Customer Reviews for

Highland Bride's Choice: A Novella

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sweet, light, and lovely. Highland Bride's Choice was a wonderfu

Sweet, light, and lovely. Highland Bride's Choice was a wonderful historical romance novella. It was an absolutely lovely read.

Elyne was a good heroine. For the most part, I found her likable. She was loyal and determined to do her duty to her clan. My issue with her,...
Sweet, light, and lovely. Highland Bride's Choice was a wonderful historical romance novella. It was an absolutely lovely read.

Elyne was a good heroine. For the most part, I found her likable. She was loyal and determined to do her duty to her clan. My issue with her, though, was that she played victim to a situation of her own making. No one forced her to get engaged to the laird. Her brother even told her that he would break the engagement if she didn't want it. But, she decided to sign the papers. Then, she complained about her engagement, basically from the moment she finished signing her name and especially when she fell in love with Tavish. It was a little irritating. But, regardless, I liked her.

Tavish was a total sweetheart. He was just adorable. He was lighthearted, sweet, and just wonderful. I adored him. I thought he was perfect.

The romance was mostly sweet. I thought Elyne and Tavish were lovely together. There was a hint of spice, but that wasn't the focus of their relationship. I really liked this couple.

The plot was fast paced. I was kept interested the entire way through. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was lovely.

Highland Bride's Choice was a wonderful historical romance novella. I really enjoyed reading this lovely book. Lovers of romance, if you want a quick, light, sweet read, then this is a book you'll want to check out. 

*I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

posted by WorldsCollide on October 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Good

But a Christian story at heart, should have been implied in the description. I don't like to be preached to without a little warning

posted by 18307537 on November 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet, light, and lovely. Highland Bride's Choice was a wonderfu

    Sweet, light, and lovely. Highland Bride's Choice was a wonderful historical romance novella. It was an absolutely lovely read.

    Elyne was a good heroine. For the most part, I found her likable. She was loyal and determined to do her duty to her clan. My issue with her, though, was that she played victim to a situation of her own making. No one forced her to get engaged to the laird. Her brother even told her that he would break the engagement if she didn't want it. But, she decided to sign the papers. Then, she complained about her engagement, basically from the moment she finished signing her name and especially when she fell in love with Tavish. It was a little irritating. But, regardless, I liked her.

    Tavish was a total sweetheart. He was just adorable. He was lighthearted, sweet, and just wonderful. I adored him. I thought he was perfect.

    The romance was mostly sweet. I thought Elyne and Tavish were lovely together. There was a hint of spice, but that wasn't the focus of their relationship. I really liked this couple.

    The plot was fast paced. I was kept interested the entire way through. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was lovely.

    Highland Bride's Choice was a wonderful historical romance novella. I really enjoyed reading this lovely book. Lovers of romance, if you want a quick, light, sweet read, then this is a book you'll want to check out. 

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2014

    This is a novella - it's free - and a clean, lovely romance stor

    This is a novella - it's free - and a clean, lovely romance story that will make you laugh at times. (ljb)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    Good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this novel. I really enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Fun read

    Fun read, but to short

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    GREAT STORY!

    Really injoyed his book !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Good story

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    good easy read

    this book was very good the storyline was easy to follow! I love the medival highland romances an this was on of the best I have found in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    4 stars

    Nice book just wish it was longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    It could easily been longer. There was more to tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    cute story. I wish it was longer. It could have been a really

    cute story. I wish it was longer. It could have been a really good book if the author really got into it. Just when you are really into the story it is over. It was free so that made it beter. I was a good read I enjoyed the book very much. It was a clean book, no smut.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Enjoyed this one.

    Even for a novella, a little too short. But it was still enjoyable. Will look for more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    I liked the book would have liked it to be longer.

    I liked the book would have liked it to be longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Predictable, but entertaining

    Nothing wrong with it, just a bit predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THE HIGHLAND BRIDE'S CHOICE by Amanda Forester is a quick Mediev

    THE HIGHLAND BRIDE'S CHOICE by Amanda Forester is a quick Medieval Scotland Historical Romance set in 1300's Scottish- English border. #1 in the "Campbell Sister's" trilogy about Highlanders and their lady loves. Practical,youngest Campbell sister, Elyne Campbell, will do as she is told and marry Grigor Grant, laird of the Grant clan,unfortunately, she is attracted to his cousin, Tavish. Tavish Grant, meanwhile, is intrigued and attracted to Elyne's generous disposition and determination. When they are unexpectedly trapped outside the castle gates, by English soldiers, they soon become more than attracted to each other. A sweet,tender Highland romance. Which will Elyne choose,her duty or her true love? A quick, fast paced story of love and duty. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: SWEET

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    Elyne Campbell is doing her duty by marrying the man her brother

    Elyne Campbell is doing her duty by marrying the man her brother has picked for her, the laird of the Grant family. She doesn't believe in romantic love and is willing to do what she must for the family.

    When trying to help a needy guest, she comes across Tavish Grant. Thinking that this is her soon to be betrothed, she is pleasantly surprised by him. She soon learns that Tavish is the cousin of her betrothed. Unfortunately, she finds herself thinking much more Tavish than her own soon to be husband.

    While out riding one morning, she spots Tavish riding out much further than he should due to the English being in the area. She follows him to warn him to be careful and to stay closer to the keep. Tavish is out in search of an abandoned keep that heard about.  He insists that Elyne goes back and says he will go back with her.

    She doesn't want him to miss his exploring, so she decides to go with him.  While there they spot a large army of English soldiers and have to find a way to warn Elyne's family while they stay safe themselves.  As they spend time together, Elyne is drawn more and more to Tavish even though she knows he is forbidden.  Will their attraction for each other win out or will Elyne end up marrying Tavish's cousin?

    This was a very quick read (less than an hour). Even though the story only takes place over a couple of days, you still feel the build up of the romance. Elyne and Tavish worked very well together to thwart the English and you could see that would be the way that their life would be.  I look forward to reading the rest of the books in the trilogy!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2