Customer Reviews for

High-heeled Wonder (A Killer Style Novel)

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

High-Heeled Wonder starts every chapter with a famous quote abou

High-Heeled Wonder starts every chapter with a famous quote about shoes or fashion. Gilda Radner’s and Dorothy Parker’s are my favorites, offering true words to live by. All of them add to the story. Sylvie Bissette is the author of the blog, The High-Heeled Wonder. She...
High-Heeled Wonder starts every chapter with a famous quote about shoes or fashion. Gilda Radner’s and Dorothy Parker’s are my favorites, offering true words to live by. All of them add to the story. Sylvie Bissette is the author of the blog, The High-Heeled Wonder. She scored a recent coup by dishing up dirt on a few fashionistas. Then the threats started. Her fathers, who are in the fashion business, hire Tony Falcon to be her bodyguard. He has another reason to accept the job. His best friend, who was his former partner on the police force was murdered. Tony believes the killer is linked to Sylvie’s dads, but keeps his suspicions to himself. She doubts anything serious will happen to her, but after a close shave with a car and a stolen laptop, she relents. She decides to own the investigation and help Tony. She’s offended plenty of designers, but two names float to the top of the list. Sparks begin to fly between them as they close in on her enemies. After finding out he suspects one of her dads of murder, she leaves. Without protection, she strays into her stalker’s trap. Will Tony uncover the plot in time to save Sylvie?
The author appealed to the movie buff in me. Tony’s company is named Maltese and his last name is Falcon. He’s searching for his partner’s murderer. In doing so, he uncovers an even bigger criminal and more sinister plots. In the movie, The Maltese Falcon, Sam Spade gets much more than he bargained for too.  “When a man’s partner is killed, he’s supposed to do something about it.” Tony’s obsession leads him to Sylvie and he almost loses her, literally and figuratively, in the process.
The stalker’s motive is realistic. Being at the pinnacle of fashion gossip is quite an ego boost for Sylvie. Many would love to have the contacts and the access to designers. This shines a light on the growing influence of anonymous blogs in all facets of life and industries. Reviews can make or break businesses and some owners haven’t acquired the necessary thick skin. The Internet collects every thought and barb. There will be some personal ramifications. Revenge is a primal urge and makes a worthwhile story.

Mary Jo Burke

posted by 16351543 on January 27, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

(3 1/2 stars) This was a quick, light read. Avery Flynn writ

(3 1/2 stars)




This was a quick, light read. Avery Flynn writes with a quirky, breezy style that is a lot of fun to read--more than once her sense of humor here made me smile. Sylvie and Tony are both very likable characters, and I loved the fashion-themed quotes at ...
(3 1/2 stars)




This was a quick, light read. Avery Flynn writes with a quirky, breezy style that is a lot of fun to read--more than once her sense of humor here made me smile. Sylvie and Tony are both very likable characters, and I loved the fashion-themed quotes at the beginning of each chapter. Altogether fun!




However, both the mystery and the romance of the novel were a bit shortchanged (maybe a longer book would fix this?), and the pacing overall was somewhat uneven. The villain's big reveal had the feel of a mustache-twirling cartoon character's, and it was hard to take it seriously. We got our HEA in the end, but again, it was all on the quick side.




Still, I really enjoyed Ms. Flynn's style of writing and will definitely be on the lookout for more from her in the future.




I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

posted by beckymmoe on February 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 6 of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Four High Heeled Stars!

    Four Romp Stars!
    Contemporary Erotic Romance
    Release: January 21, 2014

    ABOUT THE BOOK:
    Sylvie Bissette may be one of Harbor City’s youngest glitterati, but only her best friends know her most closely guarded secret. She’s the woman behind The High-Heeled Wonder, a must-read blog for fashionistas everywhere. Gossip, fashion advice, exposés. Too bad some people can’t take a little criticism. When an internet troll discovers her secret identity and escalates from stalking her to threatening her life, Sylvie turns to security expert Tony Falcon for help. The investigator from the other side of the tracks is the olive oil to her Evian water and aggravates her to no end, but it’s not just her temper he’s inciting...

