BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

High Rhulain

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    I need a headline? Lol

    I think that this book is great along with the rest of the series but I think they should add more choices on the NOOK like Lord Brocktree, and all of those!!! Because I mean seriously some people like those books!!! Like me! And I bet ALOT of other people do too!!!! Haha! Thanks for reading this! Hipe you put up more choices for me!!! Thank you BYEEE!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    High Rhulain is a novel of Redwall Abbey by Brain Jacques, and features a cast of anthropomorphized animals in various heroic or villainous roles. The Redwall Abbey stories are popular with children and young adults. The basic story is a 'Quest' to have the hereditary descendant of the otter queen High Rhulain return to Green Isle and liberate the otters who face oppression and slavery at the hands, or rather the paws, of the cruel Riggu Felis and his band of wildcats. The heroine is Tiria Wildlough, otter daughter of Skipper Banjon, Master-at-Arms of Redwall Abbey. Through deciphering the riddles of an ancient tome, and the tale of a rescued osprey, Tiria comes to the realization of the plight of the otters of Green Isle and an awareness of her destiny to return as their new High Queen Rhulain. She enlists the aid of the osprey, a migratory barnacle goose, two dozen hares of the Long Patrol from Salamandastron, and the colorful fighting rabbit and adventurer, Captain Cuthbert Frunk W. Bloodpaw, master of the Petunia, whose persona changes to match his costumes, (or vice-versa). Several other characters contend with each other before the final struggle to free the otters of Green Isle from the scourge of wildcats from the outlaw otter Leatho Shellhound, admired by the enslaved otters and feared by the wildcats for his exploits, to the two sons of Riggu Felis who contend with each other for their disdainful father's scant approval. There is also a pathetic band of water rats that infest the woodlands near Redwall Abbey and make a nuisance of themselves until they and their leader, Groffgut, are finally dealt with. The quest ends following some sacrifices, but with peace and prosperity restored to Green Isle, as well as a new leader, the High Rhulain.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    What a cool book!

    High Rhulain is a breathtaking story about an ottermaid who wants to become a warrior. The ottermaid's name is Tiriah and she is sent to save her fellow otterfriends by Martin the Warrior and the High Queen Rhulain.<BR/>She goes to an island called green isle and when she arrives Tirah will take her rightful place as the new High Queen. The book is reccomended for readers who like extreme adventure!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    The Queen Returns

    This book is full of excitement, action, and adventure. From Redwall Abbey to Salamandastron and the Green Isle. This book has it all. Brian Jacques has once again captured the hearts of many children, teenagers, and adults. When I picked this book up, I read for 3 days strait over Christmas vacation. I just couldn't put it down. Between Tiria Wildlough and Leatho Shellhound, the characters just lept me interested. I just couldn't get over the life and death struggle between the allied otterclans and hares, and the cats. This is a book everyone in the world should read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Wot!! wot!!

    Redwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaall! Chaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarge!! Euiliaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! Give em blood an vinigerrrrrrr!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Absaballyloutley tophole wot!

    I jut read this book and i love it! I would reccomrnd it to any otter and hare lover such as meself. Like i said, tophole wot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    A Glorious Read for Anyone

    This book has everything in it that you could hope for in an exciting read. I am an avid fan of Jacques, but I'm not just writing this review because I liked his other books. This one is definitely one of the best books I have read in awhile, and I read quite a few books. It's characters are the type of imaginary friends you picture yourself with at night when you can't sleep. I will read this book over and over again to taste joy that comes from reading a good book, because I can't get enough!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    The Bookwoom of all times!!!!!!

    the best of the best of the best of his books!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2005

    Get This Book

    I am awed in the greatness of Mr Jacque's last novel. It is a marvel even though I have read his other 17 Redwall books numerous times over I know this one is the greatest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Just so you know...

    Attention! "Give them blood and vinegar!!" Is NOT a battle cry. It is just a battle cry accompiament. What i mean is you say it after your battle cry. Got it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    So awsome

    This book is sooooo adventurous and suspensful. When i was reading it i wished i that could jup into the book and be one of the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Never read it

    RRREEEEDDDWWWAAAALLLLLLL!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Love all the redwall books

    O

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    To "one of two redwall books with a female protagonist"

    Actually, that's not true. There's more than two books of Redwall with a female good guy: Mariel of Redwall, Pearls of Lutra, Triss, Loamhedge, and quite a few others. As for this one, I think its pretty good, but its too short!!!
    REDWAAALLLL!!!!
    EULALIAAAAA!!!!!!
    HOLT LUTRAAAA!!!!!!
    MOSSFLOWERRR!!!!!
    GIVE 'EM BLOOD AN' VINEGAR!!!!!
    LOGALOGALOGALOGALOOOOOG!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    To below and REEEEEDWAAAAAAAAAALLLLLL!!!!!!!!

    Yeah, there are so many books with girl main characters I can't call them off the top of my head. But I will try. Mariel Gullwacker, Arula, Triss, Cornflower, Tess Churchmouse, Laterose of Noonvale, Springald, Martha, Fenna, Maudie, Tiria, and I don't remember all of the books so I can't add any more. I know most of those are secondary characters, but they're the main girls. REEEEEDWAAAAAAALL!! EEEEUUULAAAAAAALIIIIIIIAAAA! LOGALOGALOOOG! FUUUR AND FREEEEDOM! BLOOD AND VINEGAAAAR! SOUTHSWAAAAARD! HOLT LUTRAAAA!! REEEEEEEDWAAAAAALLLLLLL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    It's okay


    It's okay I guess

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    I <3 high rhulain


    Cool book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Great book with a small problem

    It was a great book but there is a problem with it the last couple chapters and the epilogue are not here but other than that it was AMAZING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    great book

    its a great book. but it doesnt have all the pages. it stops near the end and its getting me annoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    High Rhulain Book Review

    High Rhulain is an exquisite novel of epic proportions. With a good combination of mystery, action, and adventure (and slight humor) this book illustrates the never-ending battle of good against evil, and how good will always triumph in the end.
    This book is, of course, from the view of the protagonist. But an interesting aspect of this book is that it also shows the view of the antagonist, something unique, and rarely seen in other novels.
    This book appears to be directed more to a teenage audience (about from age 12 and up) due to the war violence. Dispite involving war violence this book is not gory, another good feature.
    The author, Brian Jacques, is a master of writing and can paint a vivid picture in one's head with his very discriptive writing style.
    I conclude saying that I highly recommend this book along with the entire series. This book is the eighteenth book in the series, however this series is written so that a reader can begin at any point in the series. I hope you enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3