Customer Reviews for

High On Arrival: A Memoir

Average Rating 3.5
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Brave and inspiring!

I enjoyed watching Ms. Phillips on TV on One Day at a Time. We all knew she had issues with substance abuse but had no idea the depth of her pain and anquish. I totally believe that this book is true and I applaude Ms. Phillips for her honesty and going the extra mile t...
I enjoyed watching Ms. Phillips on TV on One Day at a Time. We all knew she had issues with substance abuse but had no idea the depth of her pain and anquish. I totally believe that this book is true and I applaude Ms. Phillips for her honesty and going the extra mile to tell everything in this book.
While it is true she could have sugar coated the facts and still made an interesting tell all - having the bravery to include intimate details with her father will go on to inspire others that have lived through insest or need to step away from insest.
Anyone battling substance abuse should read this to see just how far the depths of hell can take you and survive. I pray that Ms. Phillips is able to stay clean and overcome her personal demons.
Way to go Mackenzie! Way to go! I am a bigger fan now more than ever!

posted by 1Emerson on September 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

keep it to yourself!

I read this book and found it to be selfish and pathetic. I don't know what happened with her dad, and neither do you. The man is dead. Why did she bring this up now instead of years ago when he was alive to comment? I'll tell you why. Because she got busted YET AG...
I read this book and found it to be selfish and pathetic. I don't know what happened with her dad, and neither do you. The man is dead. Why did she bring this up now instead of years ago when he was alive to comment? I'll tell you why. Because she got busted YET AGAIN for heroin abuse, and this is her way of saying it's daddys fault. She ran out of excuses the last time she cleaned up and went on Oprah, and now she has to up the ante, because she relapsed big time, yet again.
I don't know what happened with her and her dad. Only they do. But it is shameful to take it public and destroy her sisters and step mom just to save her public image. The man is dead, so I guess we all have to believe her? She's not a 35 year junkie, but an abused daughter? That's what she wants us to believe. and to say she is doing it to help others is pathetic. She is doing it to let the world know that HER actions and HER decisions to use junk over the last 35 years where not HER fault. She was a victim of her own life. Cry me a river, get help, apologize to your family, sober up, and keep your family "secrets" to yourself. No one cares, except maybe Oprah nation....and that's a whole 'nother rant for another day!

posted by 1981186 on September 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    keep it to yourself!

    I read this book and found it to be selfish and pathetic. I don't know what happened with her dad, and neither do you. The man is dead. Why did she bring this up now instead of years ago when he was alive to comment? I'll tell you why. Because she got busted YET AGAIN for heroin abuse, and this is her way of saying it's daddys fault. She ran out of excuses the last time she cleaned up and went on Oprah, and now she has to up the ante, because she relapsed big time, yet again.
    I don't know what happened with her and her dad. Only they do. But it is shameful to take it public and destroy her sisters and step mom just to save her public image. The man is dead, so I guess we all have to believe her? She's not a 35 year junkie, but an abused daughter? That's what she wants us to believe. and to say she is doing it to help others is pathetic. She is doing it to let the world know that HER actions and HER decisions to use junk over the last 35 years where not HER fault. She was a victim of her own life. Cry me a river, get help, apologize to your family, sober up, and keep your family "secrets" to yourself. No one cares, except maybe Oprah nation....and that's a whole 'nother rant for another day!

    12 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    Not Impressed.

    Laura Mackenzie Phillips' life memoirs have potential to be a good story. It is an interesting story. It just wasn't told very well. Maybe if she had worked more closely with a co writer it would have read better. I understand she wants to share her story of incest to help others. She made the incest such a very minute part of the story. The story focuses on drug addiction. She doesn't even make the incest sound like it was all that bad. Something just doesn't fit about that part of the book especially. I read the book expecting a brilliant life story but It just wasn't enticing. I had to force myself to finish it.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Never thought much of this book at all. Back in the mid-eightie

    Never thought much of this book at all. Back in the mid-eighties, she
    and her Dad were on the talk show circuit promoting his "Papa
    John" drugalogue. He was high again,very shortly after the book
    was printed; so it didn't mean too much... Decades later, Daddy is dead
    and she's still trying to make money from her stories of the druggin'
    life in showbiz. Mackenzie's resume as a performer has really become
    pretty thin, due to her addiction. I've got to believe that anyone who
    buys this book is inevitably financing a drug habit that's she's allowed
    to become her only means of support.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Adruggies life

    Who wants to read about a drug addicts life she deserved to finally get fired by norman we all had problem but we didnt resort to drugs iwas also abused and theonly drugs i take are the legal kind blood pressure pills get alife mack&im sick of hearing about valerietoo shes not the only one who went on a diet and lost weight the only differenceis she got paid to diet idid it for free wack up world awaste of paper as there will always be druggies and fatasses read somethingsubstantiall

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Slow

    I found this book so boring. She is not a good writer and kind of goes on and on. Her stories tend to be all over the place and i guess that is because she has been messed up all her life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Typos...

    After reading the SAMPLE, decided to compare to the real book when i can. Too many typos and refering to hetself as HE alot! I reread the sentences to make sure she was not talking about her father....nope...HE is meaning her. p.s. too many samples have half the pages as credits/etc...not many pages left for story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Sorry I spent the $$$

    At first I thought it was leading me into a good read, but as I continued I found it to be overly egotistical. It was not the addiction to the drugs or alcohol amounts consumed that kept her going back, it was her additive personality. I feel that she continues to boast too much of how carefree her life was. Some highlights might be found in the name dropping of some well know people. The one plus that I am grateful for is that she managed to stay alive, if all is true within.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Amazing!

    I have always been amazed how some people can be given everything from fame, to fortune to good looks and they misuse it. How man books do we have to endure about yet another cele-brat-y, who's reward for years of drug or alcohol abuse, is to write a book to say how much they have changed. Please!

    If you want to read a book about overcoming tragedy and anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, I recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. I was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it. "When God Stopped Keeping Score" is available here on BN.com.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    Feeding her addiction

    I was waiting at the airport last week and someone had left this book behind. I don't blame them, having read some of it.

    Addicts never make the most credible of witnesses, and one has to be somewhat circumspect in reading this, I think.

    The drama in her life hasn't finished yet - it never has with attention seekers of her ilk.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Dragged on and on and on...

    This is the first time I have ever read a book about one of those child hood stars. I won't ever read one again. This is also the first time i have ever thrown a book away. This book is pure garbage. Dragged on and on. Did drugs - didn't do drugs - did drugs - didn't do drugs. She has nothing important to say. If you want to read it check it out at the library. Don't waste your money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2