BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

High Stakes Politics

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable

I enjoy this. It is fun to learn things I wasn't aware of before and things I had forgotten. If you want to learn about politics, betting chips in the process, then this game is for you.

posted by 3151150 on June 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Not for kids and others susseptible to suggestion

Game was quite easy actually, The comments are definitely left /liberal biased, which as a conservative I found annoying. For example, comments blame Congress inability to raise taxes as the reason for budget deficit... does not mention that Dems won't pass a budget,...
Game was quite easy actually, The comments are definitely left /liberal biased, which as a conservative I found annoying. For example, comments blame Congress inability to raise taxes as the reason for budget deficit... does not mention that Dems won't pass a budget, or address out of control spending. Game appears to try to brainwash kids who may be playing this into left-wing liberal thinking. For this reason, and lack of balance I gave it a one star. If you're an adult sitting in an airport trying to blow some time... the game is "ok" if... again...you're not bothered by the political bias.

posted by Anonymous on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Not for kids and others susseptible to suggestion

    Game was quite easy actually, The comments are definitely left /liberal biased, which as a conservative I found annoying. For example, comments blame Congress inability to raise taxes as the reason for budget deficit... does not mention that Dems won't pass a budget, or address out of control spending. Game appears to try to brainwash kids who may be playing this into left-wing liberal thinking. For this reason, and lack of balance I gave it a one star. If you're an adult sitting in an airport trying to blow some time... the game is "ok" if... again...you're not bothered by the political bias.

    47 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Enjoyable, but should be tweaked

    I enjoyed playing this fun and informative game, which I may share with my Economics and Social Sciences students. After playing about 3/4 of the questions, though, I had to exit the game, and upon reopening the app, it started anew. There was no way to save my name or progress (except, maybe, by signing into Facebook, which I chose not to do). Allowing users to save their progress - without linking to Facebook - and providing instructions and a help feature would be useful.

    26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Okay

    Not a bad game, but they need to clean it up. There are a lot of spelling errors. There are also a lot of "gotcha" trick questions. Not only that, there were numerous wrong answers, including some that were contradicted in the explanation. For some reason, they insist there are 11 Supreme Court justices and that the Constitution (not the Bill of Rights) is the source of separation of church and state. Needs some work.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Anonymous

    Like the concept but it starts over if you have to close and come back . If can fix this would rate much higher.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I enjoy this. It is fun to learn things I wasn't aware of before and things I had forgotten. If you want to learn about politics, betting chips in the process, then this game is for you.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Not worth the time spent downloading

    Questiond are to simplistic with a very annoying gotch ya format, dosn't give you the right answers to pick from.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Great for social studies nerds

    As a social studies teacher, I found this game entertaining even though it has a liberal bias. Just answer any question that your not sure about with democrat and you will get it right almost anytime. Overall, great game!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Lots of fun. Made me realize how much i thought i knew and was wrong.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Progress is not Saved!

    Even though the app details says that progress is now saved, I just got this app and played it for some time, but my progress was NOT saved. Why hasn't this problem gotten fixed? Add a save button! I enjoyed the game, but no one will want to go beyond the free questions until this problem is fixed. This is just lame!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Fun trivia app!

    Enjoyed the questions - made me think! Felt the constant update of status after each question slowed down the game and momentum. Appreciated the correct response and explanation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Fun Politics ?

    Love or hate politics?
    Want or need to increase your knowledge on politics? However, dreading the boring classroom effect.
    This is a interesting game that will increase your knowledge and test your knowledge with a wager. A great way to learn what most dread learning.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Love It

    Funny, works well, and I'm learning. Long live my nerd cred

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Not bad

    Fun and hard at the same time with a couple quick jokes in it to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Very cool!

    Very cool. Great game, entertaing and informative AND FREE! Thanks!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Free Game Fun

    Satisfying fun. If you are reasonably well informed you won't be completely frustrated by this trivia game. You might also learn new and interesting things to talk about with teachers, friends or coworkers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Quickly shows who the posers are.

    This game is fun to ask any Obama supporter and watch them get every question wrong.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Like A Fun Political Science Class

    It would be nice if a detailed explanation is included for the rating and percentage shown at the top (i.e, what does it really mean, how is it calculated, what does it mean overall to be on the leaderboard). Other than accidentally pushing the wrong button once in awhile (perhaps a little more separation between answers), I have found this game worthwhile to play.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    This was fun.

    Just wish it saved game better and more questions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Fun game with humor

    Interesting and entertaining simultaneously. Informative while maintaining a light air with some tongue in cheek humor. Worth a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Informative and fun

    Covers past and present politics. I love the 'snarky' comments. Lots of questions on economy...eye-openers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5