Customer Reviews for

High Stakes (Book One, Nashville Nights, Next Generation)

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Great series!

    Loved the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a short read but fun. Alisa is a much more complex ch

    This was a short read but fun. Alisa is a much more complex character that she seems based on appearances. She is finally working to get her life on track and do something she wants to go with her future. As a former model, turned party girl many people do not expect too much. Luckily her father supports her dreams and is willing to help her get started as long as she cuts back on escapades that like to land her in the tabloids.

    On a flight to Las Vegas to finalize a couple more items that will be perfect for her store she meets Liam Bryson. Liam is another very interesting character. He is a major success in his field and he built himself up to this level against many odds. He is however, still basically alone.

    Watching the sparks fly between Alisa and Liam, before they really even know who the other was, just strangers on a plane, was lots of fun. They fight, disagree and eventually end up liking each other in just about the course of one day. The question is, can this become a relationship or is it just a one night affair to forget about when real life comes calling.

    Once I started I did not want to put this one down. The characters were great. The story kept moving and didnt lag. And I cared about Alisa and Liam, and wanted to see what happened to them. Even the supporting cast of characters was great and perfectly placed to be a part of the story but not detract from the main storyline. I am looking forward to checking out more in this series and the one that came before it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    High stakes

    516 pages.......very good book .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Can't wait to read more from Cheryl

    This was the first book by Cheryl Douglas that I have read and I can say it will definitely NOT be the last. I was pleasantly surprised by the book. I mean FINALLY a book where the hero is the first one willing to take a chance and put his heart on the line.

    Alisa Turner, the daughter of country legend Trey Turner, is a twenty-five-year old who is still trying to get over a broken heart. Her broken heart happened a year ago when she caught her fiance’ with another woman, but still it's been hard for her to get over. In order to get over Nick "The Weasel" Sinclair, Alisa has been doing anything and everything to make Nick think she's over him. Namely, doing things she probably really shouldn't be doing and getting in gossip mags. Now enough is enough and Trey makes a deal with Alisa. Trey will finance Alisa's business venture, provided she cleans up her act and stays out of the gossip mags. Easy enough. With her nose to the grindstone, Alisa put all of her energy into preparing her fashion boutique to open. She even managed to stay out of the spotlight until her final buying trip to Las Vegas where she meets Liam Bryson.

    Liam Bryson is a forty-four-year old single father who isn't into relationships; at least not serious relationships. Liam is the owner and CEO of Bryson’s, an exclusive boutique hotel chain. He's accustomed to women being attracted to him for his money and power. When he meets Alisa, he makes it a point not to tell her who he really is. For Liam, Alisa was someone he wants to spend time with and really get to know.

    The two agree to have dinner together with the possibility of something more. For all of her wild ways, Alisa isn't the type of girl who goes around having one night stands. Dinner leads to drinking which leads to Liam and Alisa getting married. The next morning, Alisa awakes to the realization that she just made the biggest mistake of her life. She wants an annulment, but Liam refuses. He wants her to give them a chance because he knows that what they share could be the real thing. Of course, the crap hits the fan before either one of them realizes it and the whole world knows about their wedding. Surprisingly, the biggest supporter of their marriage turns out to be the one person Alisa least expects.

    High Stakes isn't without its drama. “The Weasle” makes it known that Alisa stills wants him and is just playing hard to get. Of course, with his history, it doesn’t matter that she’s already promised herself to another man. If anyone deserved to be knocked on their butt with one punch, it’s Nick. High Stakes is a story of two people who have never known true love before and are trying to figure it out while being thousands of miles apart, never seeing each other and living very busy work lives.

    It takes a tragedy to make these two realize that the love they share is a once in a lifetime phenomenon. If they are each willing to take a leap of faith and make some changes, they both just might have won the best hand ever dealt to them.

    Source: Blog Tour Host
    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    After reading the Nashville Nights series, there was no way I co

    After reading the Nashville Nights series, there was no way I couldn't move onto Next Generation. I am still blown away at how all the characters are continually intertwined with each other, but each story line has their own life. Cheryl Douglas is an amazing author and I love her writing style. Her books are all 400+ pages and have closure for the main characters, but you see them as you transition to the next story line. I HIGHLY recommend reading both series and cannot wait for the new ones she is working on. Definitely one of my favorite authors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Weak Heroine, Admirable Hero Leads to an Emotional Roller Coaster Ride to HEA

    I've enjoyed Cheryl Douglas' previous series, Nashville Nights, and am excited by her new foray that tells of the next generation of the characters from that well established series. Seeing the offspring of those beloved characters on their own emotional journeys added an extra layer of anticipation to reading this book.

