Customer Reviews for

Highland Shifter

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Helen can find what she sets her heart to finding, in this case

Helen can find what she sets her heart to finding, in this case it's the teenage boy Simon McAllister, traveling all the way to Scotland is nothing compared to traveling back in time and finding Simon, in a kilt, sporting a giant sword, and yes in his thirties.

Traveli...
Helen can find what she sets her heart to finding, in this case it's the teenage boy Simon McAllister, traveling all the way to Scotland is nothing compared to traveling back in time and finding Simon, in a kilt, sporting a giant sword, and yes in his thirties.

Traveling back to her time Simon tags along determined to find out why their paths crossed, being a druid he knows nothing happens by chance, and the attraction he feels for her doesn't quite allow him to leave her, especially when her shady boss breaks into her apartment. There is something going on and he won't let Helen get hurt, even if it means sticking around in the time of noise, cars and electricity just a little while longer.

I so enjoyed this! As the forth book in the series, this one is a stand alone, but still gives readers a glimpse into the lives of the couples that came before. Now I haven't read the previous three books, but now I want to! Bybee writes so well, Highland Shifter is full of action, romance and time-travel! Not just one way ticket to the past but a real entertaining back and forth. Bybee creates worlds in an effortless way and there's so much going on you don't get bored reading it, there will be no skipping pages here!

The romance was starting with a flirty slow burn and developed into deeper emotions, sexual tension and lust before we get to the fire works! Simon I loved, a man of two worlds born in the present and living in sixteenth century, he had best of both worlds, the modern view but with the dominant sixteenth century vibe. Simply delicious. I liked Helen too, she had a lot of package to bring to a relationship, being an orphan and stepping into Simon's 20+ family. With her rejection issues she put the brakes on with Simon more than once, but that was so enjoyable to read!

I will definitely be looking into the earlier books in the series, I'm quite hooked now... especially after reading the last chapter, now I have to read Amber's story! What a cliffhanger!

I was trying to think of something to point out that I didn't like and well-- came up empty... this is a 5 Star read!

posted by NiinaCs_Blog on May 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

LIked the idea...execution was lacking a bit.

I love the idea of time travel to any time in Scotland's past, but I have read other authors who have done this much better. This is the only Bybee title I have read, so that might be part of the reason I didn't like it as much as I might have, as this title isn't the ...
I love the idea of time travel to any time in Scotland's past, but I have read other authors who have done this much better. This is the only Bybee title I have read, so that might be part of the reason I didn't like it as much as I might have, as this title isn't the first in the series, but even so it felt like getting back and forth from past to future was much too easy. And there was very little exploration of why the bads guys were bad guys...they needed to have more filled out personalities...more in-depth explanation of how they became who they are.

If you are looking for a beach read or something to skim on a rainy afternoon, this would be okay, but there are a lot better reads out there to spend your time with.

posted by DragonflyBlue on July 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Helen can find what she sets her heart to finding, in this case

    Helen can find what she sets her heart to finding, in this case it's the teenage boy Simon McAllister, traveling all the way to Scotland is nothing compared to traveling back in time and finding Simon, in a kilt, sporting a giant sword, and yes in his thirties.

    Traveling back to her time Simon tags along determined to find out why their paths crossed, being a druid he knows nothing happens by chance, and the attraction he feels for her doesn't quite allow him to leave her, especially when her shady boss breaks into her apartment. There is something going on and he won't let Helen get hurt, even if it means sticking around in the time of noise, cars and electricity just a little while longer.

    I so enjoyed this! As the forth book in the series, this one is a stand alone, but still gives readers a glimpse into the lives of the couples that came before. Now I haven't read the previous three books, but now I want to! Bybee writes so well, Highland Shifter is full of action, romance and time-travel! Not just one way ticket to the past but a real entertaining back and forth. Bybee creates worlds in an effortless way and there's so much going on you don't get bored reading it, there will be no skipping pages here!

    The romance was starting with a flirty slow burn and developed into deeper emotions, sexual tension and lust before we get to the fire works! Simon I loved, a man of two worlds born in the present and living in sixteenth century, he had best of both worlds, the modern view but with the dominant sixteenth century vibe. Simply delicious. I liked Helen too, she had a lot of package to bring to a relationship, being an orphan and stepping into Simon's 20+ family. With her rejection issues she put the brakes on with Simon more than once, but that was so enjoyable to read!

    I will definitely be looking into the earlier books in the series, I'm quite hooked now... especially after reading the last chapter, now I have to read Amber's story! What a cliffhanger!

    I was trying to think of something to point out that I didn't like and well-- came up empty... this is a 5 Star read!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    I Highly recommend this book

    I have just started reading Katherine Bybee and I really enjoy her writing style. The characters are built well enough that I can picture them as I read. The dialogue is well written and the storyline is fun. I am Definately going to read the entire series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Fun, fantastic, phenominal ride

    The entire series it wonderful. Fast paced but with great character development. Fun to read and agreat escape.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    Some time travel magic and men in kilts. Loved it

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    I just finished Highland Shifter. This entire series was so goo

    I just finished Highland Shifter. This entire series was so good, I read all four books in five days! I couldn't bring myself to put my nook down; I just had to see what came next! The individual stories blended together so seamlessly that it seemed the next book picked up where the previous one left off. I found myself so captivated by the characters that they felt like friends and I cheered and cried along with them. Thank you Catherine for such a wonderful series and I anxiously await Amber's and Cian's stories. I hope to see them soon.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    LOVED THIS BOOK

    I have read the whole series and I loved them all!!! I am hoping that the author finishes the whole series.... I am dying to know what happens to Amber and her brother, Cian!! I totally recommend this book and all the others in this series!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    none

    a great read worth the money

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Lb

    This time travel series was wonderful! I cant wait for Ambers story. I bought the whole series than all of Bybees books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Absolutly amazing

    You simply have to read this book! I am about to order all her books. Awesome writer. You will not be sorry

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Ambers story.....????

    At a loss as to where Ambers story is.. Can someone help

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Awesome read

    I loved her story line. But am upet a bit because I thought Amber's story was coming up. Guess I was wrong. I don't read a lot of werewolf, shapeshifters books. But this one was done in great taste. 5 STARS?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    More Please!!! Just keep this series coming!! Thank you Ms.Bybee

    More Please!!! Just keep this series coming!! Thank you Ms.Bybee for a amazing series of books!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    The series is GREAT! Captivating and easy quick reading. I loved

    The series is GREAT! Captivating and easy quick reading. I loved each one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Awesome

    Great read, couldn't put it down once I started. Wonderful story and characters. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    This is a must read series

    This is the 4th book in this series and I have to say it is every bit as good as the first 3. I cannot wait for the next one to come out and see what happens next...you'll know what I mean when you read this one :).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LIked the idea...execution was lacking a bit.

    I love the idea of time travel to any time in Scotland's past, but I have read other authors who have done this much better. This is the only Bybee title I have read, so that might be part of the reason I didn't like it as much as I might have, as this title isn't the first in the series, but even so it felt like getting back and forth from past to future was much too easy. And there was very little exploration of why the bads guys were bad guys...they needed to have more filled out personalities...more in-depth explanation of how they became who they are.

    If you are looking for a beach read or something to skim on a rainy afternoon, this would be okay, but there are a lot better reads out there to spend your time with.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Really liked

    This was a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Love

    I also wanted to add, although its been said this book is a stand alone, it is. However i would recommend you read the first three:-) SO WORTH the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Love

    I don't want this series to ever end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    G

    G

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3