Customer Reviews for

Highlander Most Wanted: The Montgomerys and Armstrongs

Average Rating 4
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Another great addition for Ms. Banks

ABOUT THE BOOK:
In Highlander Most Wanted, a reclusive woman content to live in the shadows shows a Highland warrior the true meaning of love.

Genevieve McInnes is locked behind the fortified walls of McHugh Keep, captive of a cruel laird who takes great pleasure ...
ABOUT THE BOOK:
In Highlander Most Wanted, a reclusive woman content to live in the shadows shows a Highland warrior the true meaning of love.

Genevieve McInnes is locked behind the fortified walls of McHugh Keep, captive of a cruel laird who takes great pleasure in ruining her for any other man. Yet when Bowen Montgomery storms the gates on a mission of clan warfare, Genevieve finds that her spirit is bent but not broken. Still, her path toward freedom remains uncertain. Unable to bear the shame of returning to a family that believes her dead or to abandon others at the keep to an imposing new laird, Genevieve opts for the peaceful life of an abbess. But Bowen’s rugged sensuality stirs something deep inside her that longs to be awakened by his patient, gentle caress—something warm, wicked, and tempting.

Bowen seizes his enemy’s keep, unprepared for the brooding and reclusive woman who captures his heart. He’s enchanted by her fierce determination, her unusual beauty, and her quiet, unfailing strength. But wooing her will take more than a seasoned seducer’s skill. For loving Genevieve, he discovers, means giving her back the freedom that was stolen from her—even if it means losing her forever.

REVIEW:
Really, what more can you expect other than a fabulous book, with a great plot, awesome in-depth characters, and a can’t-turn-your-eyes-away plot from Ms. Banks?

This piece was really good. It had all the mixings for a book that stays with you long after you put it down. I loved all the twist and turns in this as well as the great characterization. I felt as though the author made her characters work for their HEA, and that’s the way it should be. Nothing should just be given. I also loved how we got to see characters from the previous book, that was a nice touch.

This one tore at my heartstrings, frustrated me, and made me laugh all at once. It’s definitely one to pick up as soon as it’s released. Five out of five stars for a job well done.

posted by DComfort on January 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

?

Too many plot spoilers. Revealing way too much info of the book. Why do these ppl do this???? Please stop! Ppl do not want to know every detail of the book before reading it. Its like knowing the ending of a movie before you c it. It ruins it. But i guess for you plot s...
Too many plot spoilers. Revealing way too much info of the book. Why do these ppl do this???? Please stop! Ppl do not want to know every detail of the book before reading it. Its like knowing the ending of a movie before you c it. It ruins it. But i guess for you plot spoilers, you dont care. You pribably stand at tge movie theater door and tell that too and laugh at the disappointed looks.

posted by 8888649 on March 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This has to be one of the most romantic books of Maya Banks that

    This has to be one of the most romantic books of Maya Banks that I have read. So far my favourite is In Bed With A Highlander (which I absolutely loved), but this one might just beat it out on the romance level. I really felt the connection between these characters and the novel really focused on the Bowen and Genevieve finding each other and finding a way to be together. Genevieve has been broken in so many ways. And the clan she lives with have made wrong accusations towards her (which I think means they all deserve a punch in the face) and she has nothing left. Or at least that is what she believe until Bowen shows her what she has. And he shows her that she has more than just him; she has friends, and family as well. I loved the gradual change that we see in Genevieve and I loved when she proves just how strong she when she takes up her bow. I was so proud during that moment!
    I found this book different from the others in the flow of the book and the sequence of events. It didn’t focus on a mystery, or build up to some huge war/battle (don’t get me wrong there is definitely some fighting), and It really made me focus on the romance. I had a been feeling while reading the novel that I knew who the next novel would be about and the synopsis was finally revealed not that long ago along with the cover. And I gave my evil laugh as I was proven right! Highlander Most Wanted by Maya Banks does leave me wanting Bowen (*SIGH—if only), and I can’t wait for the next one.




