Customer Reviews for

Highland Angel

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A haunting romance

Sir Payton Murray is known as much for his trysts as for his sword prowess in defense of the helpless. A desperate Lady Kirstie MacIye interrupts Payton¿s rendezvous with a married woman when she begs him to help her. She accuses her husband Sir Roderick of trying to ...
Sir Payton Murray is known as much for his trysts as for his sword prowess in defense of the helpless. A desperate Lady Kirstie MacIye interrupts Payton¿s rendezvous with a married woman when she begs him to help her. She accuses her husband Sir Roderick of trying to kill her and abusing the children. Unable to resist the plea of beautiful lass, Payton agrees to rescue the lads though her clan and his clan might not appreciate his interference.

Payton abducts the children from under Roderick¿s literally iron fist and brings them to his home to be with Kirstie. As Payton and Kirstie begin to fall in love, the shadow of an irate vengeful Roderick crosses over their relationship for he is coming with treachery and deceit as his prime weapons.

HIGHLAND ANGEL is an intense historical romance starring two courageous heroes and a vile villain, who is so malevolent he seems more devil than human. This leads to readers wondering why anyone in his clan leadership tolerated his behavior. Payton is kind of like an Errol Flynn character, swashbuckling whether he ¿battles¿ the ladies (married of course) or evil knaves. Kirstie is his perfect mate as she brings out the best in him. The abuse subplot is interwoven into a fine historical romantic suspense that will bring elation to sub-genre readers.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Boring and depressing

Sorry, but I just could not enjoy this book. The characters are just so boring, and the whole subject of child abuse, murder, and molestation is a real downer. The book could have been a deep story about catching a molestor, or a light-hearted predictable romance, but i...
Sorry, but I just could not enjoy this book. The characters are just so boring, and the whole subject of child abuse, murder, and molestation is a real downer. The book could have been a deep story about catching a molestor, or a light-hearted predictable romance, but it tries to be both and that is where the problem lies.

posted by Anonymous on August 25, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A haunting romance

    Sir Payton Murray is known as much for his trysts as for his sword prowess in defense of the helpless. A desperate Lady Kirstie MacIye interrupts Payton¿s rendezvous with a married woman when she begs him to help her. She accuses her husband Sir Roderick of trying to kill her and abusing the children. Unable to resist the plea of beautiful lass, Payton agrees to rescue the lads though her clan and his clan might not appreciate his interference.<P> Payton abducts the children from under Roderick¿s literally iron fist and brings them to his home to be with Kirstie. As Payton and Kirstie begin to fall in love, the shadow of an irate vengeful Roderick crosses over their relationship for he is coming with treachery and deceit as his prime weapons.<P> HIGHLAND ANGEL is an intense historical romance starring two courageous heroes and a vile villain, who is so malevolent he seems more devil than human. This leads to readers wondering why anyone in his clan leadership tolerated his behavior. Payton is kind of like an Errol Flynn character, swashbuckling whether he ¿battles¿ the ladies (married of course) or evil knaves. Kirstie is his perfect mate as she brings out the best in him. The abuse subplot is interwoven into a fine historical romantic suspense that will bring elation to sub-genre readers.<P> Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Boring and depressing

    Sorry, but I just could not enjoy this book. The characters are just so boring, and the whole subject of child abuse, murder, and molestation is a real downer. The book could have been a deep story about catching a molestor, or a light-hearted predictable romance, but it tries to be both and that is where the problem lies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    Light and fluffy pedophole murder story.........................

    Light and fluffy pedophole murder story.................................................................
    I must have at least 20 HH books and this is by far the worst.  Payton and Kirstie go at it like rabbits while they try to stop her husband from molesting and murdering children.  What's Payton's big plan of attack?  He is going to go to court and spread gossip about him.  Well he eventually plans on confronting him but he explains that could take awhile.  Maybe years.  Really?  I would have though there might have been a little urgency in this situation.  On top of that the children she has brought with her to payton's home  discuss with her the fact that she is sleeping with him .  They also feel free to go into their bedroom when she is bed with him naked.  I guess because they have been molested they are not  considered worthy of  being shielded from adult sexual behavior.    This story does not deserve even one star. Hard to believe HH wrote this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    A Rogue meets his match.

    Payton is so beautiful he is in great demand. He can have whoever he wants and has had many a woman over the years. He is approached one night by Kirstie who has just dragged herself out of the river where her abusive husband tried to drown her. Kirstie stirs his passion even though she is not the kind of woman he usually seeks out. She draws him into a sordid life of child abuse by her husband. He is soon helping her to escape and also saving the lives of many children held captive by this rotten man. Payton's passion grows ever stronger for Kirstie and she cannot resist him. Though the children come first, they are soon caught up in their own story. Will they save the children and be able to fulfill their passion? Read it and find out. Another wonderful Mallory story. They never get old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    I loe her books, however what has happen to the cover for nook r

    I loe her books, however what has happen to the cover for nook readers?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    Love all of Hannah Howell's series on Murray Family. Just love her writings on any of her books, she keeps me interested in her stories from start to finish...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Interesting twist on familiar plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    It was about what?

    Out of all Howells books, this one was the worst. It was so boring that i skimmed through more than half the book and cant even remember the plot. This book however should not stop u from reading her other books which gets a rating of 7 or higher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    I recommend - Great!

    In following the story line I liked this book, I wish I was there!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I love Hannah Howell's stories. The ebooks tend to have a lot of spelling errors but the stories are still very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    Great romance.

    Couldn't put the book down. Great story line and fell in love with the Murray family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my faves.

    I must say out of all the Highland series, that this book was my favorite. I loved Payton and the leading lady in this story. I've read this book twice already and I'm about to read it again. Love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    Another Wonderful Highland Story!

    This story is about Payton (Nigel and Gisele's bonny boy). They deal with something other than gaining land/ownership rights to a castle....yes, it is about child abuse, love, and the broad families that intertwine. I enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2006

    exciting

    i always like the murray's dynasty and always wanted to read payton's story when i first read highland knight. and the writing about child abusing was realy effective

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Very disappointing

    I don't know what happend to Hannah Howell to make her write a story that was so boring. I have read all of the Highland series and this is the only book in which I did not enjoy. Payton was such a good character he should have had a better story to go along with him. I had expected a lot more out of this book. However do not let this book keep you form reading the others in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2004

    The Legenday Sir Peyton Murray

    Don't be turned away by bad reviews.... If you loved the other books about the Murray clan, then you will enjoy this one too! Kirstie and Peyton have a chemistry all their own and their attempt to seek justice against a child abuser ensares you. Plus the children that have been hurt by this evil are heros in themselves.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    I loved it!

    The story although revolved around child abuse,which was sadly alive and well even then,had me not wanting to put this book down! I love the Murray family and was happy to see Peyton fall in love at last.Dont let the bad reviews steer you from this book.If you are reading the series of the Murray family,dont miss it.You wont be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4