Customer Reviews for

The Highlander's Sword

Average Rating 4
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Glad I tried this one.

I don't spend much time in the mainstream romance aisle of Barnes and Noble, so if I hadn't read author Amanda Forester's guest post at the Seekerville blog I might have missed this gem completely.

Lady Aila Graham's future is laid out for her. She will care for her ...
I don't spend much time in the mainstream romance aisle of Barnes and Noble, so if I hadn't read author Amanda Forester's guest post at the Seekerville blog I might have missed this gem completely.

Lady Aila Graham's future is laid out for her. She will care for her ailing mother until she passes, then join the convent and devote her life to God. But when her father unexpectedly marries her off to Scottish Laird, Padyn MacLaren, Aila must trust that God will not leave her or forsake her. It's a good thing she has her faith to hold onto, because getting married was just the beginning of a very bumpy ride. She still needs to escape from a kidnapper, help prevent the siege of her land, and thaw the heart of her new husband.

Forester crafted a rich setting, filled it with likable, well rounded characters and threw them into an adventure that I couldn't put down. I loved the banter between MacLaren and his right hand man, Chaumont, a French knight with a spotty heritage. Chaumont nearly stole the show as my favorite character (in my head his name was Charmant, French for charming).

This book is saucier than an inspirational romance (the genre I normally read), and the message of faith is more subtle, but this book holds crossover appeal and fans of edgy inspirational will not be disappointed. Although it is a mainstream romance, there is no explicit sex (eventually the hero and heroine do get to "know" each other but it is described tastefully using pretty general terms) and there is only an occasional crude word (there are a few arses and the hero confuses his manhood with a rooster once).

All things considered, I highly encourage fans of edgy inspirational fiction to give this mainstream romance a try.

posted by EdgyInspirationalRomance on July 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Okay book but slow at times and very little in the romance

At first the book starts out really good but then it seems like it takes forever for the hero/lass to get together. The chemistry isn't there and they don't finally get there till the very end. I like the characters personality but honestly, I probably won't be reading ...
At first the book starts out really good but then it seems like it takes forever for the hero/lass to get together. The chemistry isn't there and they don't finally get there till the very end. I like the characters personality but honestly, I probably won't be reading any more of her books. Try out Monica McCarty or Margaret Mallory. NOW THERE IS A HIGHLANDER STORY!!

posted by lisibear on December 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A fast paced page turner

    Amanda Forester's debut novel The Highlander's Sword grabbed my attention from the very beginning. It is a fast paced page turner with lots of villains and obstacles to overcome before the hero and heroine find their happily ever after. Their love story is embroiled in outside forces and circumstances beyond their control as well as a multitude of misunderstandings.

    Overall I enjoyed this book, but there are a few things that I wish would have been different. I felt that Aila and Padyn were so at odds with each other at the beginning of the story, and unfortunately I never really got the feeling of what made them "fall in love" with each other. In Aila's case it started when she was a young girl as "hero worship", but for Padyn I never understood why he was "in love" with the woman that he took for a wife.that she was always more a means to an end. I contribute this to the fast paced and conflict driven plot.

    I thought that there were too many villains in this story, and while it made the book more exciting, it left little room for the small moments between the hero and the heroine to seem to fall in love with each other. In fact I felt that the secondary story between two lesser characters was more convincing in just two or three scenes, than the hero and heroine's love story throughout the entire book. I counted at least five different traitors/antagonists/villains, and I felt that that was just too many. While the author did an excellent job of weaving them all together in the story, I felt that there was more of a focus on the conflicts, which sacrificed time that could have been for the Aila and Padyn to interact with each other. They were separated by circumstances more than they were together, which makes it difficult to understand how or why they fell in love. Overcoming the many adversaries and dangers can form a bond, but not necessarily a lasting love.at least in my opinion.

    For readers who like "light" romances that are on the sweeter rather than the steamier side, or who are not particularly a fan of romance novels, but like historical fiction then I would recommend The Highlander's Sword. I would still recommend this book to fans of romance novels especially those who like them set in the Scottish highlands; just know that the romance aspect seems secondary to the conflict and action in this story.

    Ratings: 3.50 stars

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    A good story, but the editing on the Nook version is terrible -

    A good story, but the editing on the Nook version is terrible - many words are split.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good Scottish historical but light on the romance

    Amanda Forester weaves a beautiful tale in The Highlander¿s Sword, of the wilds of the Scottish Highlands where distrust and betrayal come together with love and redemption.

    Lady Aila Graham always expected to join the church when the time came, but when her brother and father¿s heir is killed in war Aila unexpectedly finds herself betrothed to a handsome but hardened knight. Betrayed by his fiancé and grieving the loss of his cousin while at war in France, Sir Padyn MacLaren has sworn never to love again. But to save his clan from squalor he agrees to wed the Graham¿s daughter. Always assuming the worst of Aila, their marriage is a tremulous one from the start, rife with distrust and misunderstandings, but can they overcome it and bond together when a traitor is revealed and their clan is threatened?

    The Highlander¿s Sword is set in the 1300¿s of medieval Scotland. The shining point of the novel is the author¿s knowledge and expert penmanship of this time period. It was very easy to immerse yourself into the world building. The character¿s were well placed and fit their surroundings. Aila is not all that young for the times, but naïve to the world, though she does secretly have an independent streak that we see more of as the story progresses. There are strong religious undertones to the tale, which I thought fit well. Aila is a pious woman who often turns to prayer when she needs an answer and then certain scriptures come to her that relate to the situation and most times help her out of a tight spot. I thought this brought a unique quality to the overall story and though the scriptures where written in both Latin and then English which sometimes seemed redundant, I still enjoyed how they fit each setting.
    Padyn was not an endearing protagonist. He comes off heartless in the beginning, always seeing the worst possible side of Aila¿s actions and never allowing her to explain herself. Though his reasons are understandable some instances were a bit harsh. Padyn is redeemed somewhat by the end but I would of liked to see more of his better qualities earlier, so that I could have connected with him easier. With so many conflicts in their relationship, Padyn and Aila¿s romance was rocky and a weak point in the story, often over shadowed by the action. The sexual encounters were light, well written but not descriptive enough; and I say this because I didn¿t even realize that they were finally doing the deed until it was over with.
    I did enjoy the side story of Chaumont, the French knight and Padyn's second. It was sweet and Chaumont often contributed to many LOL scenes in the book lightening the mood and easing awkward scenes between Padyn and Aila.

    Overall, The Highlander¿s Sword was a good read but I would of like to see more romance to the story then what it was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    A fascinating trip back to the early days in Scotland

    A love story blended into a visit into the "Lord" system in Scotland with both international and local intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Hck

    Nice predictable romance story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Slow

    I enjoyed the story but it seems like it took forever to get the main characters together. The story didn't flow well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3