Customer Reviews for

Highlander Unbound (Lockhart Family Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    This book was fantastic! Absolutely fantastic.

    This book was fantastic! Absolutely fantastic. The best book I have ever read!!!!!!!! It was so Funny! It was so sad! It was so romantic! It made me feel alive I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    WONDERFUL

    THIS WAS MY FIRST BOOK BY JULIA LONDON, BUT CERTAINLY WON'T BE MY LAST!! CAN HARDLY WAIT FOR THE STORY OF GRIF AND MARED!! SENSUAL, AND EXCITING. A REAL PAGE TURNER!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    Very well written. A future classic!

    Even though it is 1816 and a few years have passed since the armed combat ended, Navy Captain Liam Lockhart still suffers from battle fatigue. However, he has other concerns besides his nightmares as his family is broke. He agrees with the proposal to steal back a gold beastie heirloom from the English branch of the family for the Scottish Lockharts to sell.................... In London in the house where he rents a room at usury rates he meets nine year old Natalie, granddaughter of his nasty landlord. Through the child who constantly visits him, Liam meets Ellen, the lass¿ mother. Liam falls in love with Ellen, but she seduces the location of the heirloom from him and steals it to insure a future for Natalie. Liam is filled with rage and a need of vengeance for he allowed passion to hurt his family and devastate his honor. He will follow Ellen¿s trail to wherever it leads, for he will regain the beastie and avenge the betrayal.................................... Readers will appreciate this exciting Regency romance in which a sailor scorned is someone to beware of as Ellen will learn. Natalie is too precocious though readers will understand her need for any companionship beyond her mom while her grandfather is a very odious a soul who deserves an eternity of loneliness. The lead couple is a delightful duo, who make the tale, as Ellen feels bad for what she did to the man she loves, but like any lioness feels her first priority is her cub. Fans will enjoy this interesting tale.......................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Love Happens

    Love is what happens when your busy with other plans. So true for Liam Lockhart when he must travel to London to gain back a Family treasure that was stolen from their family. Liam falls in love with Ellie and her young daughter. But Ellie's dire need for the means to leave her Father's household leads to betrayal.
    "I thought we were two people caught up in extraordinary circumstance, who had found each other in spite it all, if only a moment in time. I never thought it was a game, and I never thought we were anything but honest with one another. What a Goddamn fool I was, eh?"
    My favorite scene out of the book aside from the obvious happy ending they will have, with a hint to the next novel.
    I loved the story once I picked it up I couldn't put it down. A great read I will gladly re-read any time. Kudos Julia London another book I love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    nice book

    The first 125 pages were torturous. I about put the book away, never to finish. Then finally the characters stopped making me wince. This is an obviouse trilogy with characters that aren't really that likeable. Still trying to decide if I should read #2. I figure it will take all three siblings to achieve the prize.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Can't seem to finish this book.

    I have not been able to finish this book. I will read a chapter and move on to another book. I find it very slow moving and have yet to connect with the main characters. I keep hoping it will get better but so far I am disappointed. This is the first book I have read from this author and this is the first book in her trilogy. I can't see myself reading the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    DIFFERENT READ!

    THIS IS MY FIRST BOOK BY THIS AUTHOR AND SINCE I BOUGHT THE SECOND BOOK IN THE SERIES I WILL READ IT. ON A SENSUAL SCALE OF 1-10 IT IS A 6 BUT NOT SURE I CARE FOR THE 'EXTRAS' USED IN LOVEMAKING. I NEVER HAVE READ A BOOK WHERE THE ENDING IS RUSHED AND NOT BROUGHT TO A SATISFYING CLOSING. THIS ONE LEFT A READER TWISTING IN THE WIND LIKE A HANGING MAN..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2004

    A pure joy to read!

    My first Julia London and certainly not my last! I really enjoyed her writing style, it's informal compared to the time period of the story. I am eagerly awaiting the publication of the next two volumes. Hurry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    Very well done indeed...

    The beastie was admittedly hideous, but nonetheless, priceless. The gold and ruby statue was valuable enough to save Liam's family home, if he could recover it. The mission was important enough to impel the Scotsman out of the Highlands to noisy, ugly London. He finds a room in a disagreeable Englishman's home, never expecting what will happen next. ...................... Liam runs across a little girl with a vivid imagination who introduces him to her mother, Ellen Farnsworth. She steals his heart instantly, but he is sure she is unavailable. Finding that she is not married is almost as great a treasure as the beastie, until Liam learns that Ellen is an even more skillful thief than he thought. She took his heart, the beastie, and as a last indignity, his kilt. He sets off for home, determined to find her and reclaim a bit of his own. Will even her good reasons be sufficient to calm his temper and excuse her betrayal? ........................ *** Julia London reveals her grasp of the complexity of love as she intertwines characters lives and multifaceted motivations. Family ties are contrasted, both good and bad. One moment the story is light hearted, and with the turn of a page, cutting truth is sharply revealed. Readers will be left on the edge of their seat at the cliff hanger ending. ***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    WOW

    I have never read a romantic noval before and this one was wonderful. When I bought it I asked the sales clerk for brown paper bag to put in! LOL Just kidding. It was well worth the time to read and I cant wait until the other book in this family are published!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2