Customer Reviews for

Highland Velvet (Velvet Montgomery Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love those Montgomerys!

Read these books back in high school and love them even. more twentithree years later. I love her heroines, not waiting for a man but taking charge themselves.. And the men, I love the strength. of character..

posted by DiannaSummers on April 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awful

I did not like Stephen's story at all. It was so horrible. I mean come on, its so ridiculous to have him and go change his last name to hers. It was a romantic gesture, I suppose. But none the less, Bronwyn should of loved him no matter what, not reform him into a Scott...
I did not like Stephen's story at all. It was so horrible. I mean come on, its so ridiculous to have him and go change his last name to hers. It was a romantic gesture, I suppose. But none the less, Bronwyn should of loved him no matter what, not reform him into a Scottish. The story kept dragging on and I hated Bronwyn. She wont shut up about her clan, being a Scot, and she just kept whining. She is proud, but too proud. Stephen was sweet and she was the god awful one! I am just shocked how horrible her character was. AWFUL! (I know other people might like this book, but I just can't stand it!)

posted by xoxome on January 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Love those Montgomerys!

    Read these books back in high school and love them even. more twentithree years later. I love her heroines, not waiting for a man but taking charge themselves.. And the men, I love the strength. of character..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    I highly recommend all of the Velvet Montgomery Series books!

    I highly recommend all of the Velvet Montgomery Series books! They are such a joy to read over and over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Great Book

    Love this book and this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ;OD

    Stephen and Bronwyn what a couple and Bronwyn what a spitfire she had fire in her belly. I Like the second story in the Montgomery saga. This book is an oldie but goodie for me I read it when I Was younger and reading it today I still liked it. This book was issue in 1982 and some books read today does not have the same effect on me. In all it was good action pack nice with some romance thrown in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best of this series

    This was a great book, I loved the characters and storyline, although the heroine was a little slow to realize her feelings. I thought the author stays more focused on the plot with this one over the first in the series.
    Overall a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT STORY LINE!

    Absolutely loved this book! I have read and re-read all four Velvet series. Jude Deveraux writes a grasping story line while entertwining characters from the other books. These are must reads! I started out of sequence but went back and read them all in order. They make great summer readings for the beach. Very enjoyable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    Awful

    I did not like Stephen's story at all. It was so horrible. I mean come on, its so ridiculous to have him and go change his last name to hers. It was a romantic gesture, I suppose. But none the less, Bronwyn should of loved him no matter what, not reform him into a Scottish. The story kept dragging on and I hated Bronwyn. She wont shut up about her clan, being a Scot, and she just kept whining. She is proud, but too proud. Stephen was sweet and she was the god awful one! I am just shocked how horrible her character was. AWFUL! (I know other people might like this book, but I just can't stand it!)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2003

    WOW

    THIS WAS THE FIRST HISTORICAL ROMANCE I HAVE READ-AND SO FAR I HAVE READ IT MORE THAN OTHER BOOKS I HAVE READ. THE PLOT WAS THICK, THE ATTITUDE WAS TANGIBLE, AND THE LOVE WAS JUST THAT. I CAN NOT WAIT TO FIND THE REST OF THE VELVET SERIES.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    Forget About This One!!!

    Read the first book of this series and HATED it - but decided to try the 2nd series book, Highland Velvet - could not possibly be as terrible as The Velvet Promise, right? WRONG, it was worse! Save your money. I cannot believe this author is on the New York Times list of recommended writers - this is drivel - IMHO!! Save your money!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Alder's Bio

    Name:: T.T Shame on you. <br>
    Age:: 16 moons old. <br>
    Gender:: &female <br>
    Appearance:: Alder is a long-limbed she-cat who has, though, a lithe and small stature. Her pelt is mostly a fluffy ecru, with almost-artistic splotches of hazel fur spread out unevenly. Her underbelly, paws, and muzzle are stark white. <br>
    Persona:: She tends to be snarky and sarcastic, though she tries hard to be compassionate. Her past has been sprinkled here and there with trauma and unease, and she has severe reactions to said things and memories, including kleptomania, schizophrenia, and being passive-aggresive. Because of this, shd has a 504 plan. <br>
    Excels in Science, especially genetics and heredity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Litho's Bio

    ~~Name: Litho ~~Age: 18 moons ~~Gender: male ~~Appearance: He is a dark gray tabby cat with golden amber eyes. He wears a beige trench coat in the winter. ~~Ranking: student ~~Sexual orientation: bisexual ~~Personality: Kind of a tsundere. He's a lot kinder to people he trusts. ~~Other: He majors in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Quite awful

    This book was one of the worst I've read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Gatta read this book

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    One star is too many!!!

    This book was a waste of money and time. Really bad!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Cute, but

    A bit farfetched. Okay read. Broneyn is rather a *****.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    Loved It

    I loved all four stories in the Velvet Series. This was number 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    great book

    i have always enjoyed reading any book by jude. i loved this book, but i have to say that the character of stephen was protrayed as a weaklin, always sucumming to browyn's wishes and insults, and i found that quite frustrating, despite that the book was absolutly amazing and i love the montgomeries, thay are an awesome group of male characters, fun, loyal, brave, passionate,stubborn, men who love their women and not to mention very handsome, at least from what we are told by jude. great read and definately worth my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    Ok story

    Stephen Montgomery is made too weak in this book and Bronwyn MacArran is too butchy in the story. But other wise the book is ok if you like weak stories with little romance. I love the author but few of her novels like this one and Knight in Shining Armor slide down hill. I'm looking forward to reading Velvet Angel. I'm a good judge of romance novels, I read at least three novels a week.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    My favorite Velvet - so far

    After reading 3 1/2 of the 4-part Velvet series, this one is still my favorite - but that's mainly because Stephen is my favorite Montgomery brother. He's funny and smart - and Bronwyn is the perfect match for him. Another well written story (lots of sad stuff here, though). The author does a better job than others describing the events and details of the time, too - she paints a colorful mental picture. The love story is strong - you just know these two will live a long, happy life (full of constant debate!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    Form your own opinion

    I read a lot of reviews before i decided to read this novel. In one review on another site i heard Bronwyn turned Stephen into milk toast in one of this site I heard Stephen was a rude. I don't know if people just thought that or forgot what the book was about but some people need to go back and read this book. This is the second Jude Deveraux book i've read, i started with the velvet series having heard it was good, and found that Bronwyn and Stephen were both GOOD CHARACTERS. Both had problems but that is to be expected. Anyway what i'm saying is i almost passed a good book up b/c of what other's said. I enjoyed this book and plan to read the third book as soon as possible. Form your own opinion! If this book interested you READ IT and find out for yourself if it was worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6