BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hiking Through: One Man's Journey to Peace and Freedom on the Appalachian Trail

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Riveting

I found this true story truly riveting. Although I had heard of the Appalacian Trail I had no idea walking it was the way it actually is. To learn of the tremendous community that exists among those who walk it amazed me. And the impact on the lives of those hikers is...
I found this true story truly riveting. Although I had heard of the Appalacian Trail I had no idea walking it was the way it actually is. To learn of the tremendous community that exists among those who walk it amazed me. And the impact on the lives of those hikers is impressive. Very worthwhile reading more than once.

posted by 14922536 on December 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I'm a sucker for books chronicling long distance thru-hikes, I'v

I'm a sucker for books chronicling long distance thru-hikes, I've read quite a few. This book is ok. It was interesting enough to keep me turning the pages. I did feel at times as though I were reading a restaurant review guide, or a hostel/hotel review guide. This ...
I'm a sucker for books chronicling long distance thru-hikes, I've read quite a few. This book is ok. It was interesting enough to keep me turning the pages. I did feel at times as though I were reading a restaurant review guide, or a hostel/hotel review guide. This guy sure spent a bunch of nights off the trail in a cozy bed.

posted by 2579464 on July 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    More than just a long walk.

    I really enjoyed this book. I read it hoping to learn about the Appalacian Trail, but discovered much more. Mr. Stutzman does a great job of sharing his trail experience but also his personal spiritual growth while on the trail. Had you told me it was a book about personal growth and not just the trail, I probably would have passed, but he does a fine job of balancing both the inner and outward journeys.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Riveting

    I found this true story truly riveting. Although I had heard of the Appalacian Trail I had no idea walking it was the way it actually is. To learn of the tremendous community that exists among those who walk it amazed me. And the impact on the lives of those hikers is impressive. Very worthwhile reading more than once.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Hiking Through by Paul Stutzman is the story of one man's journe

    Hiking Through by Paul Stutzman is the story of one man's journey on the Appalachian trail, through grief, and to understanding about God. Stutzman spent his life working at a restaurant to make enough money for he and his wife to enjoy when he retired. Unfortunately, his wife, Mary, died of breast cancer, and he was left along and struggling with guilt, grief, and depression. He decided to fulfill a life-long dream of hiking the entire Appalachian trail, all 2,176 miles and fourteen states as a way to find God and to spread his message to husbands to cherish their families and take time to enjoy them. God hijacked Stutzman's journey and gave him a very different message, one that the author shares with readers about hope and trusting in God. I've always had a fascination with the Appalachian trail, and as my illness keeps me from ever fulfilling it, I enjoy reading about others' experiences on it. Stutzman's writing is part travelogue, part journal, part devotional. He does a great job of allowing readers to see through his eyes the beauty he witnessed in God's creation: the storms, the butterflies, the majestic mountaintops. He doesn't just stop to smell the flowers; he tastes them! Stutzman shares many stories about small miracles on the trail, strange coincidences that have God's fingerprints all over them, and he encourages readers to seek out God on their own journey and see what He has to tell them. One of the most powerful messages Stutzman has for readers is that of trusting God in the midst of grief. Here's my own coincidence: I signed up for this blog tour months ago, never knowing that I would need to read a book on grief. But last week Saturday, my dog Cooper was hit and killed by a car. I would never consider weighing the loss of a dog with that of a spouse, but my grief and pain is very real, and I've been struggling all week with the question of "Why, God? Why?" Toward the end of the book, Stutzman stops writing about the trail and for a few paragraphs addresses this very question in such a way that I couldn't help but sob, and then began to feel some peace. He's a great plainspoken writer with a gift for detail and self-deprecation that keeps readers hooked for mile after mile. God gave Stutzman a mission on that trail, and he fulfills it well with this book. I hope he decides to take another journey someday and take the rest of us along with his again.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Captivating

