BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Higurashi When They Cry: Abducted by Demons Arc, Vol. 1

Average Rating 5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    A great adaptation of a great anime. I highly recommend it. Suzu

    A great adaptation of a great anime. I highly recommend it. Suzuragi captures both the funny and the truly creepy aspects of this series well. In fact, some parts are even creepier in the manga than the anime, because you have the added ability to see what characters are thinking. Even if you know the Higurashi series well already, this is still worth the time and money to read.
    And, of course. the mystery that is essential to Higurashi is in tact, and you get all the 'keys' to solve the mystery in the question arcs, although I would love to see the person who figures it out before they reach the answer arcs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Higurashi, now go read it.

    This series is easily one of my favorite manga series currently. I highly enjoy the mystery. The thing that makes me love it is that the mystery is something the reader can literally figure out for themselves, along with the characters. I will say it is violent and somewhat disturbing at times, but for someone like me, the disturbing doesn't bother me. The psychoses of the characters is fascinating, and if you enjoy psychological mysteries with murder thrown in, you might just like this. However, many people might consider it bad for children. I will say that the books do contain much murder and sadness and is confusing at first.

    However, the mystery and plot is well worth reading. It is not as good of a translation from the original sound/visual novels, but the anime and the manga sync up well. The manga gives you all the clues you need to solve the mystery. Do not expect to get all the answers just from reading the first question arc. It is highly difficult and the character development is covered well. The characters can be creepy and the artists are excellent at pulling out terrifying looks at the right moment and heartwarming ones at others. It is cute, funny, intelligent, and has a slight creep factor. If you are not bothered by insanity and gore, then this series is great for you. If you are, well, I don't know what to say other than you are missing out on a wonderful series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It is an overall great read.

    As stated before its an overall great read and the best thriller manga I've seen in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Chilling, thrilling, and very hard to put down!

    These Higurashi (When They Cry) graphic novels are great reading, no matter if you've seen the anime or not. The translation from Japanese is smooth and nicely detailed. The "timing" of the pages and frames really adds to the suspense, and inevitably draws the reader in after the first few pages.
    I really enjoyed reading Higurashi, and I plan to collect all of the graphic novels. The anime is also extremely high-quality, and I would recommend it to any fan of these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent supplement to the TV series

    For a manga based off of a TV series that's all about creating a calm comforting mood and then disrupting it with scary images and a murder mystery, it accomplishes its goal rather well. I did especially appreciate the six color pages, something not found in most manga volumes, even if one of them was wasted on the table of contents. The character models and expressions also stay true to the original series. My only complaint is that the panels occasionally get packed on some pages, making it difficult to read the text. Still, it's genuinely creepy which isn't an easy task to accomplish with static images so kudos to Suzuragi-sensei for doing Ryukishi07's work justice. In the end, it's a must-buy for any horror fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    OMG HIGURASHI IN ENGLISH

    i cant believe the manga is now in english!!! YAY!!! i read the first volume and it was awesome!!! i cant wait for vol. 2!!! ESPECIALLY SINCE A NEW ARC STARTS IN IT!!! XD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the greatest manga you will ever read!

    I really enjoy Higurashi both anime and art.It has fantastic art and a different kind of plot then most horror stuff I think.In a good way of course.I would suggest if you are into horror that you buy it!You most likely won't regret it.I just ordered it though I have read it online already.It is so good.Though be warned for quite a bit of gore.There aren't too bad of adult themes as far as sexuality goes other than rather revealing costumes(don't think they are in this volume even) and jokes.So I think if you are looking for a good read that will give you the chills read it.Also watch the anime which is fantastic.It is also called When they Cry or Higurashi no Naku Koro ni.I believe that the DVD that you buy here has both original japanese audio w/subtiles and english.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!

    THIS IS THE BEST MANGA I HAVE EVER READ! I'll even go so far as to say that it is better than the anime, which rocks, too, don't get me wrong. The artwork is amazing as well, and there are a few scenes that actually give you the willies, and I just love books that do that. I highly recommend this for any manga and/or horror book fans, but it's not for anyone who is a bit squeamish. And even though I've seen the entire anime and already have an idea of whats going to happen, I'm really looking forward to volume two! It's so exciting to finally read Higurashi in manga form! And for those who have not seen the anime, believe me, the ending to this particular arc will blow your mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    Oh My Gosh It's Higurashi!

    I have been waiting for this for months and its almost here! Higurashi is one of the best manga/anime out there! The gore is pretty intense as well as a few of the adult themes but they don't take away from the great plot at all! When you first pick it up, you get very confused after 2-3 books since that part of the plot isn't revealed yet. If you have a chance, pick this up right away, I know you won't regret it! If you have time check out the anime, the Japanese version if you can. The American dub is ok, but the Japanese dub is much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1