Customer Reviews for

Highland Blessing

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Yay! A Christian Medieval

As a fellow Medieval author who keeps hearing that this time period is a hard sell in Christian fiction, I am thrilled this book made it safely to print. Highland Blessings is set in 1473, which is a little late in history for a medieval novel, but all of the cultural e...
As a fellow Medieval author who keeps hearing that this time period is a hard sell in Christian fiction, I am thrilled this book made it safely to print. Highland Blessings is set in 1473, which is a little late in history for a medieval novel, but all of the cultural elements we associate with the Middle Ages, stone castles, armor, flying pennants, are still firmly in place in Scotland during this time. Add to that plaids, clan lairds and feuds, and the stage is set for an exciting story similar to those written by CBA author Kathleen Morgan.

While I felt this story had some small technical issues, overall I enjoyed it very much. My favorite element of the book was the spiritual aspect. Akira is truly a woman of God to be admired. She puts aside hurt and unforgiveness in order to submit herself to God's plan. In addition, she is open to the spirit of God and known for her prophetic dreams. She speaks them forth boldly despite the danger of being thought a witch in her superstitious culture.

Here's to hoping this novel will start a new wave of Medievals. It's time the market took notice of this exciting and underrepresented time in history.

posted by Danzingfool on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A pleasant surprise!

This was another freebie. It is written from a Christian standpoint, but it can be enjoyed by anyone. The characters and plot were great!

posted by SageEyes on November 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Well written

    I greatly enjoyed this book and would have given it five stars if the ending had been a little different. It was a book that I didn't want to put down and then it was as if I still had a chapter to finish but I ran out of book. I think it would have been a little better if the author had added another chapter or perhaps a prolog instead of finishing it up the way she did. I re-read the ending twice going, "Whoa, did I miss something here?" Otherwise I would still highly recommend Highland Blessings. Her teaching her deaf brother-in-law to speak and him reading lips seemed a bit before their time and I'm not sure women of that day and time acted as she did, but if you can overlook and just enjoy the ride, you'll enjoy it too.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    WONDERFUL INSPIRATIONAL SCOTTISH ROMANCE/SUSPENSE!

    HIGHLAND BLESSINGS by Jennifer Hudson Taylor is an inspirational historical romance/suspense. It is set in 1473 Scotland. This is this author's debut book and she is an author to watch for in the future. It is well written with depth and details and you can easily tell there has been a great deal of research, also the dialog is in the style of the period.This helps give the story its authenticity. It has faith, betrayal, forgiveness,suspense, adventure, romance, everything Scottish, murder, a pre-arranged marriage between two rival clans, and the coming together of two clans for peace. The hero, Bryce, is strong, determined, handsome, a born leader, tough, keeps promises he makes, has tenacity, faces the turmoil of betrayal, falls in love with the womon he kidnaps( due to a promise made for his dying father),and becomes a powerful, well liked laird which be becomes after the death of his older brother, Evan.The heroine, Akira, is humble, strong, has a strong faith,loyal to her clan, her new clan.She is determined to make her marriage work, even after she had been kidnapped on the day of her wedding to another. She was kidnapped in order to observe the pre-arranged marriage between her and Evan, the Laird of the MacPhearson clan. This is a powerful story of love, trust in your faith and learning to love even during times of angst and turmoil. I would highly recommend this story especially if you enjoy everything Scottish. This is a personal buy by the writer of this review. Details can be found at Abingdon Press and My Book Addiction and More.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Loved

    Loved the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Great book!

    I am puzzled over the last review. This was a very good christain book. I really enjoyed it plus it was free! If you want read agood clean book with god as their guide thru the story then you must read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Check it Out

    I wasn't sure how much I was going to like this book, but it moved along quickly & had lots of action and the happy ending. If you enjoy the middle ages, you will definitely enjoy this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    Very enjoyable read

    Jennifer Hudson Taylor did a wonderful job taking you back to a time and place of Scottish clan rivalry. You can feel the tension between the characters and commiserate with both. She did a beautiful job with the Scottish accent. Not too much but enough to make it stand out. The story moves along quickly and never falls flat. I really enjoyed this book and highly recommend it. Even more so if you love a strong Scottish hero!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Highland Blessing!

    I go weak in the knees at the thought of a Scottish warrior. Not only is Bryce strong, but he has their characteristic loyalty to family, he's sinfully handsome and wants to fulfill his dying father's wish. The only problem lies with carrying that out. His elder brother is chief and has no intention of tying himself with a rival clan to make peace. The lady in question, Akira, is just as strong willed as she is beautiful. He can't help but admire her and regret the actions that may have placed her in harm's way.

    The rivalry between the two clans has been long standing and many would like to see Bryce fail. It's hard to overcome so many years of hate and prejudice. Trust is hard won and easily broken. Plus someone is working hard to inflame the tempers of both clans.

    Bryce is a terrific character. He feels bound by his father's dying wish, and yet drawn to Akira himself. Her strength and courage are something he admires, and he enjoys their verbal battles and her beauty. He's first angry at Evan's refusal and rude comments about Akira, then becomes jealous once Evan shows some interest in her after all. He's a strong leader and has the respect of his men. He also has a tender side. He tries to see to her comfort and is upset by the accidental pain he causes her. He does have trouble with trusting her ~ and her family.

    Akira is brave, intelligent and resourceful. She's also stubborn. She puts her own needs and desires below those of her people. She's no pushover physically either. She has skill with a blade and eventually manages to talk Bryce into giving her one of her own. She has a blind spot when it comes to her clan and doesn't believe any of them could be behind the incidents. She also believed the MacPhersons (Bryce's clan) were nothing more than brutal barbarians with no regard for human life.

    When one of the plots against the peace ends with the death of Evan, Bryce becomes chief and intends to marry Akira himself. The truce called for her to marry the chief of the clan,it didn't say it had to be his brother. He was the one who believed this was the path to peace but can he trust her? They both want an end to the fighting, but she is there against her will and bad things have happened to both sides. She hasn't been welcomed with open arms either.

    I want to briefly mention another character that was unusual. Bryce and Evan were two of three sons. The third brother is named Sim. He is deaf (but can read lips) and doesn't speak. His brothers protect and provide for him. They are preparing to teach him to fight, but Akira wants to teach him academics so he can keep the books. She and Sim become good friends.

    The author has created a book that not only captures a romance between two interesting people, but deals with an issue that is very timely. Both these characters had to deal with whether they were willing to trust each other and God for what was going to happen in their lives. In this economy, I think many of us can relate to needing that same kind of trust. Things look pretty scary to us, but God has it all in His hands.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Great

    This is a great read kept me capticated from the beginnin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Kiarah was being looked after inthe aftermath of her being poisoned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Great read!

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    Basically, a Hatfield/McCoy type of feud, in early Scotland. A


    Basically, a Hatfield/McCoy type of feud, in early Scotland. A young woman is kidnapped by a rival clan, to become the wife of the chief, when the elder is killed. It was the Father’s wish that by joining the 2 clans, that the wars would end. As the woman and her captors struggle with their angers, and slowly come to forgiveness, it turns out that there’s a traitor who is trying to keep the enmity alive, between the clans. A very good book, about love and forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Great

    Good book love to read more by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Yu

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    Was a very enjoyable story. Definately worth reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Never mind

    About lending me this book, got it today for free, loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2