Customer Reviews for

High On Arrival: A Memoir

Average Rating 3.5
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Brave and inspiring!

I enjoyed watching Ms. Phillips on TV on One Day at a Time. We all knew she had issues with substance abuse but had no idea the depth of her pain and anquish. I totally believe that this book is true and I applaude Ms. Phillips for her honesty and going the extra mile t...
I enjoyed watching Ms. Phillips on TV on One Day at a Time. We all knew she had issues with substance abuse but had no idea the depth of her pain and anquish. I totally believe that this book is true and I applaude Ms. Phillips for her honesty and going the extra mile to tell everything in this book.
While it is true she could have sugar coated the facts and still made an interesting tell all - having the bravery to include intimate details with her father will go on to inspire others that have lived through insest or need to step away from insest.
Anyone battling substance abuse should read this to see just how far the depths of hell can take you and survive. I pray that Ms. Phillips is able to stay clean and overcome her personal demons.
Way to go Mackenzie! Way to go! I am a bigger fan now more than ever!

posted by 1Emerson on September 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

keep it to yourself!

I read this book and found it to be selfish and pathetic. I don't know what happened with her dad, and neither do you. The man is dead. Why did she bring this up now instead of years ago when he was alive to comment? I'll tell you why. Because she got busted YET AG...
I read this book and found it to be selfish and pathetic. I don't know what happened with her dad, and neither do you. The man is dead. Why did she bring this up now instead of years ago when he was alive to comment? I'll tell you why. Because she got busted YET AGAIN for heroin abuse, and this is her way of saying it's daddys fault. She ran out of excuses the last time she cleaned up and went on Oprah, and now she has to up the ante, because she relapsed big time, yet again.
I don't know what happened with her and her dad. Only they do. But it is shameful to take it public and destroy her sisters and step mom just to save her public image. The man is dead, so I guess we all have to believe her? She's not a 35 year junkie, but an abused daughter? That's what she wants us to believe. and to say she is doing it to help others is pathetic. She is doing it to let the world know that HER actions and HER decisions to use junk over the last 35 years where not HER fault. She was a victim of her own life. Cry me a river, get help, apologize to your family, sober up, and keep your family "secrets" to yourself. No one cares, except maybe Oprah nation....and that's a whole 'nother rant for another day!

posted by 1981186 on September 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Brave

    Not long before her fiftieth birthday,Mackenzie Phillips walked into Los Angeles International Airport. She was on her way to a reunion for One Day at a Time, the hugely popular 70s sitcom on which she once starred as the lovable rebel Julie Cooper. Within minutes of entering the security checkpoint, Mackenzie was in handcuffs, arrested for possession of cocaine and heroin.
    Born into rock and roll royalty, flying in Learjets to the Virgin Islands at five, making pot brownies with her father's friends at eleven, Mackenzie grew up in an all-access kingdom of hippie freedom and heroin cool. It was a kingdom over which her father, the legendary John Phillips of The Mamas & the Papas, presided, often in absentia, as a spellbinding, visionary phantom.
    When Mackenzie was a teenager, Hollywood and the world took notice of the charming, talented, precocious child actor after her star-making turn in American Graffiti. As a young woman she joinedthe nonstop party in the hedonistic pleasure dome her father created for himself and his fellow revelers, and a rapt TV audience watched as Julie Cooper wasted away before their eyes. By the time Mackenzie discovered how deep and dark her father's trip was going, it was too late. And as an adult, she has paid dearly for a lifetime of excess, working tirelessly to reconcile a wonderful, terrible past in which she succumbed to the power of addiction and the pull of her magnetic father.
    As her astounding, outrageous, and often tender life story unfolds, the actor-musician-mother shares her lifelong battle with personal demons and near-fatal addictions. She overcomes seemingly impossible obstacles again and again and journeys towardredemption and peace. By exposing the shadows and secrets of the past to the light of day, the star who turned up High on Arrival has finally come back down to earth -- to stay.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    Insightful about true addiction.

    I thought Ms. Phillip's descriptions were very colorful. I saw a different view of addiction from the inside.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "High on Arrival" Voice of Courage

    Review of "High On Arrival" A Memoir by Mackenzie Phillips

    Imagine a child knocking on her parent's door to get her father's attention. He says, "Not now, darling, Daddy's shooting up." What does that tell the child about the pervasive self-absorption of drug addicts? Of course, the message to the child is that the drugs are more valuable than any child's desire for love, affection, and attention.

