Customer Reviews for

Highland Avenger

Average Rating 4.5
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

posted by Ozzy12 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Could not finish

There is way too much self reflection and denial going on in this story. Coupled with an overabundance of wee's and nay's and wheesht's, this was more than I could swallow. An appearance by Sigimor and Jolene was the only bright spot in this book (two characters I did e...
There is way too much self reflection and denial going on in this story. Coupled with an overabundance of wee's and nay's and wheesht's, this was more than I could swallow. An appearance by Sigimor and Jolene was the only bright spot in this book (two characters I did enjoy from a previous story(.

posted by Hardegree on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite It's 1480 and Lady Ar

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    It's 1480 and Lady Arianna Murray Lucette has found herself married under false pretences to French nobleman Claud Lucette. He was already married but his family wanted Arianna's family's money. Claud already had two small sons, Aledar and Michel, and sadly, it is only Arianna who cares about them and their welfare. When Claud and his wife are found dead, Arianna flees France, hiring Captain Tillet's small ship to carry her, Adelar and Michel back to her family in Scotland. But Captain Tillet's ship is broadsided by a much larger ship, for Claud's brother Amiel and the hateful DeVeauz family want to kill little Michel and Adelar to gain family monies. Arianna and the boys and some of Captain Tillet's crew are rescued by Sir Brian MacFinegal, of the Socttish MacFinegal clan whose reputation is not stellar. Michael and Adelar are safely transported to impregnable Scarglas castle, but Arianna and Brian are left to fight off Amiel and the DeVeaux. Brian and Arianna are falling in love but can they survive the relentless attacks from men bent upon murder?

    "Highland Avenger" is well-written and well-edited and a welcome addition to romantic historical novels that feature a hero and heroine who cannot keep their hands off each other. The characters, major and minor, are three dimensional and believable. Many readers will add "Highland Avenger" to their summer beach reading lists. The plot unfolds believably to the story's end but the "bad guys" put a good scare into everyone before they go down fighting. Author Hannah Howell has created a delightful winner in "Highland Avenger".

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

    Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Could not finish

    There is way too much self reflection and denial going on in this story. Coupled with an overabundance of wee's and nay's and wheesht's, this was more than I could swallow. An appearance by Sigimor and Jolene was the only bright spot in this book (two characters I did enjoy from a previous story(.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended Highly

    Reviewed By~Bri
    Review Copy Provided By~Publisher

    Hannah Howell is a master of Highland Romance. With over twenty books in her backlist her novels literally span generations. Which is one of many reasons I read Mrs. Howell religiously.

    Highland Avenger brings together the Murrays and the MacFingals/Camersons again. While favorite characters of before make appearances toward the end like the original old laird MacFingal, the man who tried to breed his own clan of bastards, his impertinent daughter in law Fiona and the always funny Sigmour, it was Callum from Highland Angel that made me gasp.

    In Highland Angel he's an eleven year old victim of sexual abuse and while I wanted to find out his future I knew one with him as the hero prob wouldn't happen. Nevertheless Howell delivered beautifully and I'm thrilled to know how he fared.

    And now on to our H/H. Brian MacFingal is attempting to help his clan and create his own way by organizing a trading endeavor. It's through this he meets Lady Arianna Murray Lucette who washes up on a highland beach running from her crazy dead husband's French family.

    While Howell delivers the same romance formula she is famous for as usual the characters create something original. Arianna suffers from the cutting tongue of her deceased French husband and therefore has no confidence in passion.

    Brian himself suffers with feelings of inadequacy in comparison to Arianna's family. Nevertheless, he commits to cure her of her un-confidence concerning passion.

    Readers will love Highland Avenger.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Very good book!

    I love this author work. I have read most of her books. This book has lots of adventure and romance. The heroin is not too bossy and i like that. The book has a good epiloge which lets you know some of what happened a year later. The book is about 226 pages but will keep you guessing until the end! I hope it will have a sequel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    This latest story of the wonderful Murray family is terrific. I

    This latest story of the wonderful Murray family is terrific. I loved the heroine and how she fought to regain her sense of self, the hero was a good match as he had a lot of self worth issued to overcome. I loved seeing Callum as an adult. Hope there is another book for his story!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    great read

    I love Hannah Howell books, lots of action and history, fun to read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Enjoyable read

    This is the first book I have read by Hannah Howell, but it won't be the last. Very good read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Another Winner for Hannah!!!

