Customer Reviews for

High Profile (Jesse Stone Series #6)

Average Rating 3.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved Jesse characterization - typical fallible man

Loved to follow deductable reasoning & investigational stratagy.

posted by 3261037 on March 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as the other Jessie Stone novels.

Two changes Parker made adversely affected the book. One change was bringing Sunny Randall into the story, a character from another set of Parker books. She and Jesse spend way too much time whining about their relationship issues. Alone, it's bearable, together unbeara...
Two changes Parker made adversely affected the book. One change was bringing Sunny Randall into the story, a character from another set of Parker books. She and Jesse spend way too much time whining about their relationship issues. Alone, it's bearable, together unbearable. As a result, there is not enough of that Jesse Stone dry wit that made the other books so much fun. The other change was a lack of actual investigation of the crime, sadly because of all the time spent whining.

In short, an OK read when plans go awry, but don't set aside a special time just for this book.

posted by BookButler on May 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Loved Jesse characterization - typical fallible man

    Loved to follow deductable reasoning & investigational stratagy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Written in the typical Jesse Stone series style. The attitude of the characters is unusual and is unique to any other books I've ever read. Robert Parker truly knows how to capture your attention with this small town police force. I am a true Jesse Stone fan, in books and movies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as the other Jessie Stone novels.

    Two changes Parker made adversely affected the book. One change was bringing Sunny Randall into the story, a character from another set of Parker books. She and Jesse spend way too much time whining about their relationship issues. Alone, it's bearable, together unbearable. As a result, there is not enough of that Jesse Stone dry wit that made the other books so much fun. The other change was a lack of actual investigation of the crime, sadly because of all the time spent whining.

    In short, an OK read when plans go awry, but don't set aside a special time just for this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Good

    But I'd like to jave seen better plot development and scene development, which makes he films come to life. Otherwise a nice read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Goldenpaw

    So what are u planning to do with me?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Rhfndjmm

    Nfjjfnfng

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    Robert Parker had a gift for character development.

    I have enjoyed all the Jesse Stone mysteries and this one is no exception. For fans of the TV series you won't be disappointed. The books are even better than the shows though Tom Selleck plays a great Jesse Stone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Must read for Robert Parker fans!

    Droll humor and good suspense . Lots of entertainment here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Include the following:

    Name, where you rp(name and place: ex. Sunclan at 'precaution' res 1), what each of your rps look like, what time you are generakky on( you can even do it by days: as in, Thursday from 3-10 pm or whatever), gender, age, , status(single, married....), and basically anything else you would include on a bio.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended- you must check it out!!!

    If you love detective stories you are going to love these series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Halotuft

    Moves in his sleep. "Mmmmmmmfffff... no... don't take them... I would fight... you'll never escape... Hunter... you thieving brute... I'll follow you... to... My Home... result one... leave the kit alone... OW! OH! OW! s-s-s-stop... no... kit... you have to fight... OW!... oh... not the kit... leave him alone, Hunter... oh... oh th-th-the blood... all the kit's blood... and mine... no... it's over... tell Lunarkit I love her... mmmfffff..."

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Poppystar

    Stands up. "Hunter!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Have been reading Robert Parker novels for years...recently have been
    concentrating more on Clive Cussler...but hsi novels are always fun to read and I look forward to replacing more of my paper bound volumns with his E-books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Huge disappointment!

    I have read other books by Mr. Parker and and thought the story sounded interesting, but I really had to force myself to finish it. What really annoyed me most about this book was the dialogue between the characters (which is mainly what this story is made up of, not a lot of setting up scenes or descriptions in this one). The dialogue seemed so forced and unnatural. It was as if Mr. Parker was challenging himself to see how many "witty" remarks and sexual innuendos he could fit in the book. Very annoying. This story was also so predictable! I had it figured out very early on. Unfortunately, this book may have turned me off from ever reading anymore of his books. Don't waste your time with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Good read.

    I've watched a number of Jesse Stone movies and loved them. I had never read one until a friend loaned me this one. If I had seen it in a movie I would not have read the book. I want the book first and then the movie. I did enjoy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Typical RP style

    Entertaining and quick to read. Spenser does it again in his typical style!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another good Parker read

    Just recently started reading the J. Stone series and enjoy this as much as the others. R. Parker writes so concise, yet filled with details (some other BestSeller authors should take note!) it is tough to put down. I found the twists in this book intriguing and feel he did an excellent job unwinding a good tale. Definitely a great Rainy Day read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Jesse Stone is always entertaining

    Can you picture anyone but Tom Selleck as Jesse Stone? I can't and so I love reading all of the Jesse Stone series. Quick witted but never giving away his thoughts, Jesse always gets the job done. Can't get enough of Jesse. Thanks, Robert B. Parker!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    A Good Read

    As in all his Jessie Stone books, Parker spends a little too much time on the personal conflicts that Stone is enduring, but a very good book- easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is it for me. I've read them all so far and they keep getting worse. Silly dialog, almost laughable interaction. It really is time to do something else Mr.Parker. It's been a great ride. I would give a half star if possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4