    Sexual assault, addiction, and suicide are unsolved social problems that carry stigmas. The stigmas cast a code of silence that do not solve problems. Mackenzie has shattered the silence in the most public of venues. She has endured the risk of rejection by her peers, the backlash of a celebrity community that protects its so-called legendary "heroes" like John Phillips, and the untoward questions of ignorant interviewers who ask her about father-daughter incest: "Did you enjoy it?" Furthermore, she has been publicly discredited by her own step-mother, Michelle, who was in a relationship with John Phillips since she was sixteen. Where were her morals? He was an (older) married man with two children. Where were his values? The burden is on the victim (Mackenzie) to relive, recover from, and revitalize a life that was traumatized in a hedonistic family lacking respect and responsibility.

    If we read between the lines of a story about a rich and famous family, we will see Mackenzie's insight: ". if real stories of love and incest and survival are kept behind the closed doors of therapists' offices and judges' chambers, then current and future victims are destined to do what I did: to weather it alone, to blame themselves, to hide behind drugs." Incest does not just "happen" like a random fender-bender on the freeway. It is a calculated event of power and control and abuse of trust. These real stories are all too rampant in "ordinary" families that do not have the resources for rehabilitation.

    Mackenzie Phillips wrote a memoir that is candid and cathartic. She makes public a story that is held private, and for that she is courageous. She received the Darkness to Light "Voice of Courage" award at the Circle of Light gala.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    It was a good book

    It was a good book. I do hope that she has finally stopped using and can be clean now.
    If you don't care for the "F" word---you might not want to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    Mackenzie Phillips writes a cautionary tale as to the effect of

    Mackenzie Phillips writes a cautionary tale as to the effect of fame and fortune (and an absentee father, and lots of drugs, and …) that some of today’s young stars would do well to read (or, in the case of the audio book version I had, listen to – narrated by the author, who actually lived it).

    Hang out with Daddy’s rock friends, where parties and drugs were plentiful and easy to come by. Get a small part in what turned out to be a major film. Get a couple of more films, and a successful TV series. Lose yourself in drugs. Hang out with the “wrong” guys … lose your job due to drug use, get busted … need I continue? Or should I toss in the “go out on tour with Dad’s rock band” and “sleep with the most really wrong guy you could” portions?

    I’m not telling anything in the above summary that couldn’t be obtained from a few back-issues of People magazine, and in much greater detail. That, in a nutshell, was my biggest disappointment – I’d already read virtually everything mentioned in the book by the time I actually got my copy. Well, that, and Miss Phillips is so intent on not glamorizing her life choices that I often found it hard to root for her, despite my wanting to. How can you write your memoirs and NOT be the most sympathetic character in them?? (OK, her son fills that role; there is a poetic justice in that choice.)

    RATING: 3 ½ stars, rounded up to 4 stars. (Giving bonus points for the decision to have the author read her own works on the audio – who better to tell the story?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Torn

    Good story. Horrible life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Interesting

    Even if you were kind of a fan, you' ll find this book a little addictive...pun intended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    candid

    Amazing what people go through and how candid they are. A very enjoyable read, I cant believe that Mackenzie held anything back. Good for you Mackenzie!! JM26

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    I hope John Phillips is in the hottest part of hell

    Good book - heartbreaking story - I am sorry MP was sinned much against

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Totally honest and inspiring!

    Mackenzie is a true overcomer of nearly insurrmountable odds.She writes so honestly .... her spiritual healing is evident in her ability to forgive others as well as herself. It gives hope to other victims of abuse in the power of truly letting go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Great easy read

    I am in my late twenties and only know Mackenzie from the short lived TV show 'So Weird'. I watched her on Celebrity Rehab and liked that she seemed like a genuinely nice person. This book is really good and entertaining. I read it in about two days...couldn't put it down. Mackenzie is a brave woman to share a very intimate tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    definatley worth it

    i have a new found respect for this author,actress,mother,and recovering addict. she tells her story with a sort of blunt and real honesty that is respectable and humerous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    I liked this book a lot

    I really liked this book. I had no idea Mackenzie was anywhere near as screwed up as she was, or anywhere near as under her father's influence. It takes enormous strength of character to emerge even close to OK after having lived the kind of childhood she lived. I strongly recommend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    Very Interesting

    This book was very interesting. Although you wonder if she really remembers all this being as high as she always was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    Interesting read

    very shocking information and enlighting into another world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3