    It's said that what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas but for Alisa Turner, daughter of a rich and famous country crooner, her impulsive act upon arriving in Vegas changes her life dramatically. She's been on a downward spiral after finding out her fiancée was cheating on her and is given the opportunity to do something meaningful by starting her own business. Wanting to make her daddy proud she's done with living impulsively and after the betrayal by her ex she's keeping her heart locked away. But the tempting older man she meets on a plane has her forgetting all her plans. Her regrets of their impulsive act war with her deepening feelings in regards to Liam as she tries to figure out a way to have a HEA when so much is against them. Alisa acts very immaturely throughout most of the book. She jumps to conclusions, uses alcohol as an excuse, and lets her ex continually be in the picture. It's not until virtually the end that she shows a mature side in standing by the man she really loves.

    Liam is the kind of man you dream about....sexy, charming, giving the woman he loves her every desire, loving towards his daughter, and rich. He wants to be loved for himself and not his money and his instant attraction to Alisa has him believing that she's the perfect one for him. He never regrets their impulsive act and I felt bad that he was more certain of their love than she. This emotional tug of war was difficult to read and made me dislike Alisa immensely. Liam is confident in business but feels less certain with Alisa's ex constantly in the picture and this again had me frustrated by her actions. Liam's very dedicated to his work and the juggling of a new relationship that he fought for constantly led to a life altering event that changes the course of the story and finally allows for a HEA.

    It's a hard won HEA that's acheived only through some very intensely emotional highs and lows. I liked that Liam believed in love at first sight and it's sad that Alisa became so jaded. Her evolution to becoming a stronger more mature woman is one I applauded as it made her worthy of Liam and his intense love for her. High Stakes is well-written with a wonderful hero but a weak heroine and incredibly annoying ex who refused to go away. The emotional tug of war between Liam and Alisa went on a bit too long and got a bit too over the top at times but I still found myself fully invested in their relationship and look forward to the next book in this series.

    3.5 STARS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Just when you thought author Cheryl Douglas couldn't top her ama

    Just when you thought author Cheryl Douglas couldn't top her amazing Nashville Nights series, she introduces the younger characters' stories in the Nashville Nights Next Generation series!




    In High Stakes, the first book of the Nashville Nights Next Generation series, the reader follows twenty-five year old Alisa Turner's romantic adventure in Sin City. Written in the third person narrative, the author weaves an emotional and dramatic tale of love at first sight.




    When Alisa Turner meets forty-five year old wealthy hotel mogul Liam Bryson on a flight to Las Vegas, they make a connection and sparks fly between the two of them. After a heady night of high-stakes gambling, one thing leads to another, and Alisa wakes up in Liam's bed with a five carat diamond ring on her finger! Filled with next day regrets, knowing they are total opposites and live on opposite sides of the country, Alisa wants an annulment, but Liam wants to keep his new bride!




    The reader follows along with Alisa and Liam as they learn about each other, while mixing in some drama from an ex-fiance who wants Alisa back, and not to mention family drama when both their families find out about their marriage on the news, and you have one heck of an entertaining romance story!




    I loved the drama and emotions that play out as Alisa and Liam discover each other, while working on the logistics of their lives, and try to figure out if their separate worlds could mesh together. I really enjoyed how the author has created a new series featuring the younger generation, while weaving in the favorite characters from the first series, it felt like coming home and visiting with old friends!




    With an engaging cast of characters that come alive and leap off the pages, the mixture of new characters with returning characters from the Nashville Nights series draws the reader back into the continuation of the original series with an exciting new series featuring the younger generation. The richly descriptive settings of Nashville, Las Vegas and San Francisco transports the readers to these exciting locales as Alisa and Liam's story unfolds. And with a juicy storyline that has become a standard from author Cheryl Douglas, High Stakes is the first book of a new series that continues the level of romance and drama that fans of this author will thoroughly enjoy!




    High Stakes is the first book in the Nashville Nights Next Generation series, which is in a sense a continuation of the popular Nashville Nights series. In order to fully appreciate the romance and drama in each book, I would highly recommend that you read both series in sequential order, you won't be disappointed ... and you'll thank me later for taking this advice! *wink wink*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Loved it...

    Liam and Alisa both strong characters. Story continues! Yet another Cheryl Douglass winner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Sylvia10

    Loved all the books, but im missing some books that i cant find....Fast Track, Time Out, Face Value, and Blown Away...have they come out yet? I would really like to know, dont want to miss anything. Could someone let me know please. Other then that the books were awsome, i would recomend people to read them...way to go Cheryl Douglas. :0)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Wonderful book

    Can not wait for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    love all her books!!!! awesome writer

    love all her books!!!! awesome writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    I really enjoyed it...easy to read and i loved how the story co

    I really enjoyed it...easy to read and i loved how the story continued to flow without constant repetition...As some series authors does in their books....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1