Customer Reviews for

The Highlander's Sword

Average Rating 4
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Glad I tried this one.

I don't spend much time in the mainstream romance aisle of Barnes and Noble, so if I hadn't read author Amanda Forester's guest post at the Seekerville blog I might have missed this gem completely.

Lady Aila Graham's future is laid out for her. She will care for her ...
I don't spend much time in the mainstream romance aisle of Barnes and Noble, so if I hadn't read author Amanda Forester's guest post at the Seekerville blog I might have missed this gem completely.

Lady Aila Graham's future is laid out for her. She will care for her ailing mother until she passes, then join the convent and devote her life to God. But when her father unexpectedly marries her off to Scottish Laird, Padyn MacLaren, Aila must trust that God will not leave her or forsake her. It's a good thing she has her faith to hold onto, because getting married was just the beginning of a very bumpy ride. She still needs to escape from a kidnapper, help prevent the siege of her land, and thaw the heart of her new husband.

Forester crafted a rich setting, filled it with likable, well rounded characters and threw them into an adventure that I couldn't put down. I loved the banter between MacLaren and his right hand man, Chaumont, a French knight with a spotty heritage. Chaumont nearly stole the show as my favorite character (in my head his name was Charmant, French for charming).

This book is saucier than an inspirational romance (the genre I normally read), and the message of faith is more subtle, but this book holds crossover appeal and fans of edgy inspirational will not be disappointed. Although it is a mainstream romance, there is no explicit sex (eventually the hero and heroine do get to "know" each other but it is described tastefully using pretty general terms) and there is only an occasional crude word (there are a few arses and the hero confuses his manhood with a rooster once).

All things considered, I highly encourage fans of edgy inspirational fiction to give this mainstream romance a try.

posted by EdgyInspirationalRomance on July 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Okay book but slow at times and very little in the romance

At first the book starts out really good but then it seems like it takes forever for the hero/lass to get together. The chemistry isn't there and they don't finally get there till the very end. I like the characters personality but honestly, I probably won't be reading ...
At first the book starts out really good but then it seems like it takes forever for the hero/lass to get together. The chemistry isn't there and they don't finally get there till the very end. I like the characters personality but honestly, I probably won't be reading any more of her books. Try out Monica McCarty or Margaret Mallory. NOW THERE IS A HIGHLANDER STORY!!

posted by lisibear on December 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Glad I tried this one.

    I don't spend much time in the mainstream romance aisle of Barnes and Noble, so if I hadn't read author Amanda Forester's guest post at the Seekerville blog I might have missed this gem completely.

    Lady Aila Graham's future is laid out for her. She will care for her ailing mother until she passes, then join the convent and devote her life to God. But when her father unexpectedly marries her off to Scottish Laird, Padyn MacLaren, Aila must trust that God will not leave her or forsake her. It's a good thing she has her faith to hold onto, because getting married was just the beginning of a very bumpy ride. She still needs to escape from a kidnapper, help prevent the siege of her land, and thaw the heart of her new husband.

    Forester crafted a rich setting, filled it with likable, well rounded characters and threw them into an adventure that I couldn't put down. I loved the banter between MacLaren and his right hand man, Chaumont, a French knight with a spotty heritage. Chaumont nearly stole the show as my favorite character (in my head his name was Charmant, French for charming).

    This book is saucier than an inspirational romance (the genre I normally read), and the message of faith is more subtle, but this book holds crossover appeal and fans of edgy inspirational will not be disappointed. Although it is a mainstream romance, there is no explicit sex (eventually the hero and heroine do get to "know" each other but it is described tastefully using pretty general terms) and there is only an occasional crude word (there are a few arses and the hero confuses his manhood with a rooster once).

    All things considered, I highly encourage fans of edgy inspirational fiction to give this mainstream romance a try.

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    I can NOT put it down!!!

    Its so funny and exciting. It never takes a break and cools down. One thing happens after the next. The LOVE this author!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    Amanda Forester's debut novel, Highlander's Sword, is a fabulous read! Ms. Forester has created memorable characters and sets a great pace. I'm looking forward to the next one!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Just okay

    I was trying to give this book 3 stars but it apparently has mind of its own. It is definitely a three not a five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Tyler

    Goes back to camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Awsome!

    C===={::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::> YOU CAN TYPE SWORDS!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Megan

    Sat waiting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    From gabriel to ben

    Okay, so here are the rules. You have to limit your mobe to five words. You cant say STABS YOU IN THE HEART or something like that. You try and stretigize. The way you lose is if you dont have enough words to make a block, or you strp into a stroke of your opponents sword without blocking. You go back and fourth between reviews, and then... well yah. Then back to camp. Give me the signal, okay?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    My sw<_>ord

    C====={[::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::> sick huh? Anyway here are some words that get you locked out fu<_>ck ni<_>ger sh<_>it sw<_>ord to type without getting blocked type < _ > without spaces after the first two letters then typing the rest of the word I got locked out of 10 results showing off my sw<_>ord because I typed in sw<_>ord without using that trick. ~poopwoop11

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Sk8

    Whers the "battle"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    Great story so very enjoyable to read, difficult to put down. Lo

    Great story so very enjoyable to read, difficult to put down. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Buy, buy, buy!!!

    Full of suspense,excitement,romance and the Highlands. Loved it. Actually gained a little wisdom from this one. Lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    Loved It!

    I really liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Very entertaining read

    I was skeptical of this book but
    it was wonderful !!! Great story and
    very interesting characters - could not
    put it down. I want to read more by
    this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    An historical romance

    an interesting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Lovely Story

    This was a great story! I loved the characters. They were witty, funny, and easy to become attached to. I laughed many times, i cried a few times. I was chatting with my friend over this book and we laughed at funny points and got mushy over a few. I am looking forward to reading more books by this author. I love her style of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Historical, romantic, clean

    This story reminds me some of other movies in which you pretty much know what is happening, but it is not blatant nor spelled out. You know there is violence, cursing, and sex, but one thing a book is for, to me, is to use your imagination. The war of clans in 13th century Scotland, the wild bride (forced into marriage to save her family land), the "who dune it" suspense ... and as so often happens, the sidekick has the best lines! Hard to put down, and I'll read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    LOVE!!!

    This was such a great read! I purchased it because it was on sale and figured I might as well try it. I'm so glad I did! The story flows well & there's quite a bit of action. I especially enjoyed the dialogue between Aila & Maclaren, as well as, MacLaren & Chaumont, it had me laughing!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Awsome

    Cgragi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Great Read!

    I have found that I love a great highlander story and this book really comes through. I love the love story that develops between the main characters and all the things they must go through to finally come to the great end. Amanda Forester keeps you interested throughout the book. Recommend for those who like these types of books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5