BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Highland Sinner

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The latest Highland romance is a fun fresh tale

In 1478 Scotland, Tormand Murray is used to waking up with a hangover and a woman. However, a different type of ache in his head and the smell wake him up this time. His head has a large bump from where he either banged it or someone banged him; the smell comes from t...
In 1478 Scotland, Tormand Murray is used to waking up with a hangover and a woman. However, a different type of ache in his head and the smell wake him up this time. His head has a large bump from where he either banged it or someone banged him; the smell comes from the woman sharing his bed as he recognizes the odor of death. Someone murdered his companion.

The witch Morainn Ross has been haunted of late by visions of murder and a hunk with two different eye colors. When she meets a bewildered Tormand she recognizes him as the man of her dreams. Tormand knows immediately the witch is his life mate. He needs to persuade his beloved they belong together and while keeping her safe investigate the homicide of his bed companion starting with how he got there and just who she is.

The latest Highland romance is a fun fresh tale that contains the usual premise of a wild Murray male meeting a brave female and knowing his true love instantly. The story line is refreshed by the homicide inquiry that is part dangerous, part loving and part amusing as if the Thin Man and his wife went back to the fifteenth century. Fans will enjoy Hannah Howell¿s Highland romance.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sorry

I was not able to finish the book. I like to hear the Irish accent but I had a very hard time reading it. Trying to read with an accent that isn't your own,... i just could not pay attention to the story. This is the first book (after a second and third attempt)that I w...
I was not able to finish the book. I like to hear the Irish accent but I had a very hard time reading it. Trying to read with an accent that isn't your own,... i just could not pay attention to the story. This is the first book (after a second and third attempt)that I was just not able to pick it back up.

posted by Lassody on December 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Highland romance is a fun fresh tale

    In 1478 Scotland, Tormand Murray is used to waking up with a hangover and a woman. However, a different type of ache in his head and the smell wake him up this time. His head has a large bump from where he either banged it or someone banged him; the smell comes from the woman sharing his bed as he recognizes the odor of death. Someone murdered his companion.<BR/><BR/>The witch Morainn Ross has been haunted of late by visions of murder and a hunk with two different eye colors. When she meets a bewildered Tormand she recognizes him as the man of her dreams. Tormand knows immediately the witch is his life mate. He needs to persuade his beloved they belong together and while keeping her safe investigate the homicide of his bed companion starting with how he got there and just who she is.<BR/><BR/>The latest Highland romance is a fun fresh tale that contains the usual premise of a wild Murray male meeting a brave female and knowing his true love instantly. The story line is refreshed by the homicide inquiry that is part dangerous, part loving and part amusing as if the Thin Man and his wife went back to the fifteenth century. Fans will enjoy Hannah Howell¿s Highland romance.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Catches the eye instantly

    Any book by Ms. Howell is a very good read. She fleshes out the characters fully, I can almost see them. Her story is always full bodied. This reader is an avid fan

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    A Long-Time Fan

    I have been a fan of Hannah Howell's since "Elfking's Lady", which I read when I was about eighteen, I am now in my thirties and still reading her novels. She has a wonderful ability to entrance the reader and keep them on the edge of their seat with her characters' adventures. I run to the book store to buy anything new that she has written, and am never disappointed. I love the scottish romance and the use of the scottish brogue makes the story that much more authentic to those times in history. Keep writing hannah, and I will keep reading!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Sorry

    I was not able to finish the book. I like to hear the Irish accent but I had a very hard time reading it. Trying to read with an accent that isn't your own,... i just could not pay attention to the story. This is the first book (after a second and third attempt)that I was just not able to pick it back up.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Highland sinner

    One the best books I have read. Love the characters. Lots of adventure with a little supernatural thrown in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Ok.

    Sentences too wordy. Good story line and live her Highlanders but sonetimes her sentences are repitious. Will always read her books though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Highly recommended

    You really must read this book. Its funny, romantic, and is simply put a damn good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended! Great read.

    All of Hannah Howell books are great. The story of Tormand and Moriann is so interesting. There are many trials they must overcome to be together. Hannah Howell is a great story teller. I know when I get her books they will be interesting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    OK READ

    My first Hannah Howel romance novel, it was just ok!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!!

    Without a doubt her best book in the series. There was a fantastic plot and a great romance entwined. All Howell's books should be this good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love those Highlanders!

    As usual, Ms. Howell always entertains her readers, and keeps us coming back for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5