Customer Reviews for

The Highlander's Bride

Average Rating 4
( 757 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(330)

4 Star

(240)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

The Highlander's Bride

This is just a good romantic book that I DID READ ON A RAINY DAY. It is easy reading, keeps you involved and you don't want to put the book down. It has a lot of "sex" in it, but it is very tasteful and not offensive in anyway. I wouldn't recommend it for young teenager...
This is just a good romantic book that I DID READ ON A RAINY DAY. It is easy reading, keeps you involved and you don't want to put the book down. It has a lot of "sex" in it, but it is very tasteful and not offensive in anyway. I wouldn't recommend it for young teenagers however with today's world they know everything anyway. It is very descriptive of the "clothes" they wore in the early Scottish days with kilts and long dresses. It goes in briefly to the customs of the time, and running of a an old castle. I found it quite enjoyable easy romantic reading for a long week of rain we have had. I will definitely buy another in this series by Michele Sinclair. This was the very first I have read of her books, but I find them delightful.

posted by RanchLadyTX on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining story with a few minor issues...

This book was an entertaining read. I am a little surprised by the reviews. This was an enjoyable read, the characters were likable enough, the story line was entertaining, and the sex scenes well written, but a top 5 book? The story was good but typical. There is a cer...
This book was an entertaining read. I am a little surprised by the reviews. This was an enjoyable read, the characters were likable enough, the story line was entertaining, and the sex scenes well written, but a top 5 book? The story was good but typical. There is a certain "formula" this is followed by romance writers and this book obviously follows that formula...it was predictable. (please note: predictable does not equal bad...the story was good, just no big surprises or plot twists.)

I often rate a romance novel by the "roll eye/faceplam factor"...how many times in a given novel do I roll my eyes or plant my face in my palm at what I'm reading...I rolled my eyes a lot. There were just too many times where I found myself not believing what I was reading, or thinking that it was all a little too perfect.

Within the first 20 pages the main male character, Conor, makes a complete 180, and it made the plot feel rushed right from the beginning. We learn right away (in the first page) that he abhors marriage and love and relationships, doesn't need a woman, swore off marriage, etc. etc.....suddenly the main female character, Laurel, stumbles into camp and within a page or two he's calling her "his woman" and "my love"....everyone he's traveling with realizes within minutes that this girl is "the one for their Laird" and all they can think to do is bring her home with them...despite the fact they think she is a hated English. It seemed too hurried, like the author was rushing the meeting to get on with the romance. Believe me....I don't mind that ordinarily...except when ALL the characters (and not just the two falling in love) are acting contrary to what makes sense for the time and place. Everyone she encountered was just too quick to fall in love with her and want to help her...despite the fact that she was an "Enemy" and a stranger. My biggest issue was that Laurel did not struggle for acceptance...everyone loved her immediately, she made best friends with everyone she met and within days she was welcomed as one of the clan. Not only that, but clan people suddenly had no problem defying their Laird because of her?? Not likely, and I rolled my eyes a lot about that, too.

I read this complaint a lot of romance reviews, and it usually doesn't bother me, but in this book some of the modern day phrases and words were glaringly out of place for the time period. I don't need to read Middle English when I read these novels....but at least make some sort of attempt to remember the time period you are writing in....it goes beyond describing the inside of a keep and some clothing. Not a huge problem...just found it noticeable in this book more so than others.

Finally one last issue....there were times that the characters got into overly lengthy explanations of things that made me feel like the author had just done some research and wanted to show off what she learned. For example Conor reminds Laurel that she is a "lady" and Laurel responds with this odd Wikipedia-style response that seems more like a history lesson about what a 'Lady' was in that time period, than a conversation between two people. This happened several times, and while I appreciated the extra research, Sinclair could have weaved it much better into the story so that it didn't look so obvious.

Bottom line: I recommend this book as a straightforward romance, a light read and a nice way to s

posted by Ms_M on February 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Entertaining story with a few minor issues...

    This book was an entertaining read. I am a little surprised by the reviews. This was an enjoyable read, the characters were likable enough, the story line was entertaining, and the sex scenes well written, but a top 5 book? The story was good but typical. There is a certain "formula" this is followed by romance writers and this book obviously follows that formula...it was predictable. (please note: predictable does not equal bad...the story was good, just no big surprises or plot twists.)

    I often rate a romance novel by the "roll eye/faceplam factor"...how many times in a given novel do I roll my eyes or plant my face in my palm at what I'm reading...I rolled my eyes a lot. There were just too many times where I found myself not believing what I was reading, or thinking that it was all a little too perfect.

