gets me by

    i only read when i'm bored, and i haven't finished it yet, but so far its a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    AWFUL!!

    I bought this book on a whim from a buy 2 get one 1 free section and I was glad I did not pay for it. I have read a lot of 'chick-lit' and this is by far the worst book I have ever read. I couldn't believe how appaling the main charater's personality is and I couldn't follow the story line. The book jumps from sub-plot to sub-plot without giving closure to anything. I finished it only because I thought that it would surely get better, but it NEVER did! This book was truly a disappointment from beginning to end and I would not recommend it to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    I laughed my A** off Too!

    This book is hysterical. Liv is so crazy and so quick witted and that's what makes it commical. The dialogue is hilarious. You can't take it seriously. It's just a fun read and I laughed outloud through the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2004

    Funny, easy read

    When you have just finished a lengthy, long classic...this is a great book to pick up. It is an easy and FUN read about a woman overcoming a divorce and finding the perfect apartment in New York. It will make you laugh and cringe all at once. I would recommend it as a great holiday read or by the pool book. Too Cute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    Fun read

    Great book although I had a hard time relating to Andrew & Liv's relationship. For her to have really liked someone like that I think she must have been a little crazy and/or suffer from low self esteem. The end was contrived but overall I liked the book alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    Yikes!! I would give 1/2 star if i could

    This has got to be the worst book i've ever attempted to read. I stopped after 100 pages. Pathetic, stupid and the main character is downright mean. This book was recommended to me, but rest assured, i would not recommend it to anyone.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    Worth the read

    The character was well developed and though many people say they wouldn't find themselves relating to her. I did. It's atleast worth the read. It had a great ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2