    Tony Falcon wouldn't know a kitten heel from a tabby cat, but since most of the bad guys he tracks down aren't wearing stilettos, it's never been a problem...until he meets Sylvie. When a murder investigation leads him to the same place Sylvie works, he realizes the feisty fashionista may be his best chance at catching the criminals who killed his best friend. It all leads back to the cut-throat fashion world. But solving that case means going after the people Sylvie cares about, and soon his attraction for her—and the danger she’s in—has him wondering if solving the case is worth hurting the woman he can’t stop fantasizing about…

    When Sylvie’s almost run over in broad daylight, Tony goes undercover as her boyfriend to infiltrate the close-knit fashion community. And when they discover Sylvie’s stalker may be linked to Tony’s own investigation, what started as a simple plan to find his friend’s killers turns into a hot bed of secrets and revelations. In a world full of overblown egos and dog-eat-dog ambition, Tony and Sylvie must work together to find her revenge-obsessed stalker before Sylvie ends up with a literal knife in the back.

    MY REVIEW:
    I completely spaced on writing a review on this, and I have no idea why! This book was totally cute, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

    The whole undercover, mastermind of fashion blogs turned potentially deadly is something new and engaging for readers in the market. I loved how well everything turned about, how the reader is kept constantly guessing “who done it” and how much chemistry exploded between Sylvie and Tony.

    This is a read you won’t be able to put down, one you’ll want to read over and over again. It’s definitely made me a fan. Get it today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A  Sexy Read You Won't Want to Miss Rating: 4 1/2 stars I recei

    A  Sexy Read You Won't Want to Miss
    Rating: 4 1/2 stars

    I received a copy of this book from the publisher and the author in exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated in any way.

    Sylvie Bissette has quite the hangover. Tony Falcon is an observer at a wedding reception when someone catches his attention. Avery had me hooked by the end of the first chapter. But I do have a question for our author; did I catch a hidden movie reference? You’ll have to see if you don’t see the same thing I do.

    Each chapter starts with some interesting quotes by those in fashion or who are known for their fashion sense. Avery must have spent a lot of time finding just the perfect quote to go with each chapter. This is one thing that always impresses me about the authors. Some readers don’t seem to realize the amount of work involved because all they see is the finished product.

    This book has a couple of things that will get your blood pumping. One is the physical attraction between Tony and Sylvie. Our couple also gets hot and heavy - some of their scenes get pretty graphic. And the second is the mystery and suspense that draws these two characters together.

    I don’t usually follow the fashion blogs but Sylvie has piqued my interest as to what she talks about with her followers. But you don’t have to like following fashionista blogs to like this book either. The only thing you’ll find missing in this book are pictures but you can take care of that by using your mind’s eye.

    One thing I’ve learned is to make sure that you read all the way to the end. If you don’t then sometimes you miss some interesting things. In this case, our author has a request and if you’re creative enough maybe you can accommodate her. Then I’d be interested to know how you did it.

    My recommendation is that you get this book. It’s a mystery/suspense that has just the right amount of romance and sex. You can complete the book in just a couple of days. And after you finish reading this book, you may decide to see what else Avery has to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    This is funny, mystery/romance  that combine fashion and mystery

    This is funny, mystery/romance  that combine fashion and mystery. Sylvie is a fashion blogger, who is the adopted daughter of famous designers. She has attracted a stalker, and her fathers have hired a bodyguard Tony to protect her. The plot is funny, fast-paced, and  engaging. But it is much closer to a genre than a traditional romance. Enjoyable but not really my thing. 




    I received a free copy for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    I want to go shopping now! Sylvie and Tony were a blast to read.