    Good:




    Bowen—doing what is best for Genevieve even if it doesn’t include him. Damn I love him




    Genevieve—After suffering through so much she still proves to be strong.




    Bad:




    There were many moments when my attention was wondering, and even times when I was frustrated and basically yelling at my eReader for them to kiss.




    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):




    Overall, I loved the story. I found it filled with romance, and focusing just enough time on both the romance and the sexual content.  I loved the characters and I found it very easy to get into the book. There was nothing wrong with the writing, and I never really had to re-read something to understand it. Overall Highlander Most Wanted left me wanting more from Maya Banks and her Highlanders, sadly I have to wait until September




    This book was provided courtesy of the author/publisher for review; however, this is no way affected my review.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    great series

    great series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In the last book we met Graime and Eveline but in Highlander Mo

    In the last book we met Graime and Eveline but in Highlander Most Wanted we meet Graime's younger brother Bowen. Even though this book involves two different main characters, I recommend reading the books in succession. There is a lot that takes place in the last book that rolls over into this one. It had been a while since I read the first book and it took me a few minutes to get my bearings before I remembered what had happened previously.

    Even though I didn't like the heroine as much as the last, I still found Genevieve to be interesting and complex. She was abducted on the way to her betrothal and was raped and forced to be a whore by her captor. She's looked down upon and abused by pretty much everyone in the clan. She's learned to don a blank mask and shut herself out to those around her but when Bowen comes riding in to take over the clan's land, she finds herself slowly softening towards him.

    Bowen was a great hero in my opinion. He comes into the keep, guns blazing ready for a fight, only to find the Laird of the clan has deserted his people. Not only that but he stumbles across a woman who's been sorely abused by both the Laird's son and the people of the clan. He immediately takes her safety upon himself and sees to make sure that she doesn't come to further harm from the other clan members. However, there is more to her story than originally thought and he finds himself battling family, loyalty and his heart.

    Neither of these characters were simple, nor was the story. There is a lot that takes place in this story and I liked that Graime and Eveline make an appearance. However, I felt like some of the drama that takes place was unnecessary. At one point Bowen believes that Genevieve was a willing whore and is quick to judge her. Of course the truth comes out and he feels horrible for his assumptions but he seemed to have done that a lot. He would think poorly on certain things when it came to Genevieve when he didn't have all of the facts. Needless to say, there were a few times where I just wanted to yell at him.

    I loved seeing the characters from the last book and it seems like we will continue to see them throughout the series. I can't wait to find out who stars in the next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Good

    I really liked this book, it was really amazing at the beganning, then I lost intrest. One thing that kept on buging was the fact tht no rape victim would act like that. Cold in the beganning than a dude comes along and she falls in love with his hotness and he has sex with him. And she doesn't feel guilty about that because he gave her a... choice. Oh my!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Great read!

    I enjoyed this book. I look forward to the next Maya Banks book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Good book!!

    Must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Most beautiful ending!!

    It must be hard to write a really good ending for a romance novel. Typically even if the story is really good the ending just kind of fizzles out. But the ending to this story was absolutely beautiful. I love maya banks and read all of her books when they come out, Some I like more than others but I usually like them all. And she has quite a few that I really love and I have read them several times. This one was kind of annoying me a little bit through the middle because she had betrayed the Montgomery clan and I thought that was a lot for them to forgive and I don't like When a heroine has a serious Character flaw. But the author turned that into a wonderful forgiveness and the ending was worth anything I might have found exception to within the book. I really love the hero in the story and was disappointed that they didn't have more adventure throughout the plot. I just wanted to spend more time with them I guess, but maya banks did such a wonderful job on the ending it was so beautiful I cried, definitely worth the read. The first in this serious was amazing, and the next looks to be really good as well. Thank you Maya Banks, you write the perfect books for me! Not since Julie Garwood have I enjoyed novels as much. My favorites are the first KGI novel and the kGI novel with Nathan in it. Also an Earlier one of hers that featured two short stories with women who turned into big cats like a cheetah and a cougar. It was the second story in that set that was the most wonderful. But most of hers are really amazing I've only just disliked one or two that she has written. I'm glad she is doing more mainstream work now because her first books were extremely erotic, they were good but not for the sensitive. Thank you to Maya Banks for many wonderful hours of reading!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent, as always.

