Customer Reviews for

Higher Hope (Tides of Truth Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Must Read

    Anything written by Whitlow is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This entire Tids of Truth series was wonderful! I found myself lost in Tami's world and praying I could be someone of such high convictions. She was a "light" in her dark world and an inspiration for all workers in the secular market. The relationships that are interwoven in the series are heart warming and the case studies are intriquing. I was only saddened to find out that I had gotten to the end of her story. These books will not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    enjoyed this 2nd in the series

    Overall, I enjoyed this book. The author's way of referencing what happened in the 1st book was a little awkward at times, but the story was congruous and enjoyable. I just purchased the third!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Great Middle to a Three part Story:)

    The characters are the same from the first book, "Deeper Waters". The story runs through some highly controversal religious issues. It continues to depict the challenges that Tami contends with as a Christian, in a not so understanding society. I enjoyed this book and will be reading the third very shortly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    Higher Hope

    I finally finished my book for the book review bloggers. Higher Hope, by Robert Whitlow, is the 2nd book in the series, A Tides of Truth.

    Written "in the tradition of John Grisham, combining compelling legal and ethical plot lines...but Whitlow has explicit spiritual themes."

    Following a young legal clerk, Tami Taylor struggles with the legalistic religion that she experienced at home as it conflicts with the grace, mercy and hope that relationship with God offers.

    To tell you the truth, I didn't care for this book at all. The legal drama seemed to drag, leaving the plot uninteresting, and I found the characters underdeveloped and simplistic. I really didn't care about them--and I never found myself lost in the pages, as I do when I am really enjoying a book.

    Just my opinion...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Higher Hope Could Be Higher

    This novel, set in Savannah, didn't have the hook I expected. Perhaps it's because this is Book Two in The Tides of Truth series. If I'd read Book One, Deeper Water, the characters might have grabbed my interest. I think I found myself somewhat invested in the story by Chapter Eight. The overuse of the word "was" annoyed me like a pesky fly buzzing around my head. And here's another published author who uses verbs as speaker attributes.

    When I'm not selling real estate, I work for a law firm. I found it hard to believe that this Christian girl, Tami, could find two Christian men (two SINGLE Christian men) working for the same firm. Most of the story seemed unrealistic to me, and the resolution in the end left me hanging in a fog of vagueness. I had no idea which of the two young men she chose, and really didn't care.

    Being a glass-is-half-full person, I always look for the sunshine that follows the rain. The one redeeming feature of Higher Hope is toward the end of the book when Sister Dabney explains what higher hope means: "It's hope that can't be destroyed by what happens on earth. Circumstances of life will challenge it, voices will deny it, but its walls can't be breached unless we open the gate." Absolutely true and an encouragement to me, personally.

    The realistic elements of the book are the subtle ways God intervenes for His purposes. God worked through the elderly lady with whom Tami lives and works as caregiver to show Tami He wants us to fellowship with Him, no matter our age or circumstances. He can heal us, as Tami saw when she visited a family friend in her home town. And He will defend His workers when we are persecuted, but it will always be in His time and His M.O.

    I would give this book two and a half stars. Others might enjoy it, but it didn't float my boat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Law Story is Full of Surprises

    Law stories are give and take with me. They are either written extremely well and explain everything about the law to a newbie or they are too convoluted in lawyer-ish jargon, cliches and stereotypes. So I was pleasantly surprised when after reading this book. Normally I'm wary of male authors who write as a first person female character. You can tell when a male author has not done his research about how women really act and it shows in the writing. They either have the female be too cold or way too emotional. Whitlow however nails it in this book. Tami is a combination of both, and doesn't seem fake or contrived. Also by portraying Tami as a law student helped to ease the reader into the story, as she's a learning newbie too. Books that tackle legalism issues always interest me. Since I don't agree with many of the issues that is involved with legalism, it's always fascinating to read exactly how the author will portray them. It is possible that readers who agree with those issues might be reading the book, so the author has to handle them in a certain way and be respectful even if they don't agree with them. Tami is a character that has broken away from her strict religious background but is still respectful of her parents and their decisions. Meanwhile her parents may not agree with her decision, but neither have they banned her from the house or are angry with her. The entire situation involving SisterDabney was very interesting as it neither portrayed her as being delusional or being absolutely right at the end.

    My only qualm with the book was that a felt the ending to be rather disappointing. After so much buildup throughout the rest of the book, I was expecting an explosive or at least confrontational ending. As it turned out, it was very underwhelming. It sped by and I felt like I had missed it completely. Other than that, I did enjoy this book very much. The writing is crisp, engaging and was a page turner for me. This was my first book from the author so not only am I going to go back and read the first book in the series, I'm planning on checking out his entire back list. It's always nice to find a new author who surprises you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Is There Hope for 'Higher Hope'?

    "That's asking a lot. Most people are a mix of good, bad, and something in the middle. Motivations and actions have a way of tripping over each other to create a confused mess." Zack tries to emphasize to summer law clerk, Tami Taylor, the duality and complexity of humans.