    A wonderfully told story of an AT thru hiker. Looking forward to begin my own journey in summer 2014.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    I just finished reading Paul Stutzman's book. It was a book I f

    I just finished reading Paul Stutzman's book. It was a book I found hard to put down. I enjoyed the descriptiion of his experiences on the AP immensely. I just found out he has another book about biking across America and I will absolutely read it. I find his faith in God very encouraging and am on my own journey with the Lord.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I enjoyed reading this book. The author was able to give his reasons and fears about why he decided to walk the Appalachian trail. I liked how he was able to tell a story about his adventure without it being just a bunch of journal entries.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    This book has so much to offer the reader......about loneliness,

    This book has so much to offer the reader......about loneliness, love, trust, goals, friendship, God , nature and more!.  Even better if you are a hiker but even if not, it may inspire you to take that first step.  For those who hike, (or have even hiked all or sections of the AT) as you read you can envision the trail Paul Stutzman is traveling, and if you have not done any hiking his narrative may give one the motivation to try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Won't do that now...

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, was even inspired to watch the National Geographic program on the trail (don't bother - it's not even a 1-star production). As someone who has suffered a great loss and continued to grow spiritually, Mr. Stutzman's testimony is truly an inspiration.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Great read

    Very challenging, interesting and informative. Worth your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    loved the book it really described the trail in dept you could a

    loved the book it really described the trail in dept you could almost see it. my grandson started hiking the trail, he is doing it in sections he did the Maine section first.since he is still in college he can't do the whole trail at once.he told me about the section he did I'm giving the book to him as a guide of places to stay and eat on the trail and the tip of send certain thing ahead in the mail so you don't have to carry clothes you need only for part of the trail and the food boxes. I give it 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    I loved this page turner!!!

    Not only did this book confirm how much hiking brings peace and solitude to our lives, but also enriches us in ways we will never know unless we take the chance or hike, if you will. Couldn't put this one down. Thanks, Paul, for sharing your incredible journey with us and giving us hope that we can all have a relationship with God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Teffific book.

    Very inspirational. For those of us who are not religious but in touch with Spirit, it is excptionally so, but if neither religion or SPirit are part of your life, it is still a great story and a realisric one. The fullness ofcharacterization of those the author met makes for great reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    I absolutely loved this book. I really felt like I was on the

    I absolutely loved this book. I really felt like I was on the trail with the met on the trail. There is no way any fiction writer could have invented the people Mr. Stutzman met on the trail. I will definately read this one again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Enjoyyable book! Enjoyable book!

    To anyone contemplating hiking the AT, I would have new shoes mailed to me at certain points. At about half way through the book I began to get stressed about the shoe problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Hatsune Zelda and Link

    Hatsune Zelda-Name:puh-lease Age:dont ask me that...its not nice Height:5'7" Apperance: a flat chested teenager with aqua hair and blue eyes. She wears a sky blue tank top under a formal vest and dark aqua tie she also wears gray and black pants and sometimes she will wear a silver and blue skirt. She wears black thigh socks and silver knee high boots. At her elbows are sleeves that are black gray and aqua~



    Hatsune Link-Name:Link Hatsune Age:Unknown Height:5'9" Appearnce:Look up Link on google



    REAL NAMES: Ouhshi Yuri(Cassie) and Mikuo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Great book!

    A must read. Once I started this story I just could't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Reina

    Looks: Brown hair, blue eyes, skinny Likes: hugs being happy and content. Feels sad since mum left. Running, and swimming

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    JACOB BIO

    crabby res 2

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Reshiram and Dave bio

    Reshiram: Name- Look up Dim Wits! Apperance- look it up. Level- 100 Moves- Fusion Flare, Dragon pulse, dragon rage, fire blast, ancient power, and blue flare. <p> Dave: crabby rs two plus he is a skilled medic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    KELDEO TO EVERYONE URGENT

    WE ARE MOVING TO Spinark RES ONE

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3