Customer Reviews for

Highland Sanctuary: Highland Sanctuary

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended Scottish historical romance!!

I received an ebook free of charge from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

What a refreshing book! I am so glad I had a chance to read this story because I enjoyed it very much! I wasn't aware when I requested it that it was the second in a series, but it ca...
I received an ebook free of charge from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

What a refreshing book! I am so glad I had a chance to read this story because I enjoyed it very much! I wasn't aware when I requested it that it was the second in a series, but it can easily be read as a stand alone. After reading this one, though, I am definitely going to go back and read the first book, because if it was half as good as this one, then I know I'm going to love it!

Serena Boyd has had 'fits', or seizures, since she was born. Unfortunately, the book is set in Scotland in a time when anybody who had the falling disease (as epilepsy was called back then) was thought to be possessed by the devil, and many were burned at the stake as witches. For this reason, Serena's mother, Evelina, runs away from her husband to a place where she and Serena can hide out, a place full of misfits that outsiders call The Village of Outcasts. There Serena is raised to be a very kind Christian girl who is loved by all those in the village. Unfortunately, someone is terrorizing the villagers for unknown reasons, so the king sends Gavin MacKenzie, his brother, Leith, and their men to go undercover and find out what's going on. They are working at Braigh castle, restoring and rebuilding it, while also trying to figure out if something untoward happened to the old Laird, and to protect the new Laird, Iain MacBraigh. On their way there, Gavin meets Evelina and Serena, who had a 'fit' and fell off of their wagon, hitting her head. Gavin falls for Serena, but Serena is so scared of anyone finding out about her problem that she tries to keep him at arm's length. That works fine, until she has a fit not only in front of Gavin, but in front of the whole town of people, who denounce her for being possessed.

There is so much more to this story that I can't even begin to get into here! The characters are so well fleshed out that you feel like you know them, and the writing is excellent. The story moves along at a quick pace as there is always something going on. The romance is sweet and Gavin makes an excellent hero!

I can't wait to go back and read the first book, Highland Blessings, and I will be waiting anxiously for the next book to come out! I'm keeping my fingers crossed that Leith will get his own story one day :D

posted by jwitt33 on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I'm stuck!

Everytime I try to go past page 17 it takes me back to page 9. Anyone else habing this issue? I tried deleting and reloading it but it does the same thing. Help! Jen

posted by JMPerren on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Highly recommend jmm 44

    Characters in the book were very well described---it was hard to put the book down-----And it had a great ending!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Good story

    It had lots of twists and turns. Lots of talk of faith, love and sacrifice. It goes to show Gods words dont change no matter the time period.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    Highland Sanctuary ¿  2nd in Jennifer Hudson Taylor¿s Highlan




    Highland Sanctuary – 
    2nd in Jennifer Hudson Taylor’s Highland series and as riveting as her first.
    I’ve been emotionally invested in these characters and the intrigue of their story for the entire 331 pages. There was no putting down to pick up later. No time was spared in waiting to find out what was going to happen next. The emotional impact is intense. The story, consuming.

    From the delightful tartan binding and medieval castle featured cover to the Highland intrigue, romance, and colourful celtic characters; vivid descriptions that captured my senses to superstitions that grieved my spirit; this story is not to be missed.

    A Fantastic addition to the Scotland Reading Challenge .
    Thank you , Jennifer, for sharing your writing gift with us!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Wonderfully heartfelt

    Loved the story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Hard to put down

    The romantic element of this book was very satisfying. The other aspect of the book was good too - it just almost got too much for me towards the end. Really good though!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Loved it!

    I love this era of historical romance. This was a well thought out book. It is has a partner that was interwoven well enough for me to follow without having to go back and reread excerpts from that one, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    Very Nice Read

    Thoroughly enjoyed the story from the start. I had a very hard time putting my Nook down at times....and to think this was a Free Friday Book. I enjoyed this book so much that I bought Highland Blessing by Jennifer Hudson Taylor which I also enjoyed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Well-Written and Enjoyable

    I haven't read the others in this series, but this story easily stood alone and made me want to check out the others. Enjoyable characters in the historical context of Scotland. Well-written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Great read

    Grear read hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    The Freshest storyline I've come across in a long time

    What an awesome plot! Highland Sanctuary has one of the freshest storylines I've come across in a long time. The heroine, Serena, is like no heroine I've ever read. She's beautiful, sweet and inspiring. A heroine you genuinely root for right away. So what's unique?
    Serena has a disability that in Scotland during the clan wars puts her in danger of being burned at the stake as a witch or as one demon possessed. Author, Jennifer Hudson Taylor does a wonderful job in leading up to this threat, and makes good on all promises on suspense by the end of the book.
    Serena has epileptic fits that must be hidden. Her mother has made whatever sacrifices are necessary to keep Serena safe, but this faithful mother doesn't stop there. She instils in Serena a deep faith that one day God will provide a loving husband who will cherish and protect Serena as well.
    How many people with disabilities, or those of us with loved ones who face health challenges, long for the joys of romance and a loyal life partner?
    The story clips along at a fast pace, drawing the reader into Braigh Castle in Scotland and the village where Serena seeks refuge. Her hero, Gavin MacKenzie, finds her, and from the start you long for them to come together.
    But there's plenty of danger to threaten their lives and happiness so that the reader turns the pages faster, and enemies that return long after Serena thinks she's safe.
    I highly recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    RATING:4.5! A MUST READ! MEDIEVAL SCOTLAND AT ITS BEST! HIGHLAND SANCTUARY BY JENNIFER HUDSON TAYLOR...

    HIGHLAND SANCTUARY by Jennifer Hudson Taylor is a delightful inspirational historical romance set in Medieval Scotland. It is written with depth,details,with characters that will steal your heart and a few reappearing characters from "Highland Blessings". Gavin MacKenzie,a chieftain heir,who is hired to restore the Castle Braigh,finds a village of Outcasts,and finds the love of his live. Serena Boyd,comely lass,has falling out fits(seizures),considered an outcast,her mother and nurse ran and hide from Serena's father to keep Serena alive. This is the story of a mother's love,faith,forgiveness,outcasts,secrets,sacrifice, oddities,people's differences,destiny,betrayal, vengeance,romance,love, burning a witch at the stake,and a father's revenge. When Gavin is attracted to Serena. When he learns of her affiction he is determined to save her from being cast as a witch and burnt at the stake. While other's have differnt ideas,especially her father. Serena never knew her father. But her mother would do anything for her daughter. A mother's love who is willing to sacrifice all to save her daughter. Gavin,would do anything including calling in favors from King and family to save his beloved Serena. Since he found Serena he does not want to lose her. Although,the Laird who Serena is working for would marry her,she refuses him. Gavin has won her heart and her trust. A must read that is fast paced,action packed,full of surprises,a few twists and turns."Highland Sanctuary" is sure to capture any and all historical romance,Medieval,readers and anyone who enjoys reading about Scotland. Received for review from Net Galley and the publisher. Details can be found at Abington Press and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1