Customer Reviews for

Hilda: Snow White Revisited

Average Rating 4
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

Overall, this book was a great read. The author has a fun and inviting writing style, that almost forces you to enjoy the story. He cleverly incorporates familiar characters, which helps draw you in. For a man that by day is an IT (as stated in the 'about the author' se...
Overall, this book was a great read. The author has a fun and inviting writing style, that almost forces you to enjoy the story. He cleverly incorporates familiar characters, which helps draw you in. For a man that by day is an IT (as stated in the 'about the author' section) he has a gift that many english majors would kill for. So, kudos to the author! After reading this I found other books about Hilda 'The Wicked Witch', and my only complaint is that I wish I had read them im order. I would suggest you first read his book about Hilda before diving into this. There is also one that follows it that you can find on Smashwords! Enjoy!

posted by 5983558 on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not the Disney version...

The 2nd book in the Hilda the Wicked Witch series and it did not disappoint. Don’t let the adorable Disney derived cover sway you. This story is a far cry from sweet songs of innocence in the forest. Oh, you will still hear sounds from the forest, but they will be screa...
The 2nd book in the Hilda the Wicked Witch series and it did not disappoint. Don’t let the adorable Disney derived cover sway you. This story is a far cry from sweet songs of innocence in the forest. Oh, you will still hear sounds from the forest, but they will be screams caused by Hilda’s spells or maybe sounds coming the dwarves’ house – sounds never intended by Disney!

Funny – Smart – Twisted in all the right ways.

posted by XOXO-Amanda on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Great Read

    Overall, this book was a great read. The author has a fun and inviting writing style, that almost forces you to enjoy the story. He cleverly incorporates familiar characters, which helps draw you in. For a man that by day is an IT (as stated in the 'about the author' section) he has a gift that many english majors would kill for. So, kudos to the author! After reading this I found other books about Hilda 'The Wicked Witch', and my only complaint is that I wish I had read them im order. I would suggest you first read his book about Hilda before diving into this. There is also one that follows it that you can find on Smashwords! Enjoy!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Funny

    A new look at Snow White. With Hilda involved, the story will never be the same!,

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Fun

    A fun read....nice to see and imagine some "behind the scenes" twists to some classic fairy tales

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not the Disney version...

    The 2nd book in the Hilda the Wicked Witch series and it did not disappoint. Don’t let the adorable Disney derived cover sway you. This story is a far cry from sweet songs of innocence in the forest. Oh, you will still hear sounds from the forest, but they will be screams caused by Hilda’s spells or maybe sounds coming the dwarves’ house – sounds never intended by Disney!

    Funny – Smart – Twisted in all the right ways.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Nice twist

    Good for a light, amusing read. A nice twist to the classic fairytale, adding a little adult theme without being distasteful. I enjoyed the story and recommended it to a few friends.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Hilda is awesome!

    Great story, even better than the 1st book. Only bad thing I can say about the books is that its hard to figure out what order to read them in.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Hilda flies again

    Gotta love a witch with attitude! A fun read for adults.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    i don't get this book

    This book was a joke to me. Full with profanities - that is just wrong..

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Waste of time

    Kept waiting for it to get better and it never did

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    Wickedly funny series

    I am really enjoying this series, which I'll admit does suffer occasionally in translation. Hilda the Wicked Witch is the first in the series, and a quick and funny read, with a fast plot. I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I did.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Fun

    Fun, allbeit raunchy and vulgar, rendition of Snow White. Not meant for children or weak at heart, but the rest of us are in for a treat.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Not your Disney Snow White

    This is the 2nd in the series. You have a great character in Hilda who is bound and determined to be a wicked witch but she also eants to help. Read this with the thought in mind that this is fantasy and meant for adults. Can't wait for more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Execellent book

    I really enjoyed this book! The story line is catching. The book is very interesting and easy to read. Once you start reading it you wouldnt want to put it down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Not for purists

    This story will not go well with those that are in love with Disney or the Brothers Grimm it takes eleents from about every fantasy ever and makes it into a quirky fun and light read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Good story gone bad due to editing and proof reading or lack of.

    This story is good. The publication, not so good. Getting past the typos, gramatical errors, the use of cliche's that don't quite fit, run-on explanations, and a few other other problems made this a difficult read. I've made it about 2/3 way through and have had enough. What can you expect from a freebie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Cute twist

    I liked the new details to a classic story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Not recommended

    It was not as good as I had anticipated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Odd

    Although it has some funny parts, this book was confusing, skipping from one subject to the next. But i read til the end, that is why two stars instead of one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Original!

    Very different view on Snow White! I enjoyed it so much so I am now reading the last book in the series. Not for children!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Interesting

    This is certainly not for little kids. There are many sexual references and quite a bit of constant swearing. That being said, it's an interesting for an adult. I think the author may have been inspired by the hit musical "Wicked" by writing from the wicked witches perspective. If you are looking for a non-serious read with plenty of swearing and sexual innuendos... this may be for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9