    I don't see a lot of people keep saying that Genevieve was constantly in trouble... She wasn't in any more, or less, trouble than any other heroine in a book of this kind. Yeah, she was a bit downtrodden, and continually ill-treated—But she persevered instead of being brought down. I loved the book, maybe not as much as I did the first, but it was still good and I'll be waiting for the third with eager anticipation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    WONDERFUL SERIES - This is my 5th book by Ms Bank and I have enj

    WONDERFUL SERIES - This is my 5th book by Ms Bank and I have enjoyed them all. This book has many twists, alot of suspense, love and tragedy. Of the 5 I've read, this was my least favorite because not as much action. The author is getting better with the love scenes, and this is the best so far. I would recommend this series highly. But, you must read them in order - so start with Never Seduce a Scot first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    Highlander Most Wanted is the second book in Maya Banks The Mont

    Highlander Most Wanted is the second book in Maya Banks The Montgomerys and Armstrongs series and picks up directly after Never Seduce a Scot, which united the Montgermy and Armstrong clans. In this installment, Bowen Montgomery, along with his brother Teague and two of the Armstrong brothers, are sent to secure the McHugh holding and locate Patrick McHugh in order to bring him to justice for his part in the atrocities committed in Never Seduce a Scot.

    Genevieve McInnis has suffered numerous horrors at the hands of the McHugh laird and his son. Desperate to escape the ongoing abuse by the McHugh clansmen and women, she seeks out Bowen to request his assistance placing her in an abbey. Bowen quickly becomes intrigued by and protective of Genevieve and is shocked when she proves that she is a warrior at heart during an enemy attack. But Bowen has much to overcome, including Genevieve's own perceptions, before he can claim her as his own.

    Highlander Most Wanted is an emotional roller coaster and Banks has perfected the mix of romance, drama, and action. The world Banks' has created is rich in detail and once you've immersed yourself in it you don't want to leave. The characters draw you to them through their strengths, weaknesses, trials and triumphs. The secondary characters are also engaging and I'm looking forward to the continuation of the series to see which ones we will learn more about.

    Banks' heroines may have tragic pasts, but they have an inner strength that comes shining through as they overcome the obstacles before them (and often the hard headed hero). Her heroes are pretty amazing as well. Tough, battle-scarred, and willing to put aside their prejudices for the women they love these sexy Scots will set your hearts thumping and your eyes watering.

    If you're a fan of Julie Garwood's Scottish historicals, then you'll love Maya Banks' Highlanders. The Montgomerys and Armstrongs series should be at the top of your TBR!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Very good

    This story is quite different from the usual romantic history novels, it involves a woman who was raped and abused by a man and anyone of his choosing , and how true love saved her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Highlander Most Wanted is the second book in the Montgomerys &am

    Highlander Most Wanted is the second book in the Montgomerys & Armstrongs series by New York Times best-selling author Maya Banks. It picks up after the events of Never Seduce a Scot at the McHugh stronghold/castle/keep. Each book can be a standalone, but I am glad that I read them in order.




    While reading Highlander Most Wanted , I realized how important characters are in a novel. Nothing in the book that happened really surprised me, and there wasn't much in the way of world-building. I'm not saying this in a negative way - there's really not supposed to be in this historical romance and the writing was still good.. There was, however, these wonderful, charming, and complicated characters that I found myself really invested in. Want a big surprise? I usually avoid literary rape victims or situations at all cost. Want to know why? Too bad, that has nothing to do with the review. Anyway, Maya Banks handled Genevieve and her story in such a way that was not uncomfortable and believable (mostly). I think I read the book because I thought Genevieve deserved a man that would heal her and love her, and make her world right. I wanted her to be fixed. She was a broken woman would never gave up at any point, and I liked her.