    Tami has picked up a job for the summer interning in Savannah, caring for her elderly landlord on the side, and getting mixed into a highly senstive case involving not just raw facts, but hearts and faith.

    The novel, Higher Hope, written by Robert Whitlow is the second in what will be a trilogy, entitled Tides of Truth. Unfortunately, I dropped in on the second book, and without more of a familiarity with the characters, I had difficulty connecting and appreciating their upbringings, which are so important to their identities. (Tami comes from a highly conservative family, while her main interest, Zack is less conservative, his background is hardly mentioned, but is a potent part of their chemistry).

    I also found the pace of the book slow, without much that held me captivated. Although it is about a young woman finding herself and her convictions in a law firm, I felt that she retained what her parents taught her, without finding her own personal standards and beliefs. The case that she is working on also fades away without resolution in light of her final review with the heads of the law firm.

    I was confused by the relationships that Tami continued to involve herself in with two co-workers, yet chose to ignore. She had two men "vying" for her attention, yet had little interaction with them, and refused to acknowledge any need to alter the love triangle she was a part of. a tension with no concievable solution.

    All in all, as sad as I am to say this, I did not enjoy this book. It is a fiction piece and to that degree (as far as personal preferences go) there maybe those who find this book enjoyable. However, after reading John Grisham (to which this author is compared), the playing fields are entirely removed from each other.

    The characters remained flat, the plot could not carry itself, the encounters with faith were left unexplained.

    But to try and end on a good note, the opening quote, taken from this book, was probably my most enjoyable dilemma, the gray between the extremes of people's lives (the challenges of enforcing law and judging motivations and people). this book just tended to have more grays and vagueness than I prefer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    Interesting enough.

    I just finished Higher Hope by Robert Whitlow, the second in his Tides of Truth series. Higher Hope is about Tami Taylor, a law student, who gets assigned to a libel/slander case against a local preacher. This local preacher is said to have a miraculous gift of prophecy. While Tami is working on this case that tries her convictions and her faith she becomes romantically involved with one of her coworkers. Tami comes from a very strict christian background which is briefly described in the book, and this background influences all of the decisions that she makes.

    Most of the time I felt very out of the loop with the story, since I haven't read the first one. However, reading this one made me want to read the whole series. It was well written, and seemed to be well researched. It was very interesting to read and I found myself getting involved with Tami's character, and really rooting her on. In some places it reminded me of John Grisham, only with a christian twist to it. I ended up being very curious about the specific denomination or sect that Tami comes from. I'm curious to see what happens next in the series, if her relationship with the co worker grows into something more, and if she will accept the offer she's been made. Overall it was a great "just for fun" book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    Weak Story

    In Higher Hope, by Robert Witlow, summer law clerk Tami Taylor is assigned to a libel case against an abrasive preacher with amazing prophetic abilities. A local businessman wants to buy the church's land, and the preacher refuses, spreading allegedly libelous statements about the businessman. The further Tami investigates the case, the more shefinds her beliefs being challenged.

    I had a difficult time getting into this book. I was expecting a complicated legal thriller, and instead got a weak story that was overwhelmed by the subplots. The opening chapters deal with the legal part of the story, and then veered off for 200 pages of family subplots. It finally got back into the legal part of the story, but the libel lawsuit didn't engage me. It seemed more like a petty spat than anything with real stakes or real risk--accentuated by the preacher's confidence that nothing was going to happen to her.

    The most disappointing part was the resolution. It was true to life, but true to life doesn't always make for a good story. Here, it left me feeling unsatisfied because ultimately nothing much happened other than Tami stood up for her convictions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    There is a higher hope

    The Tides of Truth series follows law student Tammy Lynn Taylor, known as Tami at the law firm where she is a clerk for the summer. She has a strong Christian faith and very conservative background. We are watching Tami come of age, and learn how to walk by faith in a world that doesn't support or always accept her beliefs. This time around, the case she is working on involves an abrasive, outspoken preacher who tells people what God shows her, and they don't always like what she says.

    The story was interesting and plausible. The best part may have been seeing how the preacher self-censors herself, knowing that sometimes what she knows isn't complete enough or the other person isn't ready for it. Plus seeing how the people she does talk to react to what she says. Some repent, some work to reconcile with family and friends, and some deny that it's the truth. Her deposition by the lawyer is a great scene. The books are thoughtful and well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Higher Hope

    Let me start my review by admitting that I did not realize when I ordered this book it was book two in the series. You don't have to read book one to be able to understand what's going on in this book but I'm sure it would be helpful. Needless to say I spend the first couple of chapters a little lost. Other than that though I thought the book was fine. It is a crime drama. I like reading Christian fiction but I found the characters to a little over the top. The main character and narrator for the most part is a young woman who comes from a very strict up bringing and is struggling to adapt out side of her community. The other main female character is a minister who can "see" people's sins even when they are not confessed. Alone these characters would have been a little easier to accept but with several extreme characters it became a little over the top. I don't want to make it seem like a bad book. It was a very easy read and the story flowed well. The author wrapped up enough of the story to give some closer but there is still enough to make the reader want to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2