Customer Reviews for

Highland Blessing

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Yay! A Christian Medieval

As a fellow Medieval author who keeps hearing that this time period is a hard sell in Christian fiction, I am thrilled this book made it safely to print. Highland Blessings is set in 1473, which is a little late in history for a medieval novel, but all of the cultural e...
As a fellow Medieval author who keeps hearing that this time period is a hard sell in Christian fiction, I am thrilled this book made it safely to print. Highland Blessings is set in 1473, which is a little late in history for a medieval novel, but all of the cultural elements we associate with the Middle Ages, stone castles, armor, flying pennants, are still firmly in place in Scotland during this time. Add to that plaids, clan lairds and feuds, and the stage is set for an exciting story similar to those written by CBA author Kathleen Morgan.

While I felt this story had some small technical issues, overall I enjoyed it very much. My favorite element of the book was the spiritual aspect. Akira is truly a woman of God to be admired. She puts aside hurt and unforgiveness in order to submit herself to God's plan. In addition, she is open to the spirit of God and known for her prophetic dreams. She speaks them forth boldly despite the danger of being thought a witch in her superstitious culture.

Here's to hoping this novel will start a new wave of Medievals. It's time the market took notice of this exciting and underrepresented time in history.

posted by Danzingfool on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A pleasant surprise!

This was another freebie. It is written from a Christian standpoint, but it can be enjoyed by anyone. The characters and plot were great!

posted by SageEyes on November 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Great

    This is a great read kept me capticated from the beginnin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Kiarah was being looked after inthe aftermath of her being poisoned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Great read!

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    Historical fiction set in the Scottish Highlands in medieval ti


    Historical fiction set in the Scottish Highlands in medieval times. 
    Drama, adventure, romance, mystery, murder..
    Lots to keep this reader's attention til the wee hours of the morning! a great entry for a first novel from Jennifer Hudson Taylor ~
    Well Done Jennifer! 
    Reminiscent of Lisa Bergren's Waterfall series.

    You've won me over ~ now , on to book 2, Highland Sanctuary...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    great book, highly recommended

    great book, highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    Basically, a Hatfield/McCoy type of feud, in early Scotland. A


    Basically, a Hatfield/McCoy type of feud, in early Scotland. A young woman is kidnapped by a rival clan, to become the wife of the chief, when the elder is killed. It was the Father’s wish that by joining the 2 clans, that the wars would end. As the woman and her captors struggle with their angers, and slowly come to forgiveness, it turns out that there’s a traitor who is trying to keep the enmity alive, between the clans. A very good book, about love and forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Great

    Good book love to read more by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Light, easy read

    I enjoyed this book. It was a nice, easy to read, feel good story. I enjoy historical fiction with Christian morals. Nothing to make me blush either. I appreciate that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Yu

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Enjoyable

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    Was a very enjoyable story. Definately worth reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    recommend

    The heroin is not your typical female who is constantly needing help. She stands her own ground very well by herself. Enjoyed it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Great Story

    I really enjoyed this book. It had sone nice plot twists abd jept me hoojes.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Never mind

    About lending me this book, got it today for free, loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Predictable....

    ...but enjoyable.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    Scottish Lovers

    Having grown up on the historical romances of the 80s, before they learned the accolade of bodice ripper, Taylor's book caught my attention at once. It reminded me of those stories where the heroes were tough, but respectful and chivalrous to the heroines. Abduction isn't seduction; it's the beginning of a new life of renewal leading to peace. This is for the lover of Scottish books indeed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Good Scottish medieval feuding

    I quite enjoyed this debut novel by Jennifer Hudson Taylor. It takes place in a popular time period for secular romances, although it's not often seen in inspirational romances. Fifteen-century Scotland, a rough era and yet with some finer things like art. The heroine is a painter in secret. The hero is all that one could desire in big and brawny. The author takes him on a journey of learning how to love a young woman from an enemy clan. He goes from insensitive, Tarzan-type, to someone who is quite patient and sensitive, and who will defend her with his life when the time comes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5