    I think I have read all of Hannah Howell's "Highland" books. This is soooo good!! Well worth buying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Enjoyed it could not put down. Will read more books by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    HIGHLAND AVENGER by Hannah Howell is another interesting histori

    HIGHLAND AVENGER by Hannah Howell is another interesting historical romance set in 1480 Scotland. When Sir Brian MacFingal,finds Arianna Murray Lucette he has no idea the trouble she will bring to him and his clan. While, they race across Scotland to get to his clan’s castle, they not only encounter danger,but must fight they growing passions. Arianna is on the run with her two charges from the men who want them dead.They has traveled from France,the ship they where on destroyed and sunk. They washed up on the Scotland shore where Sir Brian finds them. He and his small clan will do anything to save them,especially the beautiful Arianna. Ms. Howell has done it again,with this fast paced,action packed story full of danger,and sizzling passion between the sexy highland hero and the meek Arianna.The men from France can not hold a candle to the Scottish warrior. Ms. Howell is another great storyteller who draws her readers into the story with her characters.Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at Zebra Books,published by Kensington Publishing Corp,the author’s website,and My Book Addiction and More.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: Mild: Mild detailed scenes of intimacy,mild violence or profanity

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    A Good Read

    This isn't all that I anticipated. But it was entertaining nevertheless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Arianna Murry Lucette is on her way home from France to Scotlan

    Arianna Murry Lucette is on her way home from France to Scotland with her two young step-sons. After the death of her husband, Arianna finds out that their marriage was never valid. It seems that her husband married his mistress in secret before he married her. That makes what she thought were her husbands illegimate children from his mistress his heirs. Her in-laws are working on getting the first marriage dissolved so that the estate will revert back to the family and not to the boys. But her brother-in-law does not want to wait for that to happen he sets out to have the boys killed. Arianna and the boys are almost to Scotland when a larger ship rams into their smaller ship and sinks them. She manages to get the boys and herself safety to shore before she passes out.
    Sir Brian MacFingal is on his way to meet the ship that is bringing him goods to sell. But what he finds is the remains of a shipwreck scattered on the beach. Brain and his men start searching the beach for survivors and to geather the dead for buiral. They soon come upon two small boys guarding an unconscious woman. When Arianna comes too she decides to trust the men and ask for their help. After hearing about the danger Arianna and the two boys are in they know they have to help her. They decide to split up and each man take one child and Brian will take Arianna. They each head out taking different routes to the same place. Brian belives this will cause the men chasing them to also split up. The longer Brian and Arianna are together the closer they become. But Arianna's husband heap alot of verbal abuse on her and now her self esteem is low. She wants to get closer to Brain but she keeps hearing the voice of her husband telling her she is worthless. Brian manages to convince her that she is worth something and that she is a passionate woman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Great

    Loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    I really like reading Howell's novels.

    This was good as usual. I can never get enough of Howell's highland tales.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    author's name should be under title

    Read several of author's series and this is alittle slower than others. You don't sense the urgentcy of the moment that her other books have. The message is clear about the verbal abuse and how to recognize when this happens-- It's a good lazy day read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Good read

    Brian did run off with Mavis, but we dod not know if they are married ib the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I could not put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    Superb........a must read.....it will take you back to those daring Murrays.

    Arianna is a very beautiful and courageous woman who's had to endure alot in her past. Brian MacFingal is just the man for Arianna, it just takes him a while to realize it. Read this book......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Not my favorite. I am a huge fan of Hannah Howell and her Murra

    Not my favorite. I am a huge fan of Hannah Howell and her Murray series, but after waiting so long for another book in this series this one was a bit disappointing. There was a lot of repetitive dialogue and the story itself seemed really short. Still a fan tho. Just hope we don't have to wait as long for the next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6