    I want to go shopping now! Sylvie and Tony were a blast to read. I really enjoyed the banter between both the hero and heroine. The book had a great twist at the end *shush* that I won't mention here. AND- the heat between both characters sizzled off the pages. All in all, I would read another Sylvie adventure in a heart beat.

    I was provided an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    What a great romantic suspense set in the fashion industry. This

    What a great romantic suspense set in the fashion industry. This book had everything in a story that I look for – snarky dialogue, lots of heat, a great mystery, and a sexy hero and strong heroine who just can’t deny the sparks that are between them.

    As the un-named person behind the popular High-Heeled Wonder fashion blog, Sylvie Bissette tells it like she sees it in the fashion industry – not worried about making and keeping friends since she hides behind her High-Heeled Wonder persona. When Sylvie begins receiving threats directed at her through her blog, she doesn’t think too much about them. But when those threats escalate and someone tries to run her down in the road, she is forced to hire protection to keep her, and the secret of her identity, safe.

    Tony Falcon retired from the police force after his best friend and partner was killed in the line of duty. After opening his own personal security firm, he has continued to pursue leads to bring his partner’s killers to justice…and his investigation has lead him to the door of the design house that Sylvie’s adoptive fathers run. With a series of manipulations, Tony gets himself hired by Sylvie as her bodyguard, but when Sylvie insists that Tony pose as her boyfriend, Tony finds he not only has to protect Sylvie from her stalker, but he also has to find a way to protect himself from the undeniable attraction that sets off sparks every time Tony and Sylvie are near one another.

    When the investigation heats up and truths are told, Tony finds that it’s not only Sylvie’s life that is on the line, but his heart is on the line as well.

    I just loved Tony, from his Italian heritage to his sexy, alpha ways.

    “What is with you and food?”
    “I’m Italian.” He shrugged. “Eat.”

    The dialogue between Tony and Sylvie had me laughing out loud at times and the heat between the two was steamy. Sylvie was great, finding strength when her past had left her a bit broken, giving back just as good as she got when it came to Tony. She was fiercely loyal and protective of those she loved, but has come realize that sometimes you have to reach out and grab for what you want – and it didn’t hurt that what she wanted was Tony!

    The secondary characters in the book were great. From the flamboyance of Sylvie’s fathers, to the fierce protectiveness of Sylvie’s sister Anya and her friend Drea. Tony’s team also had a great set of characters, and I hope we get to learn more about them all in another book (or books!)

    All in all, a fun, quick read that had wonderful characters and a great plot, with enough twists to keep me guessing and turning the pages right to the end.

    I received and eARC from the publisher for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    This was a quick, easy read, yet another successful book out fro

    This was a quick, easy read, yet another successful book out from Entangled. I’m so glad to be as involved with them as I am.




    Sylvie is a great woman with an interesting job – she blogs about the fashion industry. That seems to be a growing profession in books, making a living writing a blog about something. This is at least the third book in the past year I’ve read with that as a profession. She’s got her sad history, and lordy it’s very sad. But she definitely grows over the course of this novel and it was a pleasure to see her realize where her boundaries had been set and then charge through them in pursuit of the man she’s falling in love with.




    Tony. Well, Tony. I don’t approve of the initial way he started slithering into her life (the real reason is revealed a good portion of the way through the book), but he didn’t let it stop him from actually stepping up and being the body guard it turned out that she needed. It’s hard not to love and respect a man who literally will throw himself in front of a moving vehicle to protect a girl, and Tony does just that.




    There was a lot of push and pull, but these two really needed each other to heal from past wounds. The thing that kept me from giving this five stars is the fact that I just didn’t feel the danger Sylvie was in. Oh sure, she dodged some bullets, has a break-in, and all that, but for some reason the suspense part just didn’t fly with me. On a nice note, I definitely didn’t guess who done it, and I always like that. I just wish I’d had more “heart in my throat” moments, gross as that sounds.




    Thankfully they get their happy ending and I’m curious to see what’s next in the series from Ms. Flynn!




    Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 6 of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1