Customer Reviews for

A Highlander of Her Own (Daughters of the Glen Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful read.

    I could not put this book down. I was amazed. This is a wonderful medieval time travel romance! It's a romance that will appeal to a wide range of readers with its historical setting, contemporary heroine and magical atmosphere. Medieval enthusiasts will find a special delight in Melissa Mayhue's medieval world. For medieval lovers, the humor is even richer as Melissa Mayhue captures so perfectly the complications and delights of both the modern woman and the fascination with the medieval world. I highly recommend this wonderful read. Mayhue does not disappoint.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this series

    Once again, Mayhue delivers a great Highland romance. Mixing in time travel, magic, romance and the sheer stubborness of men, this book is just as good as the previous three. I have enjoyed reading this series and anyone that likes Highlanders, time-travel or romance will enjoy these books, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Faeries, Highlanders, and Time-Travel

    TEXAS, PRESENT DAY. ELLIE DENTON's world has spiraled out of control. A strange new birthmark, animals talking to her, and her mother's ex-husband laying claim to the family ranch have her thinking life can't get more complicated. But Ellie doesn't know the birthmark's connection to her Faerie ancestors. Complicated takes on a whole new meaning with her innocent wish to find her true love.

    SCOTLAND, 1304. CADEN MACALISTER has more trouble than he can handle. With his brother held for ransom and the laird missing, the last thing he needs is another problem. But the Fae have other plans.

    A mysterious woman shows up in his stables, sent by Faerie Magic to find her true love. Fighting his attraction, Caden insists she's meant for one of his brothers. With his history, he has no desire for a woman in his life—especially a woman sent by the Fae.

    Only the magic of the Fae can determine whether Ellie will find a Highlander of her own...

    Ellie has had to deal with a lot of shocking things recently: her Mother passed away, she's getting a new birthmark medically tested, her ranch is in danger of falling into the wrong hands, and suddenly she's communicating with animals. On top of all that, she even finds herself stuck in another place and time that isn't exactly Texas. She soon learns 'words' are a lot more powerful than one thinks and sets herself on a mission to discover her future soul-mate by accepting the past.

    I love time-travel romances (plus adding faeries and highlanders makes it even more exciting) and on my trip to Texas for Easter . . . I thought reading about Texas would be enjoyable, but I found this tale almost too silly. Personally, I'm just beginning Mayhue's Daughter of the Glen series and while some books have really held my attention, this one just feel flat and was rather boring throughout. The characters of Caden and Ellie's were to drastically different that it was hard for me to really get evolved in their romance and to become absorbed in their story.

    I felt the book skipped a lot of character development and because of that I really missed out on feeling emotions toward the leads in the story. Ellie was just too accepting of her situation that it was just so unbelievable and Caden too stubborn of his future that they just didn't mesh well together. Plus, I am NOT a fan of dogs in story (sorry dog lovers!) so I would skip ahead many of the parts that included Ellie's Missy & Baby. Ugh! There were a few interesting parts of A Highlander of Her Own that I liked, (the bath house scenes-being one) but all in all - it was a bore (love scenes included!)

    Likes: The side-character, Dair Maxwell, added some much needed entertainment to the tale.

    Dislikes: I wanted more of a well-rounded ending for Ellie and for her to personally get revenge on Ray back in present-time Texas, but how it was written out was just not what I liked. I could have imagined many other/betters endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Another great in this series.

    This book was great, well written and highly amusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Highlanders

    Wouldn't it be great if you could jump head first into another world of mystery and magic? I think so, and I think Mayhue did a great job of portraying that exact picture. This was my first highlander story and I really enjoyed it. The love scene in the pond was wonderful! I look forward to reading one of her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed the Book!!

    I have read every book in this series. It is awesome. This book didn't dissappoint in any way. Can't wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Mayhue does it again!

    If you are a Melissa Mayhue fan you will love this latest book in her Daughter's of the Fae series. It is a wonderful escape into a world of romance, adventure and fae magic with strong characters leading the way. Thank you Melissa!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    what a GREAT read!

    I had pre-ordered this book, and could hardly wait for its arrival. As a repeat reader of Melissa Mayhue I read this book in a little over four hours. I am eagerly awaiting the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining lighthearted time traveling frolic

