Customer Reviews for

A Highlander of Her Own (Daughters of the Glen Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful read.

    I could not put this book down. I was amazed. This is a wonderful medieval time travel romance! It's a romance that will appeal to a wide range of readers with its historical setting, contemporary heroine and magical atmosphere. Medieval enthusiasts will find a special delight in Melissa Mayhue's medieval world. For medieval lovers, the humor is even richer as Melissa Mayhue captures so perfectly the complications and delights of both the modern woman and the fascination with the medieval world. I highly recommend this wonderful read. Mayhue does not disappoint.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Another great in this series.

    This book was great, well written and highly amusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Highlanders

    Wouldn't it be great if you could jump head first into another world of mystery and magic? I think so, and I think Mayhue did a great job of portraying that exact picture. This was my first highlander story and I really enjoyed it. The love scene in the pond was wonderful! I look forward to reading one of her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed the Book!!

    I have read every book in this series. It is awesome. This book didn't dissappoint in any way. Can't wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Mayhue does it again!

    If you are a Melissa Mayhue fan you will love this latest book in her Daughter's of the Fae series. It is a wonderful escape into a world of romance, adventure and fae magic with strong characters leading the way. Thank you Melissa!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    what a GREAT read!

    I had pre-ordered this book, and could hardly wait for its arrival. As a repeat reader of Melissa Mayhue I read this book in a little over four hours. I am eagerly awaiting the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining lighthearted time traveling frolic

    In 2008 in Prairieland, Texas, Ellie Denton finds her life reeling when Ray Stanton, the ex husband of her late mother, claims her family ranch as his; she is thankful he was not her dad. However, that proves a minor nuisance when compared with the mysterious mark on her chest; she is relieved to learn whatever it is it is non-cancerous. Meanwhile she feels like Eddie Murphy as animals speak to her. However, the strangest phenomenon occurs when Ellie wishes she had a man who loved her that she loved back. That odd mark quivers when she says her heart¿s desire and before she knows what next she knows she is no longer in modern day Texas; in fact she is in 1304 Scotland. <BR/><BR/>Caden Macalister has vowed to never marry after his betrothal fell apart almost a decade ago. When he meets the strange Ellie, he assumes destiny has brought her for one of his siblings as he is not fated to be a spouse. His mother strongly disagrees as she insists fairy magic has transported Ellie to be with her beloved Caden. As the stock begins to suffer from a disease, her skill to talk to the animals comes in handy, but Caden remains obstinate that she is not his destiny although Ellie begs to differ.<BR/><BR/>This is an entertaining lighthearted time traveling frolic. The story line is brisk as Ellie feels she got her wish in a weird way; Caden¿s mother agrees believing the Fae answered her wish; but stubborn Caden makes the tale with the refusal to believe his heart or the women in his life. Fans will enjoy the latest Daughters of the Glen time travel medieval romance (see THIRTY NIGHTS WITH A HIGHLAND HUSBAND) as Melissa Mayhue provides a winner with justice for all in two distinct centuries.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Highlander of Her Own

    A Highlander of Her Own by Melissa Mayhue<BR/><BR/>Fae magic, a highlander and time travel all interwove in Melissa¿s new book, A Highlander of Her Own. Ellie Denton¿s struggles with the loss of her mother and when her stepfather takes over her mother¿s ranch, he demands Ellie become his new bedmate. Ellie¿s dreams of becoming a veterinarian evaporate before her eyes and her troubles increase when she begins communicating with animals after a mysterious red mark appears on her breast.<BR/>A mysterious green thunderstorm zaps Ellie back into the thirteen century after she wishes to find her true. Ellie is told she is the descendant of the Fae and she cannot return home until she meets her true love and they become one. Caden Macalister, the heir of Dun Ard, wishes to be left alone and tries to avoid Ellie, thinking the Fae sent her to marry his younger brother, Colin. He believes he is destined to never marry based on a failed betrothal of nine years ago and refuses to put his family at risk again over the love of a woman for the second time. <BR/> Ellie¿s strange ways of talking to animals intrigue and confuse Caden, but he denies his feelings for her due to his preoccupation of paying a ransom to free his younger brother and cousin. Melissa weaves deception, magic and love in her latest book, challenging her characters to overcome twists to meeting their goals. Her fast pace makes the book difficult to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3