    Within the first 20 pages the main male character, Conor, makes a complete 180, and it made the plot feel rushed right from the beginning. We learn right away (in the first page) that he abhors marriage and love and relationships, doesn't need a woman, swore off marriage, etc. etc.....suddenly the main female character, Laurel, stumbles into camp and within a page or two he's calling her "his woman" and "my love"....everyone he's traveling with realizes within minutes that this girl is "the one for their Laird" and all they can think to do is bring her home with them...despite the fact they think she is a hated English. It seemed too hurried, like the author was rushing the meeting to get on with the romance. Believe me....I don't mind that ordinarily...except when ALL the characters (and not just the two falling in love) are acting contrary to what makes sense for the time and place. Everyone she encountered was just too quick to fall in love with her and want to help her...despite the fact that she was an "Enemy" and a stranger. My biggest issue was that Laurel did not struggle for acceptance...everyone loved her immediately, she made best friends with everyone she met and within days she was welcomed as one of the clan. Not only that, but clan people suddenly had no problem defying their Laird because of her?? Not likely, and I rolled my eyes a lot about that, too.

    I read this complaint a lot of romance reviews, and it usually doesn't bother me, but in this book some of the modern day phrases and words were glaringly out of place for the time period. I don't need to read Middle English when I read these novels....but at least make some sort of attempt to remember the time period you are writing in....it goes beyond describing the inside of a keep and some clothing. Not a huge problem...just found it noticeable in this book more so than others.

    Finally one last issue....there were times that the characters got into overly lengthy explanations of things that made me feel like the author had just done some research and wanted to show off what she learned. For example Conor reminds Laurel that she is a "lady" and Laurel responds with this odd Wikipedia-style response that seems more like a history lesson about what a 'Lady' was in that time period, than a conversation between two people. This happened several times, and while I appreciated the extra research, Sinclair could have weaved it much better into the story so that it didn't look so obvious.

    Bottom line: I recommend this book as a straightforward romance, a light read and a nice way to s

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ambivalent

    When this book was good, it was really good. When it was bad, it was really bad. If you like Bertrice Small, this was somewhat like her work. I found the pace of the plot to be somewhat less compelling towards the late middle and the end. It rushed to finish when it should have been rushing the exposition a bit more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining, but a bit repetitive.

    "The Highlander's Bride" was an okay read. I didn't love it and won't count it as one of my favorites. But it was entertaining at times. The only thing that drove me nuts is the constant repetition of information that was retold practically in every chapter. Okay, I get it. You have a secret, you don't want to talk about it. But it's not such a big deal. Why not just spill your guts and talk about it. The constant miscommunication between the two principle characters stopped me from going through the book at my normal speed. It tended to get really old after a while. Not enough battles and lack of an evil character who only really appears toward the end of the book. Still there were some funny parts interspersed and the bedroom scenes were okay.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    'eh.. it was ok

    All I read are romance and historical romance novels, this one just didn't do it for me at and that is a rarity. Good books I can get through in 1.5-2 days.. I'm on day 4 and forced the finish tonight. The plot is there but the build up to romance is not believable (strong highlander laird who never will marry see blond gal and decides in 2 days she is the one for him?) and neither is the way the characters are played out. There are too many character conflicts and contradictions and my head was spinning. Not to mention 5 brothers will all 'c' names.. what's that about? Sooo hard to follow who was who that I literally gave up.
    Also, 1/2 of the book is Lauren redecorating and giving out orders which really has NO bearing on the storyline. It could have been summed up much faster and done the same job. Just seemed like 'filler' to me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Average at best

    I too am a bit surprised by all the 'i loved this book' comments...it was a typical romance story with very little excitemet. I found myself skipping pages at a time because the words were pointless to the storyline. And why is it that in romance novels set in eras where no one took a bath everyday everyone smells so good...thay always makes me laugh. I guess it wouldnt be very romantic for tje heroin to tell her hunk he smells like crap and has horrible breath lol

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Slow to get into...

    I was looking for a Highland series and had high hopes for this one but after struggling to get through the first book I think I'll try something else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    eh good read

    Not my favorite highlander book, but not too bad a read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Recommend

    I like this style of book because it is out of my lifestyle; I like a peek at what used to be and how they might have lived. This book is good to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    its ok

    it has its peaks n valleys of holding a readers attention but the end was worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    Michele Sinclair took the old story line "helpless girl rescued by strong man, gets sick, almost dies, strong man realizes he can't live without her, marries her, and they live happily ever after" and turned it into a pretty good novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Cute book

    One of these light romance stories that is easy and pleasurable to read. I think I read it in one sitting and enjoyed the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Good

    This book was pretty good. Its good for a rainy afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6