    In 2008 in Prairieland, Texas, Ellie Denton finds her life reeling when Ray Stanton, the ex husband of her late mother, claims her family ranch as his; she is thankful he was not her dad. However, that proves a minor nuisance when compared with the mysterious mark on her chest; she is relieved to learn whatever it is it is non-cancerous. Meanwhile she feels like Eddie Murphy as animals speak to her. However, the strangest phenomenon occurs when Ellie wishes she had a man who loved her that she loved back. That odd mark quivers when she says her heart¿s desire and before she knows what next she knows she is no longer in modern day Texas; in fact she is in 1304 Scotland. <BR/><BR/>Caden Macalister has vowed to never marry after his betrothal fell apart almost a decade ago. When he meets the strange Ellie, he assumes destiny has brought her for one of his siblings as he is not fated to be a spouse. His mother strongly disagrees as she insists fairy magic has transported Ellie to be with her beloved Caden. As the stock begins to suffer from a disease, her skill to talk to the animals comes in handy, but Caden remains obstinate that she is not his destiny although Ellie begs to differ.<BR/><BR/>This is an entertaining lighthearted time traveling frolic. The story line is brisk as Ellie feels she got her wish in a weird way; Caden¿s mother agrees believing the Fae answered her wish; but stubborn Caden makes the tale with the refusal to believe his heart or the women in his life. Fans will enjoy the latest Daughters of the Glen time travel medieval romance (see THIRTY NIGHTS WITH A HIGHLAND HUSBAND) as Melissa Mayhue provides a winner with justice for all in two distinct centuries.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Highlander of Her Own by Melissa Mayhue

    Reviewed for queuemyreview.com; book release Feb09<BR/><BR/>What is it that I like so much about Melissa Mayhue¿s books? From the very first one, ¿Thirty Nights with a Highland Husband¿, there is just something about her writing that pulls me in and keeps me coming back for more. Her heroines are strong and determined and don¿t do stupid things that require a man to save them¿nope, they do just as much saving, in their own way, as any of the heroes in her books. Yet the men certainly aren¿t weak or spineless. Au contraire, they are strong heroes who fight their attraction at first, usually for some stupid male reason <grin>, but once they `get it¿¿they go after her with guns¿I mean swords¿blazing¿uh, flashing?! <BR/><BR/>Ellie¿s having the best day she¿s had since her mother died recently. The strange rose-shaped birthmark that recently appeared on her chest is NOT cancerous! Now if only she could get rid of the slimy excuse for a step-father who¿s trying to claim the farm and get Ellie in his bed before her mother¿s grave is grassed over. Ellie escapes to the river and while she¿s there she makes a wish¿to find her true love and perhaps ¿a Highlander of my own¿. The next thing she knows she¿s waking up somewhere that looks an awful lot like the Highlands and the year is 1304. Holy crap!<BR/><BR/>Caden doesn¿t trust the Fae. The last time they interfered with his family, his brother was wounded and his life changed forever. As a result of those events, he decided never to marry. Instead, when the time comes, he¿ll appoint one of his brother¿s sons as his heir. Love isn¿t for him. So when his mother decides Ellie has been sent for love, Caden figures she must be here for one of his brothers. That¿s fine! Doesn¿t bother him at all. Nope, not a bit.<BR/><BR/>Stubborn as these two were, I almost expected to hear horns locking whenever they met. How entertaining to `watch¿ their relationship unfold while both are denying the desire for said relationship. Mayhue¿s timing and dialogue¿s were spot-on and caused both sniffles and chuckles at times. The juxtaposition of Ellie¿s modern ways against Caden¿s `medieval¿ sensibilities was used in places to further the plot instead of just cause romantic problems. If I thought Mayhue had intended this for anything but light-hearted romance, I would be a bit critical of the lack of survival and language problems this difference caused¿but hey, this is a romance and it works just fine!<BR/><BR/>The cast is just right with some gruesome bad guys, hot-bodied good guys, and the talking animals who stole the show for me. The tension between the hero and heroine sizzled and sparkled and who knew guys knew so much about women¿s bodies back then? Once again, Melissa Mayhue provided me with a wonderful read in ¿A Highlander of Her Own¿. I¿ll be pacing outside the bookstore waiting for ¿A Highlander¿s Destiny¿ when it¿s released next year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Highlander of Her Own

    A Highlander of Her Own by Melissa Mayhue<BR/><BR/>Fae magic, a highlander and time travel all interwove in Melissa¿s new book, A Highlander of Her Own. Ellie Denton¿s struggles with the loss of her mother and when her stepfather takes over her mother¿s ranch, he demands Ellie become his new bedmate. Ellie¿s dreams of becoming a veterinarian evaporate before her eyes and her troubles increase when she begins communicating with animals after a mysterious red mark appears on her breast.<BR/>A mysterious green thunderstorm zaps Ellie back into the thirteen century after she wishes to find her true. Ellie is told she is the descendant of the Fae and she cannot return home until she meets her true love and they become one. Caden Macalister, the heir of Dun Ard, wishes to be left alone and tries to avoid Ellie, thinking the Fae sent her to marry his younger brother, Colin. He believes he is destined to never marry based on a failed betrothal of nine years ago and refuses to put his family at risk again over the love of a woman for the second time. <BR/> Ellie¿s strange ways of talking to animals intrigue and confuse Caden, but he denies his feelings for her due to his preoccupation of paying a ransom to free his younger brother and cousin. Melissa weaves deception, magic and love in her latest book, challenging her characters to overcome twists to meeting their goals. Her fast pace makes the book difficult to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4