Customer Reviews for

Highland Mist

Average Rating 4
( 282 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Fell in love with this story!

Review by Jen:
I'm not sure how I came across Donna Grant. My guess it was MySpace that did it. But I soon discovered her blog. Each week she picks a name from a commenter and gives them a free book. When I won, I asked her to pick any one of her books, preferably a fi...
Review by Jen:
I'm not sure how I came across Donna Grant. My guess it was MySpace that did it. But I soon discovered her blog. Each week she picks a name from a commenter and gives them a free book. When I won, I asked her to pick any one of her books, preferably a first book of a series (which rather limited her to two or three books). I am so very glad that she chose this one for me.

I completely fell in love with the world Donna has created for this series. And she did a masterful job laying the foundation for a series that I can't wait to read. The romance between Conall and Glenna is well-written and believable. The characters are interesting. Overall, the book captured my attention and kept me reading and when it was over I had to get my hands on the next book (and move it up in my TBR pile).

posted by RtBBlog on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I can't believe all the positive ratings on this book/series. Do

I can't believe all the positive ratings on this book/series. Donna Grant should take a writing course. Her publishers should hire a proofreader. Chock full of grammatical errors, cliches and typos, the books in this series could have been really wonderful if someone ca...
I can't believe all the positive ratings on this book/series. Donna Grant should take a writing course. Her publishers should hire a proofreader. Chock full of grammatical errors, cliches and typos, the books in this series could have been really wonderful if someone cared enough about the reader to edit it properly. There were many times I had to re-read whole sections of dialogue because the writer changed who was speaking without identifying who was saying what. I think we learned this in fourth grade English. I guess you get what you pay for, but the classics are $.99, so that doesn't excuse this mess.

posted by mmjfirst on December 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Good

    Can't wait to read the next book. This was a good book and even better because it was free.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highlanders, Druids, and Fae, Oh my!

    Highland Mist Highlanders, Druids, and Fae, Oh my! What a wonderful world of historical with a juicy PNR twist. Ms. Grant has created a world of allies and foes, full of drama and betrayals, not to mention the romance. I enjoyed this book aaahhh LOT! Glenna MacNiel was raised by the very man who killed her family. Her adoptive father raised her to use her powers and deep inside she knew something was amiss and knew she was but a pawn to her fathers' success and power. She felt like a prisoner, but a Druid Priestess, her friend had told her that there will be “A man who would claim her….A man who would Free her.” Glenna takes a chance with this dark Highlander knowing he IS the one. Connal MacInnes Honorable Laird had protected the Druids and its secrets, helping his clan survive and thrive. And thrive they did, until his sister, a druid priestess was captured by the MacNiel Clan. As any strong Laird, he attacks, abducts Glenna and plans to trade her for his sisters' return. Little did he know that the very predicament he dreaded was foreseen by his sister and the Druids he protects. This couple would have to go through several trials before getting their HEA. I fell in love with their story. It was very romantic and the sexual tension was strong. Their doubts of each other were a bit annoying but I guess it gave us a more believable relationship. Mentions of historical Druidry, how they passed down information by story telling and other beliefs were fun to read. I highly recommend this book and a series I plan to finish sooner rather than later.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Wonderful love story and drama

    I loved the historical romance, the mysticism of the Druids, and the drama the story line provided. They are definitely going to continue drawing readers to the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    I always enjoy stories of the Highlanders. This was a good read.

    I always enjoy stories of the Highlanders. This was a good read. 500 plus pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Great story despite some grammatical errors

    This is a great story n i loved the druid aspect. But it has some serious mistakes in the spelling and grammer. I bought # 2 & 3 in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Grant is great mix of magic and passion set in historical Scotland

    Donna Grant blends historical Scottland with the magic of myths and legends. She throws in passion, a little bit of strife and a dash of self-discovery to create a beautiful story. She is a wonderful story teller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Aprentices den

    A big tree with a lot of branches to shade the apprentices from cold weather

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    Loved this book, read it so fast....can't wait to read the rest in the series. There was Love, suspense, excitement !!! Never read her books before but will now !!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    A good read. Goes pretty quickly, and pretty straight forward w

    A good read. Goes pretty quickly, and pretty straight forward writing style. I enjoyed it, and am about to start on the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    So so

    First book pretty good, very disappointed in the next two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Slyclaw

    He walks off to look at the camp"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    A Series I'll Follow!

    Definitely became addicted to the series!!! I also really enjoy that the book actually has length. I'm a fast reader and it tends to bum me out that I finish books quickly, I like that the author wrote the book and it was worth my while!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    So glad i ran across this book

    Im soo happy that i accidently bought this book. Its one that instantly grabs your attention and holds until the final page. Loved everything about this book and will definitely buy the next ones and reread this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    NICE

    I suggest this book good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    WOW

    loved it. can't wait to read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Surprised

    I was pleasantly surprised by what a good read this was. Now on to book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!!

    This book will take you to another world!! I found this series from a recommendation from Kresley Cole (whose books are THE BEST) and so far so good!! I usually shy away from any type of historical/paranormal romance, specifically ones with scottish dialect that drives me crazy!!!! But again, the plots, characters & romance are soooo good!! I'd put Donna Grant up there with Kresley Cole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Liked it

    Nice story, a little repetitive but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    A Must Read!!

    Druids and the Highlands, who could ask for more? Great stories that let you go someplace else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Good storie

    Good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5