Customer Reviews for

The Highlander's Heart

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

The Highlander's Heart combines intrigue, suspense, and pulse-pounding romance. From start to finish, the book takes the reader on an unforgettable journey with characters that come to life on the page. Amanda Forester has penned a novel that historical romance fans wil...
The Highlander's Heart combines intrigue, suspense, and pulse-pounding romance. From start to finish, the book takes the reader on an unforgettable journey with characters that come to life on the page. Amanda Forester has penned a novel that historical romance fans will thoroughly enjoy, with multiple twists and turns that will keep readers on their toes.

The heroine, Isabelle, is the perfect balance of strong and vulnerable. Knowing she faces certain death, she relies on her wit and instinct to survive. Nothing in her world is black and white, and there is no one she can trust. Every moment reveals more about her past, which is dark to say the least. Likewise, the hero, David, is confronted with his own conflicts. Destined to lead his clan, he has no other option but to see to the welfare of his people. His loyalty is unwavering. However, he can't resist the alluring beauty that stumbles across his path. Although Isabelle is a woman he can't have, he fanaticizes of what might have been if circumstances were different.

The obstacles standing between Isabelle and David, while enormous, only bring the star-crossed duo closer together. This is the beauty of A Highlander's Heart and what makes the book so memorable. There is no guaranteed happily-ever-after. Rather, the hero and heroine must struggle to come to terms with what they can and cannot change.

Multiple plot lines add richness and depth to the plot, and all the secondary characters are well-rounded. The Highlander's Heart isn't your average romance. Instead you are plunged into the lives and experiences of those surrounding Isabelle and David. As a bonus, Ms. Forester's elegant writing style is enhanced with beautifully written dialogue and attention to detail. Enthusiasts of historical romance will undoubtedly enjoy this newest offering in the genre.

Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

posted by LASR_Reviews on October 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent

Nice story but it tends to drag. Religious undertones and no steamy scenes.

posted by 9333214 on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Great Read

    The Highlander's Heart combines intrigue, suspense, and pulse-pounding romance. From start to finish, the book takes the reader on an unforgettable journey with characters that come to life on the page. Amanda Forester has penned a novel that historical romance fans will thoroughly enjoy, with multiple twists and turns that will keep readers on their toes.

    The heroine, Isabelle, is the perfect balance of strong and vulnerable. Knowing she faces certain death, she relies on her wit and instinct to survive. Nothing in her world is black and white, and there is no one she can trust. Every moment reveals more about her past, which is dark to say the least. Likewise, the hero, David, is confronted with his own conflicts. Destined to lead his clan, he has no other option but to see to the welfare of his people. His loyalty is unwavering. However, he can't resist the alluring beauty that stumbles across his path. Although Isabelle is a woman he can't have, he fanaticizes of what might have been if circumstances were different.

    The obstacles standing between Isabelle and David, while enormous, only bring the star-crossed duo closer together. This is the beauty of A Highlander's Heart and what makes the book so memorable. There is no guaranteed happily-ever-after. Rather, the hero and heroine must struggle to come to terms with what they can and cannot change.

    Multiple plot lines add richness and depth to the plot, and all the secondary characters are well-rounded. The Highlander's Heart isn't your average romance. Instead you are plunged into the lives and experiences of those surrounding Isabelle and David. As a bonus, Ms. Forester's elegant writing style is enhanced with beautifully written dialogue and attention to detail. Enthusiasts of historical romance will undoubtedly enjoy this newest offering in the genre.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Great Read!

    I loved this story. I am a big fan of highlander romance and this did not disappoint. Look forward to more of the authors work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Funny lady and classic highlander

    I really enjoyed this one. The story was interesting, characters well developed. I don't read many historical romance where the lady is so comical? Not sure that is the word I'm looking for. I highly reccomend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Decent

    Nice story but it tends to drag. Religious undertones and no steamy scenes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    Loved this story!  A bit predictable, but it didn't detract from

    Loved this story!  A bit predictable, but it didn't detract from how much I enjoyed the book.  I stayed up well past my bed time to keep reading. Looking forward to reading her other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Great Read!

    I really enjoyed this book! I love the Scots! I love the charisma between Isabella and David. I also enjoyed the concept of faith and trusting God to answer your prayers throughout the book. There were times throughout the book when it jumped to another group of characters, which threw me off at times, but it all came together towards the end. Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Loved the book. I enjoy books set in ancient Scotland, and she

    Loved the book. I enjoy books set in ancient Scotland, and she did an excellent job describing the time and setting. Have read three of her books, and look forward to more. They are books I will read over more than once.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Absolutely check it out.

    I liked this story a lot even though at times it started to wear me out. I find myself wanting this to be a series so that I can hear what happens next to his family and to the baby they are going to have!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Good story!

    290pgs

    Good read. Kept me wanting more and up late to find out how it would end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Great book

    Fantastic characters , love the way the Bible is weaved into the story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    brilliant!

    brilliant!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Great read

    Good character development

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Great Scottish Novel

    Loved the story and felt like I knew the characters. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Good highlander romance

    I liked this book but I liked the 1st book better. This one kinda' rambled around and got alittle repetitive. Loved the main characters and the humor. All in all I would reccomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    2nd time around

    If Scotland is where u want to be...these books will give u that adventure. Being the second time around because i bought the 3rd in this series i want it to flow and with the ppl in this book....never a dull moment

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Loved it!

    Ms. Forester has quickly become one of my favorite authors. She is a wonderful storyteller, and I can't wait for the third in this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    A Must Read

    Great Read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    drags a bit okay book not great

    Had good parts in the beginning and the end but the middle just kind of drug along. Couldn't wait to get to the end and get some excitement

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Britany to Josh

    Da<_>mn. She told u didnt she? Ok. Go to the res b4 this or something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this, especially the unexpected bits of humor. My only complaint is that the "happy ending" was a little bit TOO happy . . . Almost a deus ex machina, as more and more people came out of the mist at the end. It was like " But wait, there's more!"

    Other than that, lots of fun.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3