    The other characters in the novel did not draw me in quite as much, but I did enjoy reading them. Bowen Montgomery, the male protagonist, is a ladies' man who storms the McHugh keep with his brother and the kin of his sister-in-law. He is beguiled by the beautiful, scarred Genevieve and learns what it means to be in love. I loved watching him grow as a character because he acknowledged the way he made the women of his past feel and felt guilty. Let's be honest - he was a man-whore before, and it was sweet that he did not care that his lady was "used goods". (Why is there not more of this in the book world or anywhere?) So, he feels bad for his whoring and falls in love with a woman who needs to be loved. It really makes everything feel right with the world.




    Taliesan McHugh played the part of "heroine's best friend", and she didn't really serve a lot of purpose in the book other than being really nice to Genevieve. I think the reason that we didn't get her back story or any kind of development is that this book is a part of a series, and Highland Ever After is coming out in September. (I'm not complaining.)




    As I said before, the story was at the McHugh castle/keep/whatever with the characters hanging around while everyone figured out what would be done with the clan. The laird had hauled his biscuits, along with most of the supplies and warriors, and left the women, children, and the odd husband/father to their own devices. They were fairly awful people, and I think they were merely tools to show what a good person Genevieve was. (If you thought Eveline was treated badly in Never Seduce a Scot , just you wait.) There was fighting and bonding and banter and falling in love, and it was fun to read. The dialect still bothered me a bit, but I really think I'm mostly over the "tis" and "twas" thing.




    To the point, and to wrap things up, Highlander Most Wanted is a really good book with appealing characters and a nice story. It is a historical romance novel, so there is sexytime (and much more than the first book). I think if you enjoy reading historical romance, this is not a book to pass up. I probably wouldn't have started reading this series on my own, but I will be continuing it.




    *To satisfy FTC guidelines, I am disclosing that I received a copy of the book from the publisher via TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. It has in no way affected the outcome. All opinions expressed are rambling, honest, and completely my own.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Must read

    This was a very good story. Very emotional.
    I have enjoyed all the books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Genevieve McInnis has been kidnapped and abused for the past yea

    Genevieve McInnis has been kidnapped and abused for the past year - she is on the verge of breaking down completely. But when hot highland warriors from the Montgomery and Armstrong clans come to take over the keep, they rescue her in the process. Bowen is captivated by Genevieve's spirit and strength and is immediately drawn to guard and protect her. Genevieve feels loved and cherished for the first time. But when she reveals all of what has occurred during her year in captivity she risks losing him forever.




    A very exciting highland romance with just the right twist of gentle, loving scenes, and highland warrior might and mayhem. Bowen was a great character that stood out from the rest very easily. Genevieve was a little depressing at first, a little woe is me, but after what she went through who can blame her? She is a very strong character, but weak and vulnerable at times that made her very realistic.




    Some parts had a little too much of the language/accent written in, but it didn't take away from the reading too much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    This review was first posted at Reading Between the Wines! G

    This review was first posted at Reading Between the Wines!




    Genevieve McInnes has endured things a woman should never have to endure. What makes her situation worse is that she had a promising future which was robbed from her by a man who seems to be evil to his core. Now that man is dead, but she's still disfigured with no promising future, except perhaps for the Abbey. After her inadvertent rescue by Bowen, his family and their alliances, she begs to be taken to an Abbey so that she can finally leave the McHugh Keep where she was held a prisoner, and mistreated badly by that clan.




    Bowen is not sure what to do with the lass who is stunningly beautifully regardless of the hideous scar on her face. He wants to have a firm grasp on the newly acquired keep, its occupants, and understand what exactly was going on before he lets her go anywhere. But with what he'll discover on the journey, will he fall in love with poor Genevieve, or despise her for her actions?




    Maya Banks has a way with women who have been through hell and back. This book was a shining example of that unique talent. Heartbreaking story that had me rooting for the heroine from beginning to end. It's a 4 wine glass toast and now I'll be anxiously awaiting the next book in the series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Loved it! But am I the only one that noticed the name mix-ups? M

    Loved it! But am I the only one that noticed the name mix-ups? Maybe it was only in the Nook version, very distracting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved this book. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3