Customer Reviews for

High Voltage Tattoo

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Great Book

    Loved the photographs, design, and layout of the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I love Kat and her work. She is an amazing artist and this book will really help people who want to get a tattoo. I read about 3/4 of the book already and its great. If you love Kat or tattoos you WILL love this book! All I know is she is going to be the person I go to to get my first tattoo when I'm 18. Awesome book Kat!<BR/><BR/>Ann

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book full of information

    I loved this book.It has so much information. I am a huge Kat Von D fan and this book tells you a lot about her influences,techniques and even tattoo etiquette. It also has a Kat Von D map of all her tattoos. If you are a fan of hers or just tattoos you will love this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    The Best

    Read the entire book in one sitting. It was like I was right there next to Kat as she told her story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love it

    Beautiful photographs.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    Interesting book...

    Beautiful pictures, informative, and a real treat especially if you are a Kat Von D fan. A very neat book overall.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    No complaints..

    This book is great for those who love tattoos, Kat Von D or just want an original book for the coffee table. In this book there are amazing photos of art she has done, stories to some tattoos, do's and don'ts when you are going to get a tattoo, etc.. Even if you are not a fan of tattoos, you will enjoy this book.<BR/><BR/>However I strongly suggest, if you can, to check out the book in person before purchasing! You may not like it entirely, and you may want to make sure that whoever you are giving it to, it is suitable for them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing works of art

    this is a great book, she really has talent and a gift that not many men or woman have. Her own tattoos are amzing and damn it if i could afford it i would go to LA and get one done by her... as a woman who also has many tattoos all over its refreshing to see a strong, independent woman running her own business covered in tattoos... as much as everyone wants to pretend there is still a stigma about tattoos, more so with women.. and i hear the whispers and bs but it dont bother me... and im sure as hell it dont bother her either!!! great book, amazing stories behind the art and a real interesting look at tattoos, women, life and work

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    An Interesting Read from Kat Von D

    I initially was going to pick up this book when it first came out but didn't because I thought it was kind of expensive and not worth the money. However after doing research on tattoos and looking for inspiration as well as watching High Voltage on TV I decided to pick it up and I must say it is a great read. It has the story of Kat Von D's life and tells you how much she has accomplished but what is really interesting are the tattoos she has done on people and the stories that go with them. Why people choose certain tattoos and whether they are religious, memorial or just for fun - it is always cool to see what others have done for a look see or inspiration. The pictures are great and there are 4 pages alone devoted to Kat's body art on her body and believe me there is alot. I am looking forward to her new book coming out called the Tattoo Chronicles. It is a fascinating subject (tattoos) and now that they are mainstream- it is a good book to learn more about the art and Kat. People may be interested to know that she collect art by many artists (Hussar for one) and her drawings reflect that. All in all a very good book that I will keep on hand -a great coffee table book too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An intriguing book

    Kat Von D's book is an open and honest look into the life of a woman who simply loves tattoos. She is so in love with her art and the art of tattooing that it figuratively pours out of the book. I met her in Las Vegas at a book signing and she is a very matter-of-fact nice person willing to speak with anyone without a celebrity attitude.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    Very enlightening Book about the art of tattooing.

    Kat has done an excellent job of relaying information about the art of tattooing. From explaining how she got into the art to who her mentors are. She provides information about how to go about getting your first tattoo to explaining tattoo ediquette. What to look for in a tattoo shop as well as how to communicate with your tattoo artist. Even how to care for your tattoo's. The layout and art in the book are second to none. The book looks awesome just sitting on your table! Anyone interested in getting their first tattoo or adding to their collection needs to check out Kat's book. Having several tattoo's myself, and thinking I was well educated in the field, I learned a ton of information about tattoo's. "High Voltage Tattoo" by Kat Von D is a must have for anyone interested in tattoos.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    Kat Von D's High Voltage Tattoo

    When I first flipped through the attractive looking pages of Kat's book, I instantely wanted to beg my mother for it so that I could look at it some more. When I did buy it, I was estatic because I was finally going to get an inside look as to what goes on in Ms. Von D's head, one of the most favored tattoo artist and the creator of Musink.
    So go ahead and read this book if you'd like, and be prepared to be utterly amazed as you poke and prode through what this remarkable young woman has to say.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Loved this book!

    Read through this in one sitting. Fun and interesting facts, both about tattooing and the artists as well as about the author herself. Loved all the pictures. There were a few typos throughout the book. The section that outlines Kat's tattoos cites a tattoo on her head, but we don't see the picture of it, whereas we see all the others cited. Also, there is a typo in the forward which I thought the publisher should have caught. It's a shame, because it's a very sweet forward. Also, there is an obviously incorrect date for one of the other tattoo artists. Bottom line: Kat did a great job writing this book, the publisher stinks at proofreading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Think Ink!

    I bought this book because it's one of the few I've found about tattoo artists in the store.For some reason there are few books about or by tattooists.I am interested in tattoos and figured I'd glance through and leave it on the coffee table for friends to browse.Well I ended up reading the entire book and learned quite a lot about the art as well as the artist.Kat VonD of the MiamiInk television shows is an intelligent and provocative woman who shows you what makes her art so popular.
    This book makes for an interesting read for anyone interested in tattooing or as a great book to have in a tattoo studio for those waiting on their new tattoo!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    If you love Kat, you'll love this book

    I didn't know a lot about Kat before I read the book. I've watched all the shows, from Miami to LA, but the book really gets into how Kat became involved in tattooing (sp) and how special she makes it. She is also very humble for someone known as one of the top tattooists (sp) in the world. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Loved it!

    I am a big fan of tattoos and Kat Von D. This book did a great job telling Kat's story, along with her clients stories. I reccomend this book to anybody who is a fan. There is so much to look at, a great balance of amazing photos and artwork and writing. Get it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a great find!

    Amazing artwork: a realistic view of the life of an amazing, inspiring, individual.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Awesome Book

    Kat Von D did a great job dipicting her life so far, however short is has been. I love the fact she was brutal honest even if she didn't/doesn't follow the norm. She is such a great artist and anyone should be grateful with a tattoo by her, I would love one. I watched the show and saw how she busted her butt on to get this book published. Nikki Sixx, you are right, she is a B-52 dropping F-bombs on 6 inch heels. Truly a touching foreword about Kat. The publisher did such a fanastic job on the book itself, the cover and all the pictures inside are out of this world. I have read it at least 5 times and plan on reading it more. Kat Von D is a true artist and has inspired my daughter to realize her true talent drawing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Kat Von D Is Awesome

    I love Kat Von D reading her book just makes me appreciate her so much more. She's a very strong women and makes me proud to be a women. She's a good role model for women who don't fit the normal mold of what most women are supposed to be.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    High Voltage is a must buy for any tattoo fan

    I've always watched the show LA Ink and love Kat Von D. I bought her book and have to say the book exceeded my expectations. There's a lot of info on Kat Von D and tattooing. I love how she highlights other artists also. The book has tons of great pictures of tattoos and artwork. I'm happy to have the book in my collection.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6