Customer Reviews for

Highland Protector

Average Rating 4
( 404 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Readers will enjoy Hannah Howell's entertaining Highland historical.

In 1479 in Scotland, Ilsabeth "Twa" Murray Armstrong overhears her fiancé Sir Walter Hepbourn discuss with his cousin their duplicitous plans to betray her and her family. He never had plans to marry an Armstrong. He apparently succeeds with his plan when the king's ag...
In 1479 in Scotland, Ilsabeth "Twa" Murray Armstrong overhears her fiancé Sir Walter Hepbourn discuss with his cousin their duplicitous plans to betray her and her family. He never had plans to marry an Armstrong. He apparently succeeds with his plan when the king's agent is murdered and the evidence points to the Armstrong clan.

Ilsabeth flees to the home of family friend Simon Innes. The king orders Simon, a highly regarded investigator, to find the missing Armstrong broods. The Murray clan visits him too asking him to investigate the homicide. Ilsabeth has demands on him also; she wants him to fall in love with her as she has with him. Of course it would also be nice if he could find the killer. Simon is a misanthrope who distrusts women; however, his avoidance attempts fail because Ilsabeth has a horde supporting her efforts to win his love.

The latest Murray fifteenth century romance (see Highland Destiny) is a terrific entry made fresh with the investigation, the brogue and the humor of the matchmaking throng. Simon is simply stupendous as every clue he finds supports the assertion that the Armstrong clan killed the agent; only his treacherous heart says no and ironically even before he met and fell in love with Ilsabeth he distrusted women. Readers will enjoy Hannah Howell's entertaining Highland historical.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the read

I read all the way to the end and found it was bad from start to finish. The plot was very evident. The sex encounters were vastley overdone. How this "shallow" novel ever got published is beyond me. This author is off my list.

posted by wellreadNC on January 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Readers will enjoy Hannah Howell's entertaining Highland historical.

    In 1479 in Scotland, Ilsabeth "Twa" Murray Armstrong overhears her fiancé Sir Walter Hepbourn discuss with his cousin their duplicitous plans to betray her and her family. He never had plans to marry an Armstrong. He apparently succeeds with his plan when the king's agent is murdered and the evidence points to the Armstrong clan.

    Ilsabeth flees to the home of family friend Simon Innes. The king orders Simon, a highly regarded investigator, to find the missing Armstrong broods. The Murray clan visits him too asking him to investigate the homicide. Ilsabeth has demands on him also; she wants him to fall in love with her as she has with him. Of course it would also be nice if he could find the killer. Simon is a misanthrope who distrusts women; however, his avoidance attempts fail because Ilsabeth has a horde supporting her efforts to win his love.

    The latest Murray fifteenth century romance (see Highland Destiny) is a terrific entry made fresh with the investigation, the brogue and the humor of the matchmaking throng. Simon is simply stupendous as every clue he finds supports the assertion that the Armstrong clan killed the agent; only his treacherous heart says no and ironically even before he met and fell in love with Ilsabeth he distrusted women. Readers will enjoy Hannah Howell's entertaining Highland historical.

    Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Highly Recommended - well worth it (both $ and time!)

    This was a very entertaining book with strong characters, very well written with twists and turns all the way to a proper romantic ending. I look forward to reading more of Hannah Howell's work and will read this one more than once.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Another fav of mine.

    Once again I get lst in time with old friends of mine, loive this author and her books. I read this in one night, one minute I just srarted the book and the next it was done.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Highly - HIGHLY - Recommended!!

    This book has love, mystery, murder, a happy ending - what more could you ask for? I couldn't put it down once I started reading. There was excitement; fear (will she get cleared of the assaination?); compassion. It was just a GREAT read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Highly Recommened-Keeps you glued to book.

    I Love these type of books! They keep you guessing what's going to happen next. and they are great love stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Excellent

    Hannah Howell has as usual written another very entertaining book with plenty of intrigue, humor and of course romance. I loved the entire story !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    GOOD read

    Enjoyed the book. 224 pages, finished quickly. Was slow in some places

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Great series

    a must read for romance readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    I enjoy all of Hannah books

    Verra good book !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Must Read, expecially if you love the Murray Clan

    I love that Simon had finally found someone. I loved his character in the other Hannah Howell books and he finally got his own story with none other than a Murray!!!!! These too just fit together and the loving heart that Ilsabeth has.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Recommended Yes

    One of her best, Kept my interest!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Really good....

    I really enjoyed this book. It was filled with mystery and romance that held my attention until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Good Read

    All in all it was a pretty good book that I would recomend to people who like historical romance stories, she could have done more with this book than she did but it was still a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    very highly recommended very good story

    Hanna Howell is one of my favorite authors of historical romance. I really like her use of the language and the use of gifts that some of the